THE CONCEPT OF “COUNTRY PROTECTION BUDDHISM” HOGUK PULGYO IN KOREA

Wednesday 14 October 2015: conference The concept of "Buddhism protection of the country" hoguk pulgyo in Korea by Yannick Bruneton, MCF, University Paris-Diderot-Paris 7.

First a few benchmarks: the spread of Great Vehicle Buddhism came from China towards the IVe century of our era and will serve as relay for its transmission to Japan from the VIe century.

The history of Korea is divided according to the dynasties that often reigned over long periods.

Period of the Three Kingdoms Chair 57 BC JC - 672
Koguryo 37 BC JC - 668
Baekje 18 BC JC - 660
Unification period by the Grand Silla 672 -935 Feet
Parhae / Bohai North 699 -926 Feet
Koryo 918 -1392 Feet
Chosŏn 1392 -1910 Feet
Japanese occupation 1910-1945
US military government 1945 -1948 Feet
Partition of Korea

Republic of Korea

Since 15.8.1948

People's Republic
Democratic of Korea

Since 9.9.1948

After the period of the Grand Silla, the Koryŏ Kingdom unifies Korea and sees Korean identity build on a concept of territory as well as on a cultural identity based on both Buddhism and Confucianism and a stable political model that is the model of the imperial state.

Korean Buddhism is, in the Great Vehicle tradition, based on the translation of scriptures into classical Chinese. According to the history of schools, Korean Buddhism is a Buddhism of "synthesis" (t'ong pulgyo) but the point of view of the report to the state is a more plausible approach with a Buddhist protector of the state (ho'guk pulgyo). Today, a very powerful sect in South Korea claims a Buddhism that has preserved the authentic practice of meditation.
Over the long term, we realize that the role of the state was fundamental to the development of Buddhism and it is this role that explains the fate of the Three Jewels in the Korean peninsula. From this role flows a particular history of Buddhist schools as well as the qualifier of Buddhism "synthesis" which was attributed to him in the XXe century in contrast with the organization of Buddhism in Japan.
The role of the state was, in general, decisive for the development of Buddhism in East Asia as evidenced, for example, by attempts to write the history of Buddhism according to official historiographical categories. The term "protector of the land" is a label that may apply to designate Buddhism in its relations with the state.
Expression hoguk used in Korean medieval sources is not specifically Buddhist and it is found in various contexts (title of ancestors become protective deities of the kingdom, title of territorial deities and sometimes titles of monastery of a border area).
In Buddhist context this notion, during the Koryŏ period, is almost always associated with Benevolent King's Sutra which should be given special attention.
Two almost identical versions exist which consist of eight chapters (1-Introduction; 2-contemplation of the Thus Come One; 3-practice of the Awakening Being; 4- the two truths; 5-protection of the country; 6 - conceivable facts; 7-reception of the precepts; 8-exhortation to the dissemination of the sutra). Specialists consider this sutra to be apocryphal, dating from the VIe century (Liang era). This Sutra allows several levels of reading, making "king" and "country" abstract notions and Chinese or Korean commentators have sought to prevent it from being read too prosaically (magical conception). However, it can be read like a story: at the Peak of the Vulture, in front of a huge assembly, Siddharta Gautama dialogues with King Prasenajit of the kingdom of Shrâvasti who questions him about the "protection of the karmic bond of the kingdom", making himself the door - speech of sixteen sovereigns of large countries. The ritual prescriptions of the Sutra have the effect of annihilating the seven types of calamities that a kingdom can experience: 1-2) astral disturbances; 3-6) destruction caused by the four elements (fire, water, wind, earth); 7) enemy invasions. The causes of these calamities are: 1) lack of filial piety; 2) lack of respect for teachers and elders; 3) the lack of correct practice of Dharma by monks, Brahmins, kings and ministers. In the last chapter, the seven fears for the future and the seven corresponding warnings are explained. On reading this passage, one realizes that it is the sovereign's responsibility to make the Dharma flourish, the decline of which is announced sooner or later after the extinction of the Buddha.
Several warning signs are described as the establishment of institutions to regulate the monastic world, the prohibition to build representations of the Buddha and pagodas, to practice the Way and to become a monk, the reduction of Buddhist practice to cults for the purpose of obtaining happiness in this world.
There is a set of ritual prescriptions for the conservation of Benevolent King's Sutra such as nine-colored banners, nine-colored flowers, a thousand lanterns, nine jade boxes and nine jade caps, a desk made of seven precious materials for depositing the Sutra. During his travels, the Sutra must precede the royal car by one hundred paces to eradicate calamities within a mile radius li.
In chapter 5, it is said that the reading of this Sutra should be given twice a day by one hundred Dharma masters installed on a high seat in front of which a lantern is placed and incense and flower offerings are made. to the Three Jewels.
These ritual prescriptions were applied from the VIIe century in the official sources of Silla. According to the official dynastic history of Koryŏ, this worship would have been the third most frequently practiced state cult (more than a hundred times mentioned between 1043 and 1302). It will be abandoned in the fifteenth century, following the change of dynasty and the ideological transition that involves the suppression of Buddhist state cults. At the time of Koryŏ, it is a permanent periodic cult (once every two or three years, usually for three days) but it can also be done on an extraordinary basis. It was accompanied by meals or banquets offered to the monks pansung. From 1085, the cult will follow the codes in force under the Song and the rite of preceding the royal car of the Sutra is adopted. Unfortunately the Buddhist iconography of Koryŏ has not preserved any traces of representations of the cult. There is a description of the cult in 1264 which allows to verify its conformity with the prescriptions. It is obvious that this cult had a conjuring character as shown by certain extraordinary outfits: in 1179, it was justified by armed uprisings of the population; in 1186, the holding of the ceremony is associated with another, "extinction of calamities", to ward off what is considered an astral disorder. We can thus see that the notion of "protection" is associated with that of "conjuration".
Before Koryŏ (Three Kingdoms and Grand Silla), there are fusional aspects of Buddhist and kingship conception (lineage legitimization, physical aspect of sovereigns). The institution of masters of the king and the kingdom will be born in the seventh century (kings are followers of Buddhist masters). At that time, Buddhism began to become functional and organized into administrative units and depended on military charges. Five great secular precepts have been widely disseminated and the fourth is to say that when you go to battle you must not come back. At the time of the Koguryŏ's fight against the Tang, a late source said that 30 000 monks would have participated in the defense of the kingdom. Among the three treasures of Silla, there is a nine-storey pagoda at Hwangnyong Monastery in Kumsong (now Kyongju) where each floor is dedicated to protection against a particular enemy. This symbol of the protection of the Kingdom of Silla is relevant because the reconstruction of the pagoda (destroyed in 1238 and without model) is programmed in Kyŏngju.

The reconstruction of the Pagoda (82m?) Kyongju destroyed in 1238 (there is no model) in progress at Kyongju (2017-2035?)

The reconstruction of the pagoda (82m?) Destroyed in 1238 (there is no model), in progress in Kyŏngju (2017–‐2035?)

Koryŏ is the only period in Korean history where Buddhism was the religion of the state and dynasty on the model of the imperial state (Tang administration). As a result, Koryŏ is the period when the term "protection of the kingdom" coincides with the meaning of "state Buddhism," a true system, the functioning of which involves the whole of society.
In the sources, there is a founding myth that presents a point of view on the founding of the dynasty: the monk Tosŏn would have revealed his destiny to the first king, Wang Kŏn, would have legitimized the choice of the new dynastic capital (Kaegyŏng) and chose the site of the palace. This demonstrates the close relationship between the founding of the dynasty and Buddhism, which is considered to be the support of the dynasty.
Inherited from an original design of the Silla, the institution of King's Masters wangsa and the kingdom kuksa will develop and, from the middle of the tenth century, the masters of the king and the kingdom will succeed one another continuously (around 70 identified). Each sovereign corresponded to a master of the king who became master of the kingdom upon the death of the previous one. In a relationship of master to disciple (rite of taking master: cession of the throne and nine prostrations), the sovereign was supposed to take advice from his master both politically and religiously. This institution characterizes the Koryŏ since it will be suppressed from the second ruler of the following Chosŏn dynasty. The political and religious role of these masters is difficult to assess because it depends on the personality and age of the rulers and masters. However, they tried to bring together the Buddhist schools through national teachers. All the national masters were from the Songgwangsa Monastery. A proof of the importance of Buddhism is the practice of the monasteries of vows of the royal family which were dedicated to the permanent worship of the ancestors, a sort of dynastic worship tinged with Confucianism. Due to the shortcomings of funeral rites in official history, it is difficult to know whether state funerals met Buddhist prescriptions. The commemoration ceremonies for the anniversary of the death were held in these monasteries. The formulas of vows attest to the role of relay of dynastic worship by Buddhist rites. With a vertical binary structure, these formulas prayed for the happiness of the sovereign above and for that of beings below.

15.10.14.Mon Song of Songgwan

The masters' lodge of the Songgwan Monastery Kingdom

15.10.14. Haein Monastery

81 258 engraved plates preserved at Haein Monastery (South Kyŏngsang Province) © UNESCO

Another aspect of the protection of the kingdom is the engraving of the Large Basket (set of Buddhist scriptures: Tripitaka): the first time, in order to push back the Khitan troops (1011) and a second time to push back the Mongol invaders (1237). The latter, engraved on 81 wooden planks between 258 and 1237 and kept in the Haein monastery, was entered in 1251 in the Memory of the World register.
Another variation of the notion of "protection of the country" is that of "support" of the kingdom (pibo) It was necessary to install Buddhist buildings (monasteries, pagodas, stone lanterns or ponds of water, etc.) to make up for the defects of the remarkable sites of the territory. First centered on the capital, the concept was extended to the whole country. Fixed by the "Tos écritsn secret writings" sites (between 500 and 3600) were supposed to be listed in lists. In 1198, a special office was dedicated to the sites pibo on the whole kingdom.
The abundance of Buddhist cults at court and in the provinces (83 identified types) is one of the most visible aspects of the relations between the state and Buddhism, which can be described as "ritualism". Most ceremonies would fall under the esoteric current of Buddhism, yet little influential. Cults are characterized by their conjugal function involving close relationships with state divination. Such esoteric ritualism is a magical conception of Buddhism instrumentalized by secular power.
To ensure, perpetually, state cults supporting the dynasty and society as a whole, a portion of public funds, from taxes and duties, is intended for monasteries, but also funds to capitalize "inexhaustible treasures" ( wear). The existence of "permanent rules" preserved in the archives of monasteries seems to attest the contractual nature of the organization of cults from the beginning of the dynasty. In other words, the state subsidizes the dynastic worship carried out in the monasteries, involving the administrations and the local populations.
A third aspect of the concept of "protection of the kingdom" means "defense of the territory". "Demon armies" can be understood as a demonization of enemies of the realm (considered as enemies of Buddhism). Since the founding of Koryŏ, the categories of Monastery Dependency Monks and District Population have been attached to regular armies. There is also mention of monks soldiers in the official history, mobilized by hundreds or thousands against the Khitan in XIe s., the Mongols in XIIIe s., the Red Turbans and the Japanese in the XIVe s. In the end, the term hoguk implied a symbolic and concrete protection of Buddhism vis-à-vis the State involving a counterpart achieved through the sovereign and in the form of a contract (legal and institutional dimension). It can also be seen as a form of instrumentalization of Buddhism by secular power, advocating an almost magical use of cults.

Buddhism of "protection of the country" disappears under the Chosŏn dynasty with periods of repression alternated with periods of tolerance or recognition. The eradication of state Buddhist institutions from King T'aejong (1400-1417) is in favor of a neo-Confucian ideology, Buddhism and Taoism are considered heresies. However, schools merge and Buddhism is constrained and limited in its activities and economic capacity by legislation.
The consequence of five centuries of repression of Buddhism in Korea resulted in: 1) institutionally excluding Buddhism from centers of power and urban centers (isolation of “mountain Buddhism” monasteries); 2) to lower the social status of religious; 3) reduce the level of training of monks; 4) limit Buddhist achievements (buildings) and cults; 5) squandering the Buddhist heritage; 6) bring Buddhism into the private sphere; 7) bring Buddhism closer to more popular religious practices (exorcist practices of shamanism). Buddhist circles, starting with religious, had to adapt and transform in order to survive.
At the end of the XVIe Part of the monastic world participated in the resistance against Japanese invasions while the regular army was in disarray. These acts of resistance forced the power to recognize its merit and to reconsider the role of Buddhism vis-à-vis the State (XVIIe s.). A relative tolerance will settle during the XVIIIe and the XIXe century. From some figures of the resistant Buddhist world, the spiritual lineages considered as orthodox, related to Linji Yixuan lineage of Tang, 11e patriarch of the school of Chan.
In the nineteenth century the Buddhist clergy is maintained thanks to the support of the people and members of the royal family (families of queens) which allows the reconstruction of large monasteries.
In 1910, the number of Buddhist monks and religious was in the range of 5 to 6000. In 1911 is promulgated a law on monasteries that restructures the whole of the Buddhist world in a policy of enslavement to the colonial authorities in the service of the Japanese Empire. Religious are administered by an elite collaborationist elite chosen by the regime. Monasteries and temples serve as relays for the imperial cult. Buddhist notions of benefits or secular precepts are instrumentalized to justify Buddhist participation in the Pacific War. Five aircraft titled "Korean Buddhism" are subsidized and engaged in the war.

After 1945, the state intervenes in the policy of "purification of Buddhism" (1954-1962). The coexistence of Japanese married monks and monks considered faithful to orthodoxy is subject to tension. The state uses force to expel married monks from major monasteries. The result has been the establishment of a dominant monastic order, Jogye, from the group of single monks faithful to the precepts and assiduous to the retreats of the his (chan).
The 19 October 2008, the ceremony of the Cent Sièges is performed in Pusan, a first since 750 years. Opportunity for President Yi Kangwon to say "... We are updating the ceremony of hoguk containing the soul of our forgotten nation since 750 years, its historical and cultural meaning is immense ... ".
At the beginning of the XXIe century, can Buddhism develop in South Korea as a national religion? Yannick Bruneton ends his conference by asking the following questions: how to apply in a modern democracy, the notion of “protection of the country” formerly associated with the legitimization of royal and dynastic power, with the defense of the territory? How to make Buddhism a national religion in a multi-religious society where Buddhists barely represent a quarter of the population? How to make Buddhism a national religion when the South Korean constitution stipulates that religion and state are separate? How to reinvest in urban centers, places of memory? Does not association with the State involve, as in the past, risks of political instrumentalisation, secularization and folklorization?

15.10.14.Ceremony of the Cent Sièges 2 15.10.14.Ceremony of the Cent Sièges 1
Ceremony of the Hundred Sièges performed in Pusan ​​October 19 2008. © Ohmynews.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

LA NOTION DE « BOUDDHISME DE PROTECTION DU PAYS » HOGUK PULGYO EN CORÉE

Mercredi 14 octobre 2015 : conférence La notion de «bouddhisme de protection du pays» hoguk pulgyo en Corée par Yannick Bruneton, MCF, Université Paris-Diderot-Paris 7.

D’abord quelques repères : la diffusion du bouddhisme du Grand Véhicule se fait en provenance de la Chine vers le IVe siècle de notre ère et servira de relai pour sa transmission au Japon à partir du VIe siècle.

L’histoire de la Corée est divisée en fonction des dynasties qui ont souvent régné sur de longues périodes.

Période des Trois RoyaumesSilla57 av. J.C. – 672
Koguryo37 av. J.C. – 668
Paekche18 av. J.C. – 660
Période d’unification par le Grand Silla672 – 935
Parhae/Bohai au Nord699 – 926
Koryŏ918 – 1392
Chosŏn1392 – 1910
Occupation japonaise1910 -1945
Gouvernement militaire américain1945 – 1948
Partition de la Corée

République de Corée

Depuis 15.8.1948

République Populaire
Démocratique de Corée

Depuis 9.9.1948

Après la période du Grand Silla, le Royaume de Koryŏ unifie la Corée et voit l’identité coréenne se construire sur une conception du territoire ainsi que sur une identité culturelle fondée à la fois sur le bouddhisme et le confucianisme et un modèle politique stable qui est le modèle de l’État impérial.

Le bouddhisme coréen est, dans la tradition du Grand Véhicule, basé sur la traduction des écritures en chinois classique. Selon l’histoire des écoles, le bouddhisme coréen serait un bouddhisme de «synthèse» (t’ong pulgyo) mais le point de vue du rapport à l’État est une approche plus plausible avec un bouddhisme protecteur de l’État (ho’guk pulgyo). Aujourd’hui, une secte très puissante en Corée du Sud revendique une bouddhisme ayant conservé l’authentique pratique de méditation.
Sur la longue durée, on se rend compte que le rôle de l’État fut fondamental pour le développement du bouddhisme et c’est ce rôle qui permet d’expliquer le destin des Trois Joyaux dans la péninsule coréenne. De ce rôle découle une histoire particulière des écoles bouddhiques ainsi que le qualificatif de bouddhisme de «synthèse» qui lui fut attribué au XXe siècle par contraste avec l’organisation du bouddhisme au Japon.
Le rôle de l’État fut, d’une manière générale, déterminant pour le développement du bouddhisme en Asie orientale comme en témoigne par exemple, les tentatives d’écriture de l’histoire du bouddhisme selon les catégories historiographiques officielles. L’expression «protecteur du pays» est une étiquette susceptible de s’appliquer pour désigner le bouddhisme dans ses relations à l’État.
L’expression hoguk utilisée dans les sources médiévales coréennes n’est pas spécifiquement bouddhique et on la retrouve dans des contextes divers (titre d’ancêtres devenus divinités protectrices du royaume, titre de divinités territoriales et parfois titres de monastère d’une zone frontalière).
En contexte bouddhique cette notion, durant la période Koryŏ, est associée presque toujours au Soutra du Roi Bienveillant auquel il convient d’accorder une attention particulière.
Deux versions presque identiques existent qui se composent de huit chapitres (1-Introduction ; 2-contemplation de l’Ainsi-Venu ; 3-pratique de l’être d’Éveil ; 4- les deux vérités ; 5-protection du pays ; 6-faits concevables ; 7-réception des préceptes ; 8-exhortation à la diffusion du soutra). Les spécialistes considèrent ce soutra comme apocryphe, datant du VIe siècle (époque des Liang). Ce Soutra permet plusieurs niveaux de lecture, faisant de «roi» et de «pays» des notions abstraites et les commentateurs chinois ou coréens ont cherché à éviter qu’il ne fût lu de manière trop prosaïque (conception magique). Cependant, il peut être lu comme un récit : au Pic du Vautour, devant une immense assemblée, Siddharta Gautama dialogue avec le roi Prasenajit du royaume de Shrâvasti qui l’interroge sur la «protection du lien karmique du royaume», se faisant le porte-parole de seize souverains de grands pays. Les prescriptions rituelles du Soutra ont pour effet d’anéantir les sept types de calamités que peut connaître un royaume : 1-2) dérèglement astraux ; 3-6) destructions occasionnées par les quatre éléments (feu, eau, vent, terre) ; 7) invasions ennemies. Les causes de ces calamités sont : 1) le manque de piété filiale ; 2) le manque de respect à l’égard des maîtres et des aînés ; 3) l’absence de pratique correcte du Dharma par les moines, les brahmanes, les rois et les ministres. Dans le dernier chapitre, sont expliquées les sept craintes pour l’avenir et les sept mises en garde correspondantes. A la lecture de ce passage, on s’aperçoit qu’il est de la responsabilité du souverain de faire prospérer le Dharma, dont le déclin est annoncé à plus ou moins longue échéance après l’extinction du Bouddha.
Plusieurs signes annonciateurs y sont décrits comme la mise en place d’institutions pour régimenter le monde monastique, l’interdiction de construire des représentations du Bouddha et des pagodes, de pratiquer la Voie et de devenir moine, la réduction de la pratique bouddhique à des cultes en vue de l’obtention du bonheur dans ce monde.
Il y a un ensemble de prescriptions rituelles pour la conservation du Soutra du roi Bienveillant telles que réaliser des bannières aux neuf couleurs, des fleurs de neuf couleurs, milles lanternes, neuf coffrets de jade et neuf coiffes de jade, un pupitre en sept matières précieuses pour y déposer le Soutra. Lors de ses déplacements, le Soutra doit précéder la voiture royale de cent pas pour éradiquer les calamités dans un rayon de mille li.
Dans le chapitre 5, il est dit que la lecture de ce Soutra doit être donnée deux fois par jour par cent maîtres de Dharma installés sur un siège haut devant lequel on place une lanterne et l’on fait des offrandes d’encens et de fleurs aux Trois Joyaux.
Ces prescriptions rituelles ont été appliquées dès le VIIe siècle dans les sources officielles du Silla. Selon l’histoire dynastique officielle du Koryŏ, ce culte aurait été le troisième culte d’État le plus fréquemment pratiqué (plus d’une centaine de fois mentionné entre 1043 et 1302). Il sera abandonné au XVe siècle, consécutivement au changement de dynastie et à la transition idéologique qui implique la suppression des cultes bouddhiques d’État. A l’époque du Koryŏ, c’est un culte périodique permanent (une fois tous les deux ou trois ans, généralement pendant trois jours) mais il peut aussi être réalisé à titre extraordinaire. Il était accompagné de repas ou banquets offerts aux moines pansung. A partir de 1085, le culte va suivre les codes en vigueur sous les Song et le rite consistant à faire précéder la voiture royale du Soutra est adopté. Malheureusement l’iconographie bouddhique du Koryŏ n’a pas conservé de traces de représentations du culte. Il existe une description du culte en 1264 qui permet de vérifier sa conformité avec les prescriptions. Il est évident que ce culte eut un caractère conjuratoire comme le montrent certaines tenues extraordinaires : en 1179, elle est justifiée par des soulèvements armés de la population ; en 1186, la tenue de la cérémonie est associée à une autre, «d’extinction des calamités», pour conjurer ce qui est considéré comme un dérèglement astral. On peut voir ainsi que la notion de «protection» est associée à celle de «conjuration».
Avant le Koryŏ (Trois royaumes et Grand Silla), il y a des aspects fusionnels de la conception du bouddhisme et de la royauté (légitimation du lignage, aspect physique des souverains). L’institution des maîtres du roi et du royaume va naître au VIIe siècle (les rois sont disciples de maîtres bouddhistes). A cette époque, le bouddhisme commence à se fonctionnariser et à s’organiser en unités administratives et dépend des charges militaires. Cinq grands préceptes séculiers ont été largement diffusés et le quatrième est de dire que lorsqu’on va au combat on ne doit pas revenir. Au moment de la lutte du Koguryŏ contre les Tang, une source tardive dit que 30 000 moines auraient participé à la défense du royaume. Parmi les trois trésors du Silla, il y aurait une pagode de neuf étages au monastère de Hwangnyong à Kumsong (actuel Kyongju) où chaque étage est dédié à la protection contre un ennemi particulier. Ce symbole de la protection du royaume de Silla est d’actualité car la reconstitution de la pagode (détruite en 1238 et sans modèle) est programmée à Kyŏngju.

La reconstitution de la Pagode (82m ?) Kyongju détruite en 1238 (il n'y a pas de modèle) en cours à Kyongju (2017-2035 ?)

La reconstitution de la pagode (82m ?) détruite en 1238 (il n’y a pas de modèle), en cours à Kyŏngju (2017–‐2035 ?)

Le Koryŏ est la seule période de l’histoire de la Corée où le bouddhisme fut la religion de l’État et de la dynastie sur le modèle de l’État impérial (administration des Tang). De ce fait, le Koryŏ est la période où l’expression «protection du royaume» coïncide avec le sens de «bouddhisme d’État», véritable système, dont le fonctionnement implique l’ensemble de la société.
Dans les sources, il y a un mythe fondateur qui présente un point de vue sur la fondation de la dynastie : le moine Tosŏn aurait révélé son destin au premier roi, Wang Kŏn, aurait légitimé le choix de la nouvelle capitale dynastique (Kaegyŏng) et choisi le site du palais. Ceci démontre l’étroitesse des relations entre la fondation de la dynastie et le bouddhisme, celui-ci est considéré comme le soutien de la dynastie.
Héritée d’une conception originale du Silla, l’institution des maîtres du roi wangsa et du royaume kuksa va se développer et, à partir du milieu du Xe siècle, les maîtres du roi et du royaume vont se succéder de manière continue (environ 70 identifiés). A chaque souverain correspondait un maître du roi qui devenait maître du royaume à la mort du précédent. Dans une relation de maître à disciple (rite de prise de maître : cession du trône et neuf prosternations), le souverain était censé prendre conseil auprès de son maître aussi bien sur le plan politique que religieux. Cette institution caractérise le Koryŏ puisqu’elle sera supprimée à partir du deuxième souverain de la dynastie suivante Chosŏn. Le rôle politique et religieux de ces maîtres est difficile à évaluer car dépendant de la personnalité et de l’âge des souverains et des maîtres. Cependant ils ont tenté de regrouper les écoles bouddhiques par le truchement de maîtres nationaux. Tous les maîtres nationaux étaient issus du monastère de Songgwangsa. Une preuve de l’importance du bouddhisme est la pratique des monastères de vœux de la famille royale qui étaient dédiés au culte permanent des ancêtres, sorte de culte dynastique teinté de confucianisme. En raison des lacunes relatives aux rites funéraires dans l’histoire officielle, il est difficile de savoir si les funérailles d’Etat respectaient les prescriptions bouddhiques. Les cérémonies de commémoration du jour anniversaire du décès se faisaient dans ces monastères. Les formules de vœux attestent du rôle de relais du culte dynastique par les rites bouddhiques. De structure binaire verticale, ces formules priaient pour le bonheur du souverain en haut et pour celui des êtres en bas.

15.10.14.Monastère de Songgwan

Le pavillon des maîtres du royaume du monastère de Songgwan

15.10.14.Monastère de Haein

Les 81 258 planches gravées conservée au monastère de Haein (province de Kyŏngsang du Sud).©UNESCO

Un autre aspect de la protection du royaume est la gravure de la Grande Corbeille (ensemble d’écritures bouddhiques : le Tripitaka) : une première fois, dans le but de repousser les troupes Khitan (1011) et une seconde fois pour refouler les envahisseurs mongols (1237). Cette dernière, gravée sur 81 258 planches de bois entre 1237 et 1251 et conservée au monastère de Haein, fut inscrite en 2007 au registre de la Mémoire du Monde.
Une autre déclinaison de la notion de «protection du pays» est celle de «soutien» du royaume (pibo) : il était nécessaire d’installer des édifices bouddhiques (monastères, pagodes, lanternes de pierre ou bassins d’eau, etc.) pour pallier les défauts des sites remarquables du territoire. D’abord centré sur la capitale, le concept fut étendu à l’ensemble du pays. Fixés par les «écrits secrets de Tosŏn» les sites (entre 500 et 3600) étaient censés être répertoriés dans des listes. En 1198, un bureau spécial fut dédié aux sites pibo sur l’ensemble du royaume.
L’abondance des cultes bouddhiques à la cour et dans les provinces (83 types identifiés) est un des aspects les plus visibles des relations entre État et bouddhisme, que l’on peut qualifier de «ritualisme». La plupart des cérémonies relèveraient du courant ésotérique du bouddhisme, pourtant peu influent. Les cultes se caractérisent par leur fonction conjuratoire impliquant des relations étroites avec la divination d’État. Un tel ritualisme ésotérique relève d’une conception magique du bouddhisme instrumentalisée par le pouvoir séculier.
Pour assurer, à titre perpétuel, des cultes d’État soutenant la dynastie et la société toute entière, une partie des fonds publics, issus des impôts et taxes, est destinée aux monastères, mais aussi des fonds à capitaliser «les trésors inépuisables» (usure). L’existence de «règles permanentes» conservées dans les archives des monastères semble attester le caractère contractuel de l’organisation des cultes, dès le début de la dynastie. Autrement dit, l’État subventionne le culte dynastique effectué dans les monastères, en impliquant les administrations et les populations locales.
Un troisième aspect de la notion de «protection du royaume» signifie la «défense du territoire». Les «armées de démons» peuvent être comprises comme une diabolisation des ennemis du royaume (considérés comme ennemis du bouddhisme). Depuis la fondation du Koryŏ, les catégories de moines des dépendances des monastères ainsi que la population des districts étaient rattachées aux armées régulières. On trouve aussi mention de moines soldats dans l’histoire officielle, mobilisés par centaines ou par milliers contre les Khitan au XIe s., les Mongols au XIIIe s., les Turbans Rouges et les Japonais au XIVe s. En définitive, le terme hoguk implicite une protection symbolique et concrète du bouddhisme vis-à-vis de l’État impliquant une contrepartie réalisée par l’intermédiaire du souverain et sous forme d’un contrat (dimension juridique et institutionnelle). On peut y voir aussi une forme d’instrumentalisation du bouddhisme par le pouvoir séculier, prônant un usage quasi magique des cultes.

Le bouddhisme de «protection du pays» disparaît sous la dynastie Chosŏn avec des périodes de répression alternées avec des périodes de tolérance ou de reconnaissance. L’éradication des institutions bouddhiques d’État à partir du roi T’aejong (1400-1417) se fait au profit d’une idéologie néo-confucéenne, le bouddhisme comme le taoïsme sont considérés comme des hérésies. Cependant les écoles fusionnent et le bouddhisme est contraint et limité dans ses activités et sa capacité économique par la législation.
La conséquence de cinq siècles de répression du bouddhisme en Corée aboutirent à : 1) écarter institutionnellement le bouddhisme des centres de pouvoir et des centres urbains (isolement des monastères «bouddhisme de montagne») ; 2) faire baisser le statut social des religieux ; 3) réduire le niveau de formation des moines ; 4) limiter les réalisations bouddhiques (édifices) et les cultes ; 5) dilapider le patrimoine bouddhique ; 6) faire entrer le bouddhisme dans la sphère privée ; 7) rapprocher le bouddhisme des pratiques religieuses plus populaires (pratiques exorcistes du chamanisme). Les milieux bouddhiques, à commencer par les religieux durent s’adapter et se transformer pour survivre.
A la fin du XVIe s., une partie du monde monastique participa à la résistance contre les invasions japonaises alors que l’armée régulière est en débandade. Ces actes de résistance obligèrent le pouvoir à en reconnaître le mérite et à reconsidérer le rôle du bouddhisme vis-à-vis de l’État (XVIIe s.). Une tolérance relative va s’installer durant le XVIIIe et le XIXe siècle. A partir de quelques figures du monde résistant bouddhique se forgea les lignées spirituelles considérées comme orthodoxes, rattachées à la lignée de Linji Yixuan des Tang, 11e patriarche de l’école du Chan.
Au XIXe s. le clergé bouddhique se maintient grâce au soutien du peuple et de membres de la famille royale (familles des reines) ce qui permet la reconstruction de grands monastères.
En 1910, le nombre de moines et de religieux bouddhistes était de l’ordre de 5 à 6000. En 1911 est promulguée une loi sur les monastères qui restructure l’ensemble du monde bouddhique dans une politique d’asservissement aux autorités coloniales au service de l’Empire nippon. Les religieux sont administrés par une élite autochtone collaborationniste choisie par le régime. Les monastères et les temples servent de relais au culte impérial. Les notions bouddhiques de bienfaits ou de préceptes séculiers sont instrumentalisées pour justifier la participation des bouddhistes à la guerre du Pacifique. Cinq avions titrés «bouddhisme coréen» sont subventionnés et engagés dans la guerre.

Après 1945, l’État intervient dans la politique de «purification du bouddhisme» (1954-1962). La coexistence des moines mariés japonisés et des moines considérés comme fidèles à l’orthodoxie est l’objet de tensions. L’État utilise la force pour expulser les moines mariés des principaux monastères. Le résultat a abouti à l’établissement d’un ordre monastique dominant, jogye, issu du groupe des moines célibataires fidèles aux préceptes et assidus aux retraites du sŏn (chan).
Le 19 octobre 2008, la cérémonie des Cent Sièges est exécutée à Pusan, une première depuis 750 ans. Occasion pour le président Yi Kangwon de dire «…Nous réactualisons la cérémonie du hoguk contenant l’âme de notre nation oubliée depuis 750 ans, son sens historique et culturel est immense…».
En ce début du XXIe siècle, le bouddhisme peut-il se développer en Corée du Sud comme religion nationale ? Yannick Bruneton termine sa conférence en posant les questions suivantes : comment appliquer dans une démocratie moderne, la notion de «protection du pays» autrefois associée à la légitimation du pouvoir royal et dynastique, à la défense du territoire ? Comment faire du bouddhisme une religion nationale dans une société pluri religieuse où les bouddhistes ne représentent qu’à peine un quart de la population ? Comment faire du bouddhisme une religion nationale alors que la constitution sud-coréenne stipule que religion et État sont séparés ? Comment réinvestir les centres urbains, les lieux de mémoire ? L’association avec l’Etat ne comporte-t-elle pas, comme dans le passé, des risques d’instrumentalisation politique, de sécularisation et de folklorisation ?

15.10.14.Cérémonie des Cent Sièges 215.10.14.Cérémonie des Cent Sièges 1
Cérémonie des Cent Sièges exécutée à Pusan le 19 octobre 2008. ©Ohmynews.

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher