The image of the Buddha in ancient and classical India (3rd century BC - 6th century AD)

October 23 2013 Conference : The image of the Buddha in ancient and classical India (3rd century BC - 6th century AD) by Thierry Zéphir, Engineer at the National Museum of Asian Arts-Guimet.

This lecture completes the previous one because Mr. Zéphir discusses the evolution of Buddhist iconography since the aniconic period, when the Buddha is represented with the help of symbols, until the moment when one will appear the Eveillé in its human form with its main features.
Until around the XNUMXst c. apr. JC the faithful who saw the imprint of feet carrying the wheel of the Law visualized the Awakened one whereas after one appears the Buddha with its main iconographic characteristics: cranial protuberance (ushnisha), magnifying hair between the eyes (urna), feet and hands bearing the representation of a wheel and monastic garment. It is not known why, at the beginning of the development of Buddhist iconography, one could not represent the Buddha in his anthropomorphic traits, both in the Indian subcontinent and in the regions corresponding to present-day Pakistan and Afghanistan.
While Siddhartha Gautama is supposed to have lived in the fifth century. BC. JC, it is only from the Maurya (late 4th century BC) that we can study a Buddhist iconography that will gradually evolve. The Buddha's first evocations of Buddhist monuments, whose decoration had a didactic function and whose primary virtue was linked to the teaching and dissemination of the message of Shakyamuni's religion and history, are to be found in the form of symbols.
The life of the historical Buddha is a kind of "golden legend", a story of almost mythical nature, marked by a series of miracles and fabulous events that are of a symbolic nature to exalt the very person of the Buddha.

 Birth of the Buddha.Bharhut.Is. BC.Mus.Calcutta  3.2.Birth of Buddha.Gandhara.II-III c.  Awakening of the Buddha.Bhârhut. 1st s. BC. JC  5.2.Assault of Mara.Gandhara.II-IIIe s.AD

Evocation of the birth of the Buddha. Bharhut. 1st s. BC Calcutta Museum

Birth of the Buddha.Gandhara.II-III c.

The tree of awakening. Bhârhut. XNUMXst c. av. JC

Assault of Mara. Gandhara. II-IIIth century AD. JC

The first of the four main places where the Buddha's life took place, as was said in the previous conference, is the Lumbini Park where Prince Siddhartha was born. Today, Lumbini is an archaeological park whose ruins date back to a much later time. On a balustrade on the site of Sânchî we see the vase of plenty, which is often related to the birth of Siddhartha in the decoration of Buddhist monuments prior to the first century AD. The same scene, after this period, is represented in an easily identifiable manner as on a bas-relief of the II-III centuries of Gandhara. We see Queen Maya standing there, seizing a branch of a tree, while the young prince miraculously emerges from his right flank. The baby was welcomed at birth by various characters, in this case the gods Indra and Brahma for the North of the Subcontinent, which implies that these important deities of Hinduism are placed in a subordinate position with respect to this child who will become the historical Buddha, while in the South, it is the guardians of the four cardinal points who receive the newborn in a lange.
The second fundamental site, that of Bodh-Gaya, is where Prince Siddhartha acquired enlightenment in the shadow of a pippal (ficus religiosa). Here again, on a pillar of Bhârhut from the first century BC, we see a pippal  in the middle of a colonnade and under the tree an empty seat on which the Buddha is supposed to stand. Later, as on a relief of the Gandhâra of the third-fourth century, the enlightened is figured under the pippal but the relief also illustrates another event: that during which the demon Mâra - the god of death and chaining in the cycle of rebirths -, denying the Buddha his spiritual qualities, sends his army and his daughters to distract him and turn him away from his meditation; but the Buddha then calls the Earth to witness, touching the ground with the tips of his fingers, so that it bears witness to its high moral and spiritual qualities. This movement (bhûmisparsha mudrâ) makes this particular moment without hesitation.

 10.1.Stupa.Torana.Stupa 3.Ier sBCSanchi  Parinirvana.Gandhara.III-IVe s.AD.Dahlem Museum  12.Buddha ascetic.Gandhara.II-IIIth century.Museum of lahore

Stupa. Torana. Stupa 3. 1st s. BC. JC Sânchî

Parinirvana. Gandhara. 3rd-4th century AD. JC.
Dahlem Museum. Berlin

Ascetic Buddha. Gandhara.
2nd-3rd century. AD. JC Lahore Museum

The third major place is the site of Sârnâth where the Buddha delivered his first sermon in the gazelle park. This episode can be represented in an anonymous way by a wheel that was enough for the faithful to visualize the enlightened explaining his doctrine. From the 1st century on, the Buddha is represented with his hands in front of his chest holding a virtual wheel which he turns (Dharamachakra mudrâ) as the famous Gupta statue from the 5th century shows at the Sarnath Museum. This figuration and the presence of the wheel and / or gazelles always refers to this event.
The last site is Kushinagara where the Buddha will decide to cease to exist and reach nirvana. The aniconic form is the representation of a stupa, a type of funerary monument where the ashes were deposited after the cremation while the figuration of the Parinirvana, from the 1st century. of our era, represents the reclining Buddha on the right flank dying out in all serenity, surrounded by his disciples who lament.

The image of the Buddha, once created, does not evolve much in time and is transmitted throughout the Buddhist world.

The different postures (asana) have also been fixed:
- the standing posture (samapada), sometimes with a slightly bent knee which gives more flexibility to the attitude
- the sitting posture (Virasana ; vajraparyanka), very often attested and which is generally associated with the Buddha's meditation or teaching, may know some variations according to the times and regions
- the attitude of walking, frequent in certain countries of South-East Asia (Thailand, Laos), presents the Blessed One in a dynamic position. This type of representation could allude to a precise event in the life of the Buddha: Queen Mâyâ having died seven days after the birth of her son and residing in the heaven of the thirty-three gods, she was unable to benefit from the teaching his son. Out of love and compassion for his mother, he will go to the heaven of the thirty-three gods and preach the doctrine for the queen and the other deities there. It is the episode of his return to earth that the representations showing him in the attitude of walking would evoke.
- the lying position on the right side is, for its part, associated with Parinirvana. In this attitude which could be perceived as dramatic, the Buddha is always imbued with extreme tranquility and serenity because his disappearance prefigures his liberation from the cycle of samsara.

Gestures (mudra) are also part of a codified repertoire that explains the message that is supposed to convey the representation of the Awakened.
- the gesture of the absence of fear, the gesture that reassures (abhaya mudrâ), can be seen in the sitting posture as well as standing or walking: the palm of the hand is turned towards the viewer, fingers raised upwards
- the gesture of donation (varada mudrâ) is associated with the idea of ​​transmitting the teaching to the devotee: standing or seated, the Buddha presents the palm of the right hand to the viewer, but this time the fingers are directed downwards as if he were virtually handing over the faith in her doctrine to the one she will lead to salvation
- the gesture of teaching (dharmachakra mudrâ) is most often associated with the first sermon: the two hands are placed in front of the chest, the left hand holds a virtual wheel between the thumb and forefinger, passed in the axis, while the right outlines the gesture of doing it turn
- the gesture of taking to witness the earth (bhûmisparsha mudrâ) is associated with awakening: the right hand is pressed on the knee and touches the earth with the fingertips
- the gesture of meditation (dhyana mudra) is the most frequently represented: usually seated, the Buddha has his hands resting one on top of the other on the two crossed legs, the palm facing up.

 12.3.Buddha varada mudra.Sarnath.Ve s  Walking Buddha.Sukhothai.XVe s.Wat Trapang Ngoen, Sukhothai  12.2.Buddha seated.Abhaya mudra.Mathurâ.IIe s.AD  090

Buddha standing in varada mudrâ. Sarnath. Ve s.
Sarnath Museum

Buddha walking in abhaya mudrâ. Sukhothai. 15th century
Wat Trapang Ngoen, Sukhothai

Buddha sitting in abhaya mudrâ. Mathura. 2nd century. AD. JC Mathura Museum

Buddha sitting in dhyana mudra. Gandhara. Ve s. AD. JC.
Kabul Museum

The image of the Buddha can not be understood without referring to all that preceded his ultimate existence. It must be remembered that the historical Buddha is part of Indian time, which is essentially cyclical. Like all beings, Shakyâmuni has experienced many previous lives (jataka) during which he acquired and accumulated the spiritual and moral qualities that will enable him to become the Awakened during his ultimate rebirth. These jataka are also moral tales with a didactic character in order to show the faithful what are the essential qualities to achieve salvation. During his previous lives the Buddha was able to be reborn in animal forms: this is the case of the Mahakapi jataka where the future Buddha was born in the guise of the monkey king; even in this form, the future Buddha shows exceptional qualities and will sacrifice himself to save his people from a hunt (pillar of the balustrade of the stupa of Bhârhut); this story teaches that all beings, even the most stupid ones, are included in the prospect of salvation that Buddhism offers. In the Vessantara Jataka, which recounts his penultimate earthly life, the future Buddha was born under the guise of a prince who, in his generosity, had given all his possessions but who, at the end of history, retrieves them, demonstrating that he held exceptional qualities of generosity. The gift is, indeed, considered in Buddhism as one of the cardinal virtues and the monks or communities lived only donations made essentially by the merchants. These jataka have been the subject of representations in both sculpture and painting and will continue to be used throughout the Buddhist world as a source of instruction.
Other scenes are frequently given to see in the arts of ancient and classical India.
The representation of the future Buddha as a princely figure evokes his stay in the sky of the thirty-three gods before he decides to be reborn as Siddhartha.
The dream of Mâyâ has been the subject of many representations where we see a small elephant (sometimes six tusks) float above a female figure lying on a layer.
The consultation of the diviners by the royal couple, the birth and the taking of spiritual possession of the world were also the subject of representations. Sometimes, as in a relief of Amarâvatî, several episodes can be represented: the dream of Mâyâ (although the elephant is not represented), the consultation of the diviners and the birth.
The four meetings and the big start are also the subject of performances. For this episode we can find an aniconic form, in which a horse emerges from a palace escorted by a servant holding a parasol (relief of Amarâvatî), or, according to a later iconography, the representation of the prince mounted on his horse whose hooves are supported by geniuses. But this scene of the great departure can also be evoked by the representation of the prince leaving the family room.

 2.3.Song of Maya.Bharhut.Iers. BC.Mus.Calcutta  4.1.Gd Start.Stupa-Amaravati.Ier s.BC.British Museum-  039.Guimet MG17478.The great miracle.  Stupa.Fin the Second S.apr.JCBritish Museum
Dream of Maya.Bhârhut
XNUMXst c. av. JC Calcutta Museum

The Grand Départ. Stupa. Amaravati
I s.av. JC British Museum

Miracle of Srasvati Gandhara. Ve s.
Guimet Museum

Stupa. Amaravati. 2nd century. AD. JC British Museum

As we saw in the previous lecture, Siddhartha will experiment with various paths, including that of extreme asceticism, and the figure of the ascetic Buddha is well known in the art of Gandhara.
After enlightenment, the Buddha will wander through northern India to preach the faith and convert his contemporaries, sometimes using miracles, such as that of Shrāvasti, where, at first, flames spring from his shoulders while that water flows from his feet, whereas in the second phase of the miracle, the Buddha multiplies his own image in the sky.
Another of these miracles is the appeasement of a terrible cobra which haunted the hut of the sacrificial fire of the Brahmans; by this miracle, the Buddha manages to convince this group of religious of the superiority of his doctrine.
The descent from the sky of the thirty-three gods can be represented in an anonymous manner as on a relief of Sanchi where a scale alone is figured, whereas on a relief of Gandhara, the Buddha is figured surrounded by the gods at the top of a staircase.
An episode depicted on a torana of Sanchi showing a monkey offering a bowl of honey in front of the empty seat where the Buddha is supposed to be held shows that the doctrine is addressed to all beings. Another event reminds us that the Wake-up has quieted the elephant Nalagiri, made furious by Devadatta, a jealous cousin.
All these representations demonstrate the virtues of the Buddhist faith that are exercised on all beings, from the gods to the humblest animals, from a perspective of teaching and proselytism.
As we have already seen, the disappearance of the Buddha is symbolized by the stupa, such as the famous grand stupa N ° 1 of Sânchî which, like any monument of this type, symbolizes the Parinirvana of the Blessed One and conveys the idea of ​​access to salvation for all the faithful.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

L’image du Bouddha dans l’Inde ancienne et classique (IIIe s. av. J.C. – VIe s. apr. J.C)

Conférence du 23 octobre 2013 : L’image du Bouddha dans l’Inde ancienne et classique (IIIe s. av. J.C. – VIe s. apr. J.C) par Thierry Zéphir, Ingénieur d’études au Musée national des Arts asiatiques-Guimet.

Cette conférence vient compléter la précédente car M. Zéphir aborde l’évolution de l’iconographie bouddhique depuis l’époque aniconique, où le Bouddha est représenté à l’aide de symboles, jusqu’au moment où l’on va figurer l’Eveillé sous sa forme humaine avec ses principales caractéristiques.
Jusqu’aux environs du Ier s. apr. J.C. les fidèles qui voyaient l’empreinte de pieds portant la roue de la Loi visualisaient l’Eveillé alors qu’après on figure le Bouddha avec ses principales caractéristiques iconographiques : protubérance crânienne (ushnîsha), loupe de poils entre les yeux (ûrnâ), pieds et mains portant la représentation d’une roue et vêtement monastique. On ne sait pas pourquoi, au début de l’élaboration de l’iconographie bouddhique, on ne pouvait pas représenter le Bouddha sous ses traits anthropomorphes, aussi bien dans le sous-continent indien que dans les régions correspondant aux actuels Pakistan et Afghanistan.
Alors que Siddhârta Gautama est censé avoir vécu au Ve s. av. J.C., ce n’est qu’à partir des Maurya (fin du IVe s. av. J.C.) que l’on peut étudier une iconographie bouddhique qui va progressivement évoluer. On rencontre les premières évocations du Bouddha sous forme de symboles sur les monuments bouddhiques dont le décor avait une fonction didactique et dont la vertu première était liée à l’enseignement et la diffusion du message de la religion et de l’histoire de Shâkyamuni.
La vie du Bouddha historique est une sorte de «légende dorée», une histoire de nature presque mythique, jalonnée de toute une série de miracles et d’évènements fabuleux qui sont d’une nature symbolique pour exalter la personne même du Bouddha.

 Naissance du Bouddha.Bharhut.Ier s. BC.Mus.Calcutta 3.2.Naissance du Bouddha.Gandhara.IIe-IIIe s. Eveil du Bouddha.Bhârhut. Ier s. av. J.C. 5.2.Assaut de Mara.Gandhara.II-IIIe s.AD

Evocation de la naissance du Bouddha. Bharhut. Ier s. av.J.C. Musée Calcutta

Naissance du Bouddha.Gandhara.IIe-IIIe s.

L’arbre de l’éveil. Bhârhut. Ier s. av. J.C.

Assaut de Mara. Gandhara. II-IIIe s. apr. JC

Le premier des quatre lieux principaux où s’est déroulée la vie du Buddha, comme il a été dit dans la précédente conférence, est le parc de Lumbini où le prince Siddhârta aurait vu le jour. Aujourd’hui, Lumbini est un parc archéologique dont les ruines remontent à une époque bien postérieure. Sur une balustrade du site de Sânchî on voit le vase d’abondance qui est souvent mis en relation avec la naissance de Siddhârta dans le décor des monuments bouddhiques précédant le Ier siècle de notre ère. La même scène, après cette période, est représentée d’une manière facilement identifiable comme sur un bas-relief des II-IIIe siècles du Gandhâra. On y voir la reine Mâyâ debout, saisissant une branche d’arbre, tandis que le jeune prince sort miraculeusement de son flanc droit. Le bébé a été accueilli à sa naissance par divers personnages, en l’occurrence les dieux Indra et Brahmâ pour le Nord du Sous-continent, ce qui implique que ces divinités importantes de l’hindouisme se placent en position subalterne par rapport à cet enfant qui va devenir le Bouddha historique, alors qu’au Sud, ce sont les gardiens des quatre points cardinaux qui reçoivent le nouveau-né dans un lange.
Le deuxième site fondamental, celui de Bodh-Gayâ est celui où le prince Siddhârta a acquis l’éveil à l’ombre d’un pippal (ficus religiosa). Ici encore, sur un pilier de Bhârhut du Ier siècle avant notre ère, on voit un pippal  au milieu d’une colonnade et, sous l’arbre, un siège vide sur lequel est censé se tenir le Bouddha. Plus tard, comme sur un relief du Gandhâra des IIIe-IVe s., l’Eveillé est figuré sous le pippal mais le relief illustre aussi un autre événement : celui au cours duquel le démon Mâra – le dieu de la mort et de l’enchaînement dans le cycle des renaissances –, déniant au Bouddha ses qualités spirituelles, envoie son armée et ses filles pour le distraire et le détourner de sa méditation ; mais le Bouddha prend alors à témoin la Terre, effleurant le sol du bout de ses doigts, afin qu’elle témoigne de ses hautes qualités morales et spirituelles. Ce geste (bhûmisparsha mudrâ) fait reconnaître sans hésitation ce moment particulier.

 10.1.Stupa.Torana.Stupa 3.Ier s.B.C.Sanchi Parinirvana.Gandhara.III-IVe s.AD.Dahlem Museum 12.Bouddha ascète.Gandhara.IIe-IIIe s.Musée de lahore

Stupa. Torana. Stupa 3. Ier s. av. J.C. Sânchî

Parinirvâna. Gandhara. III-IVe s. apr. JC.
Dahlem Museum. Berlin

Bouddha ascète. Gandhara.
IIe-IIIe s. apr. J.C. Musée de Lahore

Le troisième lieu majeur est le site de Sârnâth où le Bouddha a prononcé son premier sermon dans le parc aux gazelles. Cet épisode peut être représenté d’une manière aniconique par une roue qui suffisait pour que les fidèles visualisent l’Eveillé expliquant sa doctrine. A partir du Ier s., le Bouddha est figuré avec les mains devant la poitrine tenant une roue virtuelle qu’il fait tourner (Dharamachakra mudrâ) comme le montre la célèbre statue Gupta du Ve s., au musée de Sârnâth. Cette figuration ainsi que la présence de la roue ou/et de gazelles fait toujours référence à cet événement.
Le dernier site est Kushinâgara où le Bouddha va décider de cesser d’exister et atteindre le nirvâna. La forme aniconique est la représentation d’un stûpa, type de monument funéraire où ont été déposées les cendres après la crémation alors que la figuration du Parinirvâna, à partir du Ier s. de notre ère, représente le Bouddha couché sur le flanc droit s’éteignant en toute sérénité, entouré de ses disciples qui se lamentent.

L’image du Bouddha, une fois créée, n’évolue pas beaucoup dans le temps et se transmet dans tout le monde bouddhique.

Les différentes postures (asana) ont aussi été fixées :
–       la posture debout (samapada), parfois avec un genou légèrement fléchi ce qui donne plus de souplesse à l’attitude
–       la posture assise (vîrâsana ; vajraparyanka), très souvent attestée et qui est généralement associée à la méditation ou à l’enseignement du Bouddha, peut connaître quelques variantes suivant les époques et les régions
–       l’attitude de la marche, fréquente dans certains pays d’Asie du Sud-Est (Thaïlande, Laos), présente le Bienheureux dans une position dynamique. Ce type de représentation pourrait faire allusion à un événement précis de la vie du Bouddha : la reine Mâyâ étant décédée sept jours après la naissance de son fils et résidant dans le ciel des trente-trois dieux, elle n’avait pu bénéficier de l’enseignement de son fils. Par amour et compassion pour sa mère, celui-ci va se rendre au ciel des trente-trois dieux et y prêcher la doctrine pour la reine et les autres divinités. C’est l’épisode de son retour sur terre qu’évoqueraient les représentations le montrant dans l’attitude de la marche.
–       la position couchée sur le côté droit est, pour sa part, associée au Parinirvâna. Dans cette attitude qui pourrait être perçue comme dramatique, le Bouddha est toujours empreint d’une extrême quiétude et sérénité car sa disparition préfigure sa libération du cycle du samsâra.

Les gestes (mudrâ) font aussi partie d’un répertoire codifié qui explicite le message qu’est censé faire passer la représentation de l’Eveillé.
–       le geste de l’absence de crainte, le geste qui rassure (abhaya mudrâ), se voit aussi bien dans la posture assise que debout ou marchant : la paume de la main est tournée vers le spectateur, les doigts dressés vers le haut
–       le geste du don (varada mudrâ) est associé à l’idée de transmission de l’enseignement au fidèle : debout ou assis, le Bouddha présente la paume de la main droite au spectateur, mais cette fois, les doigts sont dirigés vers le bas comme s’il remettait virtuellement la foi dans sa doctrine à celui qu’elle conduira au salut
–       le geste de l’enseignement (dharmachakra mudrâ) est le plus souvent associé au premier sermon : les deux mains sont placées devant la poitrine, la main gauche tient une roue virtuelle entre le pouce et l’index, passé dans l’axe, tandis que la droite esquisse le geste de la faire tourner
–       le geste de prise à témoin de la terre (bhûmisparsha mudrâ) est associé à l’éveil : la main droite est appuyée sur le genou et effleure la terre du bout des doigts
–       le geste de la méditation (dhyâna mudrâ) est le plus fréquemment représenté : en général assis, le Bouddha a les mains posées l’une sur l’autre sur les deux jambes croisées, la paume vers le haut.

 12.3.Bouddha varada mudra.Sarnath.Ve s Bouddha marchant.Sukhothai.XVe s.Wat Trapang Ngoen, Sukhothai 12.2.Bouddha assis.Abhaya mudra.Mathurâ.IIe s.AD 090.

Bouddha debout en varada mudrâ. Sarnâth. Ve s.
Musée de Sarnâth

Bouddha marchant en abhaya mudrâ. Sukhothai. XVe s.
Wat Trapang Ngoen, Sukhothai

Bouddha assis en abhaya mudrâ. Mathurâ. IIe s. apr. J.C. Musée de Mathura

Bouddha assis en dhyâna mudrâ. Gandhara. Ve s. apr. JC.
Musée de Kaboul

L’image du Bouddha ne saurait se comprendre sans faire allusion à tout ce qui a précédé son ultime existence. Il faut rappeler que le Bouddha historique s’inscrit dans le temps indien qui est par essence cyclique. Comme tous les êtres, Shakyâmuni a donc connu de nombreuses vies antérieures (Jâtaka) durant lesquelles il a acquis et accumulé les qualités spirituelles et morales qui vont lui permettre de devenir l’Eveillé lors de son ultime renaissance. Ces Jâtaka sont aussi des contes moraux ayant un caractère didactique afin de montrer aux fidèles quelles sont les qualités essentielles pour parvenir au salut. Durant ses vies antérieures le Bouddha a pu renaître sous des formes animalières : c’est le cas du Mahâkapi Jâtaka où le futur Bouddha était né sous les traits du roi des singes ; même sous cette forme, le futur Bouddha fait preuve de qualités exceptionnelles et va se sacrifier pour sauver son peuple d’une chasse (pilier de la balustrade du stûpa de Bhârhut) ; cette histoire enseigne que tous les êtres, même les plus stupides, sont inclus dans la perspective de salut qu’offre le bouddhisme. Dans le Vessantara Jâtaka, qui relate son avant-dernière vie terrestre, le futur Bouddha était né sous les traits d’un prince qui, dans sa générosité, avait donné toutes ses possessions mais qui, au terme de l’histoire, les récupère, démontrant ainsi qu’il était détenteur de qualités de générosité exceptionnelles. Le don est, en effet, considéré dans le bouddhisme comme l’une des vertus cardinales et les moines ou les communautés ne vivaient que des donations faites essentiellement par les marchands. Ces Jâtaka ont fait l’objet de représentations aussi bien en sculpture qu’en peinture et resteront utilisés dans tout le monde bouddhique comme source d’enseignement.
D’autres scènes sont fréquemment données à voir dans les arts de l’Inde ancienne et classique.
La représentation du futur Bouddha sous les traits d’un personnage princier évoque son séjour au ciel des trente-trois dieux avant qu’il ne décide de renaître sous les traits de Siddhârta.
Le songe de Mâyâ a fait l’objet de nombreuses représentations où l’on voit un petit éléphant (parfois à six défenses) flotter au-dessus d’un personnage féminin allongé sur une couche.
La consultation des devins par le couple royal, la naissance et la prise de possession spirituelle du monde ont aussi fait l’objet de représentations. Parfois, comme dans un relief d’Amarâvatî, plusieurs épisodes peuvent être figurés : le songe de Mâyâ (bien que l’éléphant ne soit pas représenté), la consultation des devins et la naissance.
Les quatre rencontres et le grand départ font aussi l’objet de représentations. Pour cet épisode on peut trouver une forme aniconique, dans laquelle un cheval sort d’un palais escorté d’un serviteur tenant un parasol (relief d’Amarâvatî), ou, selon une iconographie plus tardive, la représentation du prince monté sur son cheval dont les sabots sont soutenus par des génies. Mais cette scène du grand départ peut aussi être évoquée par la représentation du prince quittant la chambre familiale.

 2.3.Songe de Maya.Bharhut.Iers. BC.Mus.Calcutta 4.1.Gd Départ.Stupa-Amaravati.Ier s.BC.British Museum- 039.Guimet MG17478.Le grand miracle. Stupa.Fin du IIe s.apr.J.C.British Museum
Songe de Maya.Bhârhut
Ier s. av. J.C. Musée de  Calcutta

Le Grand Départ. Stupa. Amaravati
Ier s.av. J.C. British Museum

Miracle de Srasvatî Gandhara. Ve s.
Musée Guimet

Stupa. Amaravati. IIe s. apr. J.C. British Museum

Comme nous l’avons vu dans la précédente conférence, Siddhârta va expérimenter diverses voies, dont celle de l’ascèse extrême, et la figure du Bouddha ascétique est bien connue dans l’art du Gandhâra.
Après l’Eveil, le Bouddha va pérégriner dans le Nord de l’Inde pour prêcher la foi et convertir ses contemporains, recourant parfois à des miracles, comme celui de Shrâvasti, où, dans un premier temps, des flammes jaillissent de ses épaules tandis que de l’eau coule de ses pieds, alors que dans la deuxième phase du miracle, le Bouddha multiplie sa propre image dans le ciel.
Un autre de ces miracles est l’apaisement d’un terrible cobra qui hantait la hutte du feu sacrificiel de brahmanes ; par ce miracle, le Buddha parvient à convaincre ce groupe de religieux de la supériorité de sa doctrine.
La descente du ciel des trente-trois dieux peut être représentée de manière aniconique comme sur un relief de Sânchî où une échelle seule est figurée, alors que sur un relief du Gandhâra, le Bouddha est figuré entouré des dieux en haut d’un escalier.
Un épisode représenté sur un torana de Sânchî montrant un singe faisant l’offrande d’un bol de miel devant le siège vide où est censé se tenir le Bouddha démontre que la doctrine s’adresse à tous les êtres. Un autre événement rappelle que l’Eveillé a apaisé l’éléphant Nalagiri, rendu furieux par Devadatta, un cousin jaloux.
Toutes ces représentations démontrent les vertus de la foi bouddhique qui s’exercent sur tous les êtres, depuis les dieux jusqu’aux plus humbles animaux, dans une perspective d’enseignement et de prosélytisme.
Comme on l’a déjà vu, la disparition du Bouddha est symbolisée par le stûpa, tel le célèbre grand stûpa N° 1 de Sânchî qui, à l’instar de tout monument de ce type, symbolise le Parinirvâna du Bienheureux et véhicule l’idée d’accès au salut pour tous les fidèles.

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher