Artistic and cultural links between India and Japan (to 1890-1940)

Wednesday 12 December 2018: Artistic and cultural links between India and Japan (to 1890-1940) lecture by Christine Shimizu, Honorary General Curator of Heritage.

Christine Shimizu begins by recalling that the artistic medium which she will speak is located in Calcutta (Bengal) which is then the capital of the British Raj and until 1912. This province is the largest of the Raj. In 1905, it is divided in two parts by Lord Curzon, Viceroy of the Indies, in order to weaken the political claims. This creation of two states, one Hindu majority and the other Muslim, has resulted in a nationalist movement: Swadeshi (movement for "self-sufficiency" of India).

During this period, the Bengali bourgeoisie had sumptuous houses built in Jorasanko, the northern district of Calcutta. The Tagore family is one of them. It plays a decisive role in relations between Japan and India and has a great influence in the "Bengal Renaissance" movement. In addition to Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941), the famous poet and Nobel Prize winner, the family is a rich intellectual milieu of musicians, writers and painters. In 1877, R. Tagore launches a literary and artistic journal Bharati where will be reproduced paintings of the avant-garde of Indian modernity.
Another character who plays an important role in this cultural milieu of Calcutta is Margaret Noble (1867-1911), known as Sister Nivedita. This Irish woman, who followed the guru Swami Vivekananda (1863-1902), himself a disciple of Ramakrishna, arrives at Calcutta in 1898. An exceptional woman, she devotes herself to the Indian cause and, social worker, to the cause of women. Very close to the Indian literary circles of Calcutta and Rabindranath Tagore, she is opposed to the British influence and argues that the history of India must be written by Indians and that the artistic and literary renewal must have its roots in India .
End 1901, Sister Nivedita introduces Okakura Kakuzō (1862-1913) to India in Rabindranath Tagore. After this meeting, Rabindranath Tagore will always show a passion for Japanese culture and art as evidenced by the layout of his home in Jorasanko. Okakura is the director of the Tôkyô School of Fine Arts, founded in 1889. With his book The Ideals of the East ("The Ideals of the East") published in 1883, it is a precursor of the pan-Asian movement. The first sentence of his book, Asia is one, emphasizes its desire to see Asia regain its values ​​in the face of the West. So, does he want Nihonga painting, a painting using traditional Japanese techniques, to occupy a central place in education against Yōga painting?, Western style oil painting. According to him, contemporary Japanese art must be an extension of ancient art. In his school, Okakura asks students to copy ancient paintings and sculptures in order to immerse themselves in Japanese civilization. He will have to resign because of differences of opinion and will start his own school in 1898. Okakura's slanted ideas are echoed in the Indian independence cause, and Sister Nivedita by signing the foreword to her book called "Nivedita de Ramakrishna-Vivekananda" inscribes the book in the movement of the Indian politico-religious movement.

Rabindranath Tagore.

Margaret Noble - Sister Nivedita.

Okakura Kakuzō.

Cover of a re-edition of Ideals of the East.

Okakura also has a great artistic influence in India through his teachings that promote artistic creativity based on traditional art and nature as a model. With this in mind, many Indian artists will visit the recently discovered Ajanta Caves, whose paintings will be published in 1896. Nandala Bose is one of the painters to be part of a trip organized by Sister Nivedita in 1909 during which he copies for three months the murals.
Another key figure in this quest for Indian identity is Ananda Coomaraswamy (1877-1947): he is the founder of the history of Indian art from an Indian point of view and not English. Born in Ceylon, he visited India for the first time in 1909 and met R. Tagore. Just like Okakura's book, Coomaraswamy's entitled Swadeshi and Art (1911) is a pamphlet against the westernization of India and the loss of its artistic values. He stands against Western fashions in architecture, painting and the defense of traditional arts.
These new currents of thought developed in Calcutta find a place of expression in a small experimental school founded in 1901 by R. Tagore on land he owns at 180 kms from Calcutta. In opposition to the discipline-based English education system, education is based on creative activities and a great deal of freedom for students. This type of education is inspired by "schools of the forests" where ascetics lavished in ancient times their teaching around their ashram. In 1919 is created the Kala Bhavan, art department of the school where are studied mural painting, engraving, sculpture, pottery and weaving and whose director is the painter Nandala Bose. In 1921, this school is transformed into a university, Visva Bharati, still active today.
Painting in India on the eve of the arrival of Japanese painters in Calcutta is taught at the Government School of Art and Crafts, created in 1854 and where is instilled "the good Western taste". But in 1896, the new director, Ernest Binfield Havell (1861-1934), tries to reform the teaching and put forward the Indian traditions. For him, "In India, painting must be Indian in its spirit and in its form". He publishes in 1911 The Ideals of Indian Art, direct reference to Okakura's book The Ideals of the East. With Coomaraswamy, he favors a pro-Indian and anticolonialist education. This nationalistic push leads some artists to illustrate the history and indigenous mythologies to 1880-1900 in mytho-paintings produced by the Calcutta Art Studio (led by former students of the Government Art School). If the subject is Indian, the style remains realistic and Western techniques, as with Raja Ravi Varma (1846-1906).

Saraswati. Raja Ravi Varma. Oil on canvas.

Saraswati. Hishida Shunsō. 1903. Tempera on paper.

Copy of a painting of Ajanta. Nandalal Bose. 1909. Watercolor on paper.

Radical pictorial transformations of this Indian painting appear with the arrival of two Japanese artists belonging to the Nihonga current: Hishida Shunsō (1874-1911) and Yokoyama Taikan (1868-1958), students of Okakura. In 1902, Rabindranath Tagore asks Okakura to send him Japanese artists to decorate the palace of the Indian kingdom of Tippera (present-day Bangladesh), where Tagore is the prince's advisor. Unfortunately when they came in January 1903, the project was canceled and the two artists, who counted on these pledges to continue their journey to the West, are stranded in Calcutta. During this stay, they introduce the painters around Tagore to the techniques of Japanese painting. But they also discover the Indian tradition and Taikan makes copies of Ajanta murals. Thus, Okakura's theory of the unity of pan-Asian art based on a Buddhist base is reinforced. Before their return to Japan, R. Tagore organizes an 40 exhibition of their paintings in Calcutta. Another exhibition of Japanese paintings will be organized in 1910 by the two nephews of R. Tagore, Abanindranath (1871-1951) and Gaganendranath (1867-1938), painters and founders of the Indian Society of Oriental Art.
In addition to Japanese ink and brush painting (Sumi-e), Taikan and Shunsō transmit to the Indian painters of the circle of the Tagore their new work of the colors without outlines to make the atmosphere in lavis colored and degraded: this style is called Morotai ("Foggy") because of the impression of blur that emerges. This Japanese style marks the first production of the School of Bengal. He is particularly well represented by Abanindranath Tagore and Gaganendranath Tagore. The latter illustrates several works by his uncle, Rabindranath, as Jeevansmriti ("My Memories", published in 1912), as well as poems from it and the chronicle Chaitanya Charitamala (before 1914) presented in an exhibition in Paris. Abanindranath, meanwhile, is recruited in 1905 by B.Havell as vice-principal of the Calcutta School of Fine Arts and is considered the father of modern Indian painting. Two of his most famous paintings are executed in style Morotai. Asoka who by the whiteness of his fame has made the universe immaculate is a continuation of the Taikan painting titled Kutsugen: symbol of the nationalist ideal (on the one hand, Asoka is the first unifier of the Indian empire, on the other hand, it is a portrait of Okakura as the statesman Chinese Qu Yuan while Okakura is forced to resign as Director of the School of Fine Arts), recalling the concern of Okakura who asked the question "how to make the air?". Similarly, Bharat Mata (Mother India, 1905), shows an Indian woman wrapped in a saffron-colored sari and holding a book, a sheaf of rice, a cloth and a rosary, symbolic objects: it is the personification of self-sufficiency advocated by the Swadeshi movement and symbol resistance against foreign power. Nandala Bose (1882-1966) also adopts this style Morotai in his famous painting sati, symbol of the ideal of the Indian woman by her self-sacrifice and her devotion to wife: she takes on an ethereal appearance with vague outlines, very different from the realistic academic paintings of European style. This image has become the emblem of self-sacrifice in Indian nationalism.

Ashoka. Abanindranath Tagore. Tempera on paper.

Kutsugen (Qu Yuan). Yokoyama Taikan.

If the Japanese influence Indian artists, the influence is reciprocal and Japanese painters find in the exotic Indian customs new themes, such as Ryūtō ("The Lanterns on the Water", 1909) of Taikan inspired by a ceremony in Benares, of which he retains only the figures of three women on the banks of the Ganges. Hishida Shunsō performs in 1903 Sarasvatian example of pan-Asianism, since this Indian deity finds its counterpart in the Japanese Buddhist deity Benzai-ten. The painter Katsuta Yoshio, meanwhile, illustrates in 1906 an episode of the Râmâyana, Rama, Sita and Lakshmana in the forest.
After graduating from the Tôkyô School of Fine Arts, Katsuta Shôkin (1879-1963) traveled to India to study Buddhist painting. Invited by Rabindranath Tagore, he taught for two years (1906-1907) in Santiniketan sharing with Indian artists. Sakyamuni leaving the palace (1907) combines a search for a sunny atmosphere around the future Buddha in style Morotai and a taste for Indian dress details.

Riyūtō (The lanterns on the water). Yokoyama Taikan. 1909.

Sati. Nandalal Bose. Tempera, gold on paper. 1907 (1943 copy). NGMA. New Dheli.

Bharat Mata (Mother India). Abanindranath Tagore. 1905.

Sakyamuni leaving the palace. Katsuta Shōkin. 1907.

At the request of R.Tagore, Arai Kanpo (1878-1945) realizes and brings to India copies of works of Hishida Shunsō and Yokoyama Taikan that the poet wishes to possess. Kanpo also works at Santiniketan for two years (1916-1918) during which he meets Nandalal Bose (1882-1966) with whom he visits Orissa. Both make paintings.

Christine Shimizu finishes her presentation with the paintings of Nosu Kosetsu (1885-1973) who travels to India in 1918 after graduating from Tokyo. During his stay, he meets Arai Kanpo, who offers him to be his assistant to copy the paintings of Ajanta. In 1932, he returned to India to decorate the Mulagandha Kuti Vihara in Sarnath, built on the presumed site of the Buddha's first sermon. Kosetsu was appointed by the Japanese government to make interior wall paintings. After discussing the topics to be discussed with R.Tagore, he executed seventeen paintings illustrating the jataka and the life of the historical Buddha. These four-year-old works bear witness to Okakura's claim to pan-Asianism.

Darjeeling in the fog. Nandalal Bose. 1945. Tempera on paper. NGMA. New Dheli.

Portrait of Rabindranath Tagore. Kosetsu Nosu. Ink and wash on paper.

The awakening of the Buddha. Fresco of Kosetsu Nosu. Mulagandha Kuti Vihara. Sarnath.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Les liens artistiques et culturels entre l’Inde et le Japon (vers 1890-1940)

Mercredi 18 décembre 2018: Les  liens artistiques et culturels entre l’Inde et le Japon (vers 1890-1940) conférence par Christine Shimizu, conservateur général honoraire du patrimoine.

Christine Shimizu commence par rappeler que le milieu artistique dont elle va parler se situe à Calcutta (Bengale) qui est alors la capitale du Raj britannique et ce jusqu’en 1912. Cette province est la plus grande du Raj. En 1905, elle est divisée en deux parties par Lord Curzon, Vice-roi des Indes, afin d’en affaiblir les revendications politiques. Cette création de deux états, l’un à majorité hindoue et l’autre musulmane, a pour résultat de susciter un mouvement nationaliste: le Swadeshi  (mouvement pour «l’autosuffisance» de l’Inde).

Durant cette période, la bourgeoisie bengalie se fait construire de somptueuses maisons à Jorasanko, le quartier nord de Calcutta. La famille Tagore est l’une d’entre elles. Elle joue un rôle déterminant dans les relations entre le Japon et l’Inde et a une grande influence dans le mouvement de «Renaissance du Bengale». En plus de Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941), le célèbre poète et prix Nobel, la famille est un milieu intellectuel riche de musiciens, d’écrivains et de peintres. En 1877, R. Tagore lance une revue littéraire et artistique Bharati où seront notamment reproduites des peintures de l’avant-garde de la modernité indienne.
Un autre personnage qui joue un rôle important dans ce milieu culturel de Calcutta est Margaret Noble (1867-1911), connue sous le nom de Sœur Nivedita. Cette Irlandaise, qui a suivi le gourou Swami Vivekananda (1863-1902), lui-même disciple de Ramakrishna, arrive à Calcutta en 1898. Femme exceptionnelle, elle se consacre à la cause indienne et, travailleuse sociale, à la cause des femmes. Très proche des milieux littéraires indiens de Calcutta et de Rabindranath Tagore, elle est opposée à l’influence britannique et soutient que l’histoire de l’Inde doit être écrite par des Indiens et que le renouveau artistique et littéraire doit prendre ses racines en Inde.
Fin 1901, Sœur Nivedita présente Okakura Kakuzō (1862-1913) de passage en Inde à Rabindranath Tagore. Après cette rencontre, Rabindranath Tagore montrera toujours une passion pour la culture et l’art japonais comme en témoigne l’aménagement de sa demeure à Jorasanko. Okakura est le directeur de l’école des beaux-arts de Tôkyô, fondée en 1889.  Avec son livre The Ideals of the East («Les Idéaux de l’Orient») publié en 1883, il se pose en précurseur du mouvement pan-asiatique.  La première phrase de son livre, Asia is one, souligne sa volonté de voir l’Asie retrouver ses valeurs face à l’Occident. Ainsi, veut–il que la peinture Nihonga, peinture utilisant les techniques traditionnelles japonaises, occupe une place centrale dans l’éducation face à la peinture Yōga, peinture à l’huile de style occidental. Selon lui, l’art japonais contemporain doit être le prolongement de l’art ancien. Dans son école, Okakura demande aux élèves de copier les peintures et sculptures anciennes afin de s’imprégner de la civilisation japonaise. Il devra démissionner en raison de divergences d’opinion et fondera sa propre école en 1898. Les idées tranchées d’Okakura trouvent un écho dans la cause indépendantiste indienne et Sœur Nivedita en signant la préface de son livre du nom de «Nivedita de Ramakrishna-Vivekananda» inscrit l’ouvrage dans la mouvance du mouvement politico-religieux indien.

Rabindranath Tagore.

Margaret Noble – Sœur Nivedita.

Okakura Kakuzō.

Couverture d’une re-édition de Ideals of the East.

Okakura a aussi une grande influence artistique en Inde par ses enseignements qui prônent une créativité artistique basée sur l’art traditionnel et la nature comme modèle. Dans cette optique, nombreux seront les artistes indiens à visiter les grottes d’Ajantâ récemment découvertes et dont les peintures seront publiées en 1896. Nandala Bose est ainsi l’un des peintres à faire partie d’un voyage organisé par Sœur Nivedita en 1909 pendant lequel il copie pendant trois mois les peintures murales.
Un autre personnage clé dans cette quête de l’identité indienne est Ananda Coomaraswamy (1877-1947): il est le fondateur de l’histoire de l’art indien à partir d’un point de vue indien et non pas anglais. Né à Ceylan, il visite l’Inde pour la première fois en 1909 et fait la connaissance de R. Tagore. Tout comme le livre d’Okakura, celui de Coomaraswamy intitulé Swadeshi and  Art (1911) est un pamphlet contre l’occidentalisation de l’Inde et la perte de ses valeurs artistiques. Il se dresse contre les modes occidentales en architecture, en peinture et pour la défense des arts traditionnels.
Ces nouveaux courants de pensée développés à Calcutta trouvent un lieu d’expression dans une petite école expérimentale fondée en 1901 par R. Tagore sur des terres qu’il possède à 180 kms de Calcutta. En opposition au système éducatif anglais reposant sur la discipline, l’enseignement y est basé sur des activités créatrices et une grande liberté accordée aux élèves. Ce type d’éducation s’inspire des «écoles des forêts» où des ascètes prodiguaient dans les temps anciens leur enseignement autour de leur ashram. En 1919 y est créé le Kala Bhavan, département d’art de l’école où sont étudiés peinture murale, gravure, sculpture, poterie et tissage et dont le directeur est le peintre Nandala Bose. En 1921, cette école est transformée en une université, Visva Bharati, encore active de nos jours.
La peinture en Inde à la veille de la venue des peintres japonais à Calcutta est enseignée à l’école gouvernementale d’art et d’artisanat, créée en 1854 et où est inculqué «le bon goût occidental». Mais en 1896, le nouveau directeur, Ernest Binfield Havell (1861-1934), tente de réformer l’enseignement et de mettre en avant les traditions indiennes.  Pour lui, «En Inde, la peinture doit être indienne dans son esprit et dans sa forme».  Il publie en 1911 The Ideals of Indian Art, allusion directe au livre d’Okakura The Ideals of the East. Avec Coomaraswamy, il favorise un enseignement pro-indien et anticolonialiste. Cette poussée nationaliste conduit quelques artistes à illustrer l’histoire et les mythologies indigènes vers 1880-1900 dans des mytho-paintings  produites par l’atelier Calcutta Art Studio (conduit par des anciens élèves de l’école gouvernementale d’art). Si le sujet est indien, le style reste réaliste et les techniques occidentales, comme chez Raja Ravi Varma (1846-1906).

Sarasvati. Raja Ravi Varma. Huile sur toile.

Sarasvati. Hishida Shunsō. 1903. Détrempe sur papier.

Copie d’une peinture d’Ajantâ. Nandalal Bose. 1909. Aquarelle sur papier.

Des transformations picturales radicales de cette peinture indienne apparaissent avec la venue de deux artistes japonais appartenant au courant Nihonga:  Hishida Shunsō (1874-1911) et Yokoyama Taikan (1868-1958), des élèves d’Okakura. En 1902, Rabindranath Tagore demande à Okakura de lui envoyer des artistes japonais pour décorer le palais du royaume indien de Tippera (actuel Bangladesh), où Tagore est conseiller du prince. Malheureusement à leur venue en janvier 1903, le projet est annulé et les deux artistes, qui comptaient sur ces gages pour poursuivre leur voyage vers l’Occident, se trouvent bloqués à Calcutta. Durant ce séjour, ils initient les peintres de l’entourage de Tagore aux techniques de la peinture japonaise. Mais ils découvrent aussi la tradition indienne et Taikan réalise des copies des peintures murales d’Ajantâ. Ainsi, la théorie d’Okakura sur l’unité de l’art pan-asiatique reposant sur un socle bouddhique se trouve confortée. Avant leur retour au Japon, R. Tagore organise une exposition de  40 de leurs peintures à Calcutta. Une autre exposition de peintures japonaises sera organisée en 1910 par les deux neveux de R. Tagore, Abanîndranâth (1871-1951) et Gaganendranath (1867-1938), peintres et fondateurs de l’Indian Society of Oriental Art.
Outre la peinture à l’encre et au pinceau japonais (sumi-e), Taikan et Shunsō transmettent aux peintres indiens du cercle des Tagore leur nouveau travail des couleurs sans contours pour rendre l’atmosphère en lavis colorés et dégradés: ce  style est appelé morotai («brumeux») en raison de l’impression de flou qui s’en dégage. Ce style japonisant marque la première production de l’École du Bengale. Il est particulièrement bien représenté par Abanîndranâth Tagore et Gaganendranath Tagore. Ce dernier illustre plusieurs œuvres de son oncle, Rabindranath, comme Jeevansmriti («Mes souvenirs», publié en 1912), ainsi que des poèmes de celui-ci et la chronique Chaitanya Charitamala (avant 1914) présentée dans une exposition à Paris. Abanîndranâth, quant à lui, est recruté en 1905 par B.Havell comme vice-principal de l’école des beaux-arts de Calcutta et est considéré comme le père de la peinture moderne indienne. Deux de ses peintures les plus célèbres sont exécutées dans le style morotai. Asoka qui par la blancheur de sa renommée a rendu l’univers immaculé s’inscrit dans la suite de la peinture de Taikan intitulée Kutsugen: symbole de l’idéal nationaliste (d’une part, Asoka est le premier unificateur de l‘empire indien, d’autre part, il s’agit d’un portrait d’Okakura sous les traits de l’homme d’état chinois Qu Yuan alors qu’Okakura est obligé à démissionner de ses fonctions de directeur de l’école des beaux-arts), rappel du souci d’Okakura qui posait la question «comment rendre l’air ?». De même, Bharat Mata (Mère Inde, 1905), montre une femme indienne enveloppée dans un sari de couleur safran et tenant un livre, une gerbe de riz, un tissu et un chapelet, objets symboliques: c’est la personnification de l’autosuffisance prôné par le mouvement Swadeshi et symbole de la résistance contre le pouvoir étranger. Nandala Bose (1882-1966) adopte aussi ce style morotai dans sa célèbre peinture Satî, symbole de l’idéal de la femme indienne par son sacrifice de soi et sa dévotion d’épouse: elle prend une apparence éthérée aux contours imprécis, bien différente des peintures académiques réalistes de style européen. Cette image est devenu l’emblème du sacrifice de soi dans le nationalisme indien.

Ashoka. Abanindranath Tagore. Détrempe sur papier.

Kutsugen (Qu Yuan). Yokoyama Taikan.

Si les Japonais influencent les artistes indiens, l’influence est réciproque et les peintres japonais trouvent dans l’exotisme des coutumes indiennes de nouvelles thématiques, telle que Ryūtō (« Les Lanternes sur l’eau », 1909) de Taikan inspiré par une cérémonie à Bénarès dont il ne retient que les figures de trois femmes au bord du Gange. Hishida Shunsō exécute en 1903 Sarasvati, exemple de pan-asianisme, puisque cette divinité indienne trouve son pendant dans la divinité bouddhique japonaise Benzai–ten. Le peintre Katsuta Yoshio, quant à lui, illustre en 1906 un épisode du Râmâyana , Râma, Sîtâ et Lakshmana dans la forêt.
Après son diplôme de l’école des beaux-arts de Tôkyô, Katsuta Shôkin (1879-1963) se rend en Inde pour étudier la peinture bouddhique. Invité par Rabindranath Tagore, il enseigne pendant deux ans (1906-1907) à Santiniketan partageant avec les artistes indiens. Shâkyamuni quittant le palais (1907) associe une recherche d’atmosphère ensoleillée autour du futur Bouddha dans le style morotai et un goût pour les détails vestimentaires indiens.

Riyūtō (Les lanternes sur l’eau). Yokoyama Taikan. 1909.

Satî. Nandalal Bose. Détrempe, or sur papier. 1907 (copie 1943). NGMA. New Dheli.

Bharat Mata (La mère Inde). Abanîndranâth Tagore. 1905.

Shâkyamuni quittant le palais. Katsuta Shōkin. 1907.

A la demande de R.Tagore,  Arai Kanpo (1878-1945) réalise et apporte en Inde des copies d’œuvres de Hishida Shunsō et de Yokoyama Taikan que le poète souhaite posséder. Kanpo travaille lui aussi à Santiniketan pendant deux ans (1916-1918) pendant lesquels il côtoie Nandalal Bose (1882-1966) avec lequel il visite l’Orissa. Tous deux en réalisent des peintures.

Christine Shimizu termine sa présentation par les peintures de Nosu Kosetsu (1885-1973) qui voyage en Inde en 1918 après avoir obtenu son diplôme à Tôkyô. Pendant son séjour, il rencontre Arai Kanpo qui lui propose d’être son assistant pour copier les peintures d’Ajantâ. En 1932, il retourne en Inde pour décorer le Mulagandha Kuti Vihara à Sarnath, construit sur le site présumé du premier sermon du Bouddha. Kosetsu a été désigné par le gouvernement japonais pour en réaliser les peintures murales intérieures. Après avoir discuté des thèmes à aborder avec R.Tagore, il exécute dix-sept peintures illustrant les jâtaka et la vie du Bouddha historique. Ces œuvres qui lui prennent quatre ans témoignent de l’affirmation du pan-asianisme cher à Okakura.

Darjeeling dans le brouillard. Nandalal Bose. 1945. Détrempe sur papier. NGMA. New Dheli.

Portrait de Rabindranath Tagore. Kosetsu Nosu. Encre et lavis sur papier.

L’éveil du Bouddha. Fresque de Kosetsu Nosu. Mulagandha Kuti Vihara. Sarnath.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher