The Liao and Jin tombs (10th-13th centuries) of the Ke'erqin basin (Northeast China)

Wednesday 17 January 2018: The Liao and Jin tombs (10th-13th centuries) of the Ke'erqin basin (Northeast China), lecture by Pauline Sebillaud, researcher at CNRS CRCAO, lecturer at the Center for Research on Border Archeology, Department of Archeology, University of Jilin, China.

Pauline Sebillaud presents two graves that have been excavated in Jilin Province in northeastern China today.

The Liao (907-1125) and Jin (1125-1234) empires were contemporaries of the Song Dynasty (960-1279) and the Jin invaded northern China forcing the Song to retreat south of Yangzi Jiang.
The few graves discovered and published are generally burials of the aristocracy but many have not been published. The marginal geographical position of the province, in the center of Manchuria, is far from the major preoccupations of Chinese archeology and far from the traditional Chinese cultural sphere. Some publications were made in English, mainly by Dieter Kuhn and Nancy Steinhart.

The two tombs that will be discussed were excavated by the Archaeological Institute of Jilin University, a province located in North Korea.

Occupation Zone of the Liao Empire. 10th s.

Occupation Zone of the Jin Empire. 11th s.

Both sites in Jilin Province.

The Ke'erqin Basin is a vast depression covered in ancient times by meadows and swamps that have been drained little by little. It has been occupied since Neolithic times and populated by many different population groups with different religions and funerary practices. In the Middle Ages, these are essentially nomadic peoples and the Khitan founded the first empire with the Liao dynasty.

The first grave is in Dongmengyi, Shuangliao, where a first grave was looted in 1986. When a second grave was discovered in 2016, the Archaeological Research Institute of Jilin Province sent a team of archaeologists. This type of brick chamber tomb is fairly standard: excavated in a pit with a ramp, the tomb itself is a brick structure built at the bottom, and was then covered with earth. Near the pit, a brick assembly protected a jar with a lid. The burial chamber was covered by a pyramidal dome made of corbelled bricks but with a "keystone" made with bricks arranged on edge.

Dongmengyi's tomb. The assembly of bricks protecting the covered jar © P.Sebillaud

Dongmengyi's tomb. The entrance closed. © P.Sebillaud

Dongmengyi's tomb. View of the room. © P.Sebillaud

The room was preceded by an entrance corridor and an access ramp with steps. The entrance to the corridor had been walled. Inside the burial chamber, archaeologists discovered wooden planks that belonged to a small pavilion protecting the two dead. This type of wooden pavilion (xiaozhang) whose form has been restored was also found in other Liao tombs such as Yemaotai tomb No 1 or Daixintala tomb No 3. These tombs belong to the initial phase of Liao.
The wooden structure had two double doors whose hinges were found. A number of objects have been discovered: offerings, ornaments that may have been sewn on clothing, a knife, round and tubular agate beads, iron and bronze belt elements, and so on.
On the human remains, fragments of silk fabric were found. The woman had bone fragility and the features of someone who had carried heavy loads on her back, the man, large and wide, showed a poorly wound fracture of the right ulna.

Dongmengyi's tomb. Two of the walls of the wooden structure. © P.Sebillaud

Dongmengyi's tomb. Reconstitution of the wooden pavilion (xiaozhang). © P.Sebillaud

Reconstitution of cypress wood pavilion (xiaozhang) of Yemaotai tomb 1. According to Nancy Shatzman Steinhardt

On 240 tombs excavated and published in the region, 148 were built in bricks, of which 133 were attributed to the Liao period, as well as for the few stone tombs, 33 were Liao on 36. The majority of Liao burials belong to the middle phases (first half of 11e s.) and late (second half of 11e s. and beginning of 12e s.). Most Liao brick tombs are rectangular (29), round (32), octagonal (30) and square (23) out of a total of 129. In general, the Liao tombs were oriented to the Southeast (68%) as those of the Jin. Overall, there is a strong majority of individual burials (64% for Liao), there are fewer tombs with two individuals (30% for Liao) and multiple graves seem to be the exception (5% for Liao). Liao and none for the Jin). On the individual tombs where information is available on the sex of the deceased (in total 46) the majority are male graves.

Tomb of Hamaqin. Door. © P.Sebillaud

Tomb of Hamaqin. The interior of the room is the platform. © P.Sebillaud

Tomb of Hamaqin. Aerial view showing the arrangement of the bricks of the dome. © P.Sebillaud

Pauline Sebillaud mentions the fact that these excavations were carried out under conditions of rescue, that there is no budget to preserve these tombs and that in general, after the search, the pits are filled.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Les tombes Liao et Jin (Xe-XIIIe s.) du bassin de Ke’erqin (Nord-est de la Chine)

Mercredi 17 janvier 2018 : Les tombes Liao et Jin (Xe-XIIIe s.) du bassin de Ke’erqin (Nord-est de la Chine), conférence par Pauline Sebillaud, chargée de recherche au CNRS CRCAO, chargée de cours au Centre de recherches sur l’archéologie des frontières, département d’archéologie, université du Jilin, Chine.

Pauline Sebillaud présente deux tombes qui ont fait l’objet de fouilles de sauvetage dans la province de Jilin au Nord-Est de la Chine actuelle.

L’empire Liao (907-1125) et celui des Jin (1125-1234) ont été contemporains de la dynastie des Song (960-1279) et les Jin ont envahi le Nord de la Chine forçant les Song à se replier au Sud du Yangzi Jiang.
Les quelques tombes mises au jour et publiées sont généralement les sépultures de l’aristocratie mais beaucoup n’ont pas été publiées. La position géographique marginale de la province, au centre de la Mandchourie, est loin des préoccupations majeures de l’archéologie chinoise et loin aussi de la sphère culturelle traditionnelle chinoise. Quelques publications ont été faites en Anglais, essentiellement par Dieter Kuhn et Nancy Steinhart.

Les deux tombes dont il va être question ont été fouillées par l’Institut archéologique de l’université de Jilin, province située au Nord de la Corée du Nord.

Zone d’occupation de l’empire Liao. 10ème s.

Zone d’occupation de l’empire Jin. 11ème s.

Les deux sites dans la province de Jilin.

Le bassin de Ke’erqin est une vaste dépression recouverte, dans l’antiquité, par des prairies et des marécages qui ont été asséchés petit à petit. Il a été occupé depuis l’époque Néolithique et peuplé par de nombreux groupes de populations différentes ayant des religions et des pratiques funéraires distinctes. Au Moyen Âge, ce sont essentiellement des peuples nomades et les Khitan fondent le premier empire avec la dynastie Liao.

La première tombe est à Dongmengyi, Shuangliao, où une première tombe avait été pillée en 1986. Quand une seconde tombe a été découverte en 2016, l’Institut de recherches archéologiques de la province du Jilin a envoyé une équipe d’archéologues. Ce type de tombe à chambre en briques est assez classique : creusée dans une fosse avec une rampe d’accès, la tombe proprement dite est une structure en briques construite au fond, et qui a été ensuite recouverte de terre. Près de la fosse, un assemblage de briques protégeait une jarre à couvercle. La chambre funéraire était couverte par un dôme pyramidal constitué de briques disposées en encorbellement mais avec une «clé de voûte» faite avec des briques disposées sur chant.

Tombe de Dongmengyi. L’assemblage de briques protégeant la jarre couverte.©P.Sebillaud

Tombe de Dongmengyi. L’entrée obturée. ©P.Sebillaud

Tombe de Dongmengyi. Vue de la chambre. ©P.Sebillaud

La chambre était précédée d’un corridor d’entrée et d’une rampe d’accès avec des marches. L’entrée du corridor avait été murée. A l’intérieur de la chambre funéraire, les archéologues ont découvert des planches de bois qui appartenaient à un petit pavillon protégeant les deux défunts. Ce type de pavillon en bois (xiaozhang) dont la forme a été reconstituée a été aussi été retrouvé dans d’autres tombes Liao comme la tombe N° 1 de Yemaotai ou la tombe N° 3 de Daixintala. Ces tombes appartiennent à la phase initiale des Liao.
La structure en bois avait deux portes à deux battants dont les charnières ont été retrouvées. Un certain nombre d’objets a été découvert : des offrandes, des éléments de parure qui pouvaient avoir été cousus sur les vêtements, un couteau, des perles rondes et tubulaires en agate, des éléments de ceinture en fer et en bronze, etc.
Sur les restes humains, des fragments de tissu en soie ont été trouvés. La femme présentait une fragilité osseuse et les caractéristiques de quelqu’un qui avait porté des charges lourdes sur son dos, l’homme, grand et large, montrait une fracture mal ressoudée de l’ulna droit.

Tombe de Dongmengyi. Deux des murs de la structure en bois. ©P.Sebillaud

Tombe de Dongmengyi. Reconstitution du pavillon de bois (xiaozhang). ©P.Sebillaud

Reconstitution du pavillon (xiaozhang) en bois de cyprès de la tombe 1 de Yemaotai. D’après Nancy Shatzman Steinhardt

Sur les 24 tombes fouillées et publiées dans la région, 148 étaient construite en briques, parmi lesquelles 133 ont été attribuées à la période Liao, de même que pour les quelques tombes en pierre, 33 étaient Liao sur 36. La majorité des sépultures Liao appartient aux phases moyenne (première moitié du 11e s.) et tardive (deuxième moitié du 11e s. et début du 12e s.). La plupart des tombes en briques Liao sont de forme rectangulaire (29), ronde (32), octogonales (30) et carrée (23) sur un total de 129. En général, les tombes Liao étaient orientées vers le Sud-Est (68%) comme celles des Jin. Dans l’ensemble, on trouve une forte majorité de sépultures individuelles (64% pour les Liao), les tombes abritant deux individus sont moins nombreuses (30% pour les Liao) et les tombes multiples semblent être l’exception (5% pour les Liao et aucune pour les Jin). Sur les tombes individuelles où on a des informations sur le sexe des défunts (au total 46) la majorité sont des tombes masculines.

Tombe de Hamaqin. Porte. ©P.Sebillaud

Tombe de Hamaqin. L’intérieur de la chambre éet la plateforme. ©P.Sebillaud

Tombe de Hamaqin. Vue aérienne montrant la disposition des briques du dôme. ©P.Sebillaud

Pauline Sebillaud mentionne le fait que ces fouilles ont été réalisées dans des conditions de sauvetage, qu’il n’y a pas de budget pour conserver ces tombes et qu’en général, après la fouille, les fosses sont comblées.

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher