On the road to the Tōkaidō

Tour-conference by Sylvie Ahmadian, lecturer at the National Museum of Asian Arts - Guimet.

Sylvie Ahmadian recalls the story of this famous road, the Tōkaidō (East Sea Road), the most famous road of the Gokaidō (Five Roads) that connected Edo (Tokyo) to Kyotō. Started by the Tokugawa Ieyasu Shogun in 1601, this network was meant to strengthen the country's control. If the initial plot of the Tōkaidō goes back to 9st s. it takes on all its importance under the Tokugawa Shogunate which had, moreover, instituted the system of alternating residence (sankin-kōtai) obliging daimyo to reside in Edo every other year, where they had to leave their family hostage. This system made it possible to better control them and also to weaken them financially so that they do not rebel against the power in place, the maintenance of two residences and the displacements being very expensive. But the road was also frequented by merchants, pilgrims, Japanese people who wanted to travel on foot, in palanquin or on horseback according to their purse.
This journey of about 480 km was punctuated by fifty-three resorts equipped with inns and restaurants, and which were often located near scenic sites or Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines. It should be noted that these relays have often been the ferment of an important urban development.
The Tōkaidō has not only been the subject of literary descriptions and travel guides, but has also been a major source of inspiration for many artists who, like Hokusai and Hiroshige, have produced many series of prints dedicated to different relays of this mythical route from Japan to Edo.
The theme of the fifty-three relays of the Tōkaidō has inspired Utagawa Hiroshige (1797-1858) throughout his life: thirty series of prints, very different from each other by their size, their treatment or their number. However, it is the first edition of 1833-1834, called Hōeidō, (named after the publisher), and presented in the exhibition, which has had the greatest notoriety. This series is actually 55 prints, because at 53 stations of Tōkaidō were added, in 1835, two other prints illustrating the starting point, the bridge Nihonbashi in Edo and the point of arrival, the Sanjo bridge in Kyotō.

View of the Nihonbashi bridge in the early morning (1ere view).

Totsuka, detour via Motomachi (5th station).

The exhibited works come from the remarkable private collection of Mr. Jerzy Leskowicz who has entrusted to the Guimet Museum many first prints of this illustrious series of Hiroshige prints.
It is not certain that Hiroshige completed the course of Edo in Kyotō during the summer 1832, accompanying the official procession that would present to the emperor the horses offered by the shogun, but he obviously knew some relay as shown in the preparatory sketchbook for the fourth series, kept at MNAA-Guimet. Although he also drew his inspiration from travel guides and novels such as "On foot on the Tōkaidō"(1802-1814) Jippensha Ikku, the work of this landscaper par excellence remains no less remarkable. However, if Hiroshige has exalted the landscape with lyricism, some prints emphasize human activities and their lot of picturesque or derisory situations. So, in the first print, view of the Nihonbashi bridge in the early morning, in Edo, the derisory sight offered in the foreground on the fishermen carrying their baskets of fish and the hindquarters of dogs devouring remains, contrasts with the major event, relegated to the background of the print: the arrival of a procession accompanying a Daimyōled by porters, standard bearers and walking samurai who emerge from the curved bridge.
In Kawazaki, the Rokug ferryō (3st station), a group of people crossed the Tanagawa River aboard a barge because the Tokaido Road, considered strategic by the shogunate, had few bridges to better control the passages, as it was subject to restrictions and restrictions. prohibitions. Travelers were therefore forced to use ferries or porters to cross waterways. The scene takes place early in the morning as the silhouette of Mount Fuji takes shape for the first time on the Tokaido.
Hiroshige makes quite abundant use of Prussian blue (bero-have - indigo of Berlin) which, introduced in 1820 in Japan from Holland, provoked a real "revolution" in the world of Ukiyo-e and more particularly in the field of landscape. It is mainly reserved for the description of the sky and water spaces, it allows subtle gradations and helps to suggest a twilight atmosphere as in the print titled Totsuka, detour via Motomachi ((5st station): the abundant use of blues and grays sets the scene at dusk. A servant welcomes a rider whose horse ride is burlesque. After leaving Edo early in the morning, the travelers spent their first night in this inn. A milestone indicates Kamakura Road, whose famous sanctuary is located only 8 km from this relay.

Hiratsuka (7th station).

Odawara (9th station).

Hiratsuka (7st station) does not represent the station itself but a courier of the current mail service on a winding road in the middle of a marsh. Only 2 or 3 days were needed to send mail between Edo and Kyoto. The imposing stature of Mount Korai contrasts with the frail silhouette of Mount Fuji covered with snow.
Odawara (9st station) illustrates the crossing of the Sakawa River while in the distance, you can see the towers of Odawara Castle. In the absence of a bridge, one had to cross the river ford on a palanquin (Kagoor on a simple bamboo platform or on the shoulders of sturdy porters. Hiroshige pays particular attention to the Hakone mountains, whose many colorful facets were inspired by the marquetry work that made the reputation of Hakone artisans.

Mishima, morning mist (11th station).

Hara (13th station).

From the technical point of view, a print is the result of the collaboration of four people: the artist who creates the drawing, the engraver who makes the different woods corresponding to the different colors (the first board being that of the outlines), the printer who applies the successive colors and the editor who coordinates the work and distributes the work. Mishima, the morning mist (11st station) is an example of the technical mastery of the craftsmen able to restore the presence of the fog with the help of faded gray which oppose the fineness of the woods of lines of the foreground. Thus, the elements of the landscape appear as Chinese shadows wrapped in morning mist.
For the first time, Mount Fuji appears as the main element of the landscape in the print titled Hara (13st station), from where one can have one of the most beautiful views on the sacred mountain whose monumentality is reinforced by its summit which pierces the work and leaves voluntarily of the frame of the print. In the foreground, two travelers are accompanied by a wearer whose short jacket offers a pattern that is the character Hiro and that Hiroshige uses to subtly insure his own publicity.
Yoshiwara, Mount Fuji seen from the left (14st station) is the only place on the Tokaido road where Mount Fuji appears on the left. This anomaly is highlighted by the title of the work and the orientation of the head of the horseman figured in the center of the composition and which leads the viewer's gaze into the left part of the work where the discrete outline is drawn Mount Fuji.
Yui, the Satta Pass (16st station) offers a majestic landscape on Suruga Bay where the mountain, steep, seems to pour out. From the Satta Pass, a steep path overlooks the bay, allowing small travelers, who appear in the upper left of the print, to contemplate one of the most beautiful views of Tokaido. All of Hiroshige's composition is entirely devoted to the landscape, which once again includes the majestic Mount Fuji.

Yoshiwara, Mount Fuji seen from the left (14th station).

Yui, the pass of Satta (16th station).

The framing is often unusual and even if the artist knew the Western perspective, he also often used the traditional bird's eye view as well as the flat representation of Japanese painting.
In Fuchū (19st station), the artist favors the crossing of the Abbe River on the banks of which was Tokugawa Ieyasu Castle. The crossing is done thanks to specialized carriers called kumosuke who carried travelers in their palanquin, on a platform or straddling their shoulders. Once in the middle of the river, an unscrupulous porter might have demanded a supplement.
Mariko, famous tea house (20st station), was a relay known for its local culinary specialties like grated yam soup and sake fish, praised by the signs hanging on the front of the house.
The originality of the layout of Okabe (21st station) resides the constricted frame on the path that runs along a stream between the two green slopes of the mountain. These form an obstacle to the view and define the inclination of the path on which travelers and peasants walk painfully.
The change of horses and porters to Fujieda (22st station) is the central theme of this print, in which a discontented samurai, undoubtedly impatient, dressed in black and wearing a hat, observes the agitation of the porters and the disorganized scene unfolding before his eyes. In a diagonal layout, covered with picturesque details and with a hint of humor, Hiroshige manages to restore the mood and mood of his characters.
Throughout the series, the artist alternates points of view, privileging the "bird's eye view" for crossing the Oi River for Shimada and Kanaya prints (23st and 24st stations) in which the landscape seems seen from the sky and the characters are reduced to tiny silhouettes. To cross the Oi River, the largest river in Tokaido, it was sometimes necessary to wait for the recession for several days, or even weeks. This misadventure happened to the famous poet Bashô who made it a poem.

Mariko, famous tea house (20th station).

Fujieda (22th station).

In Nissaka (25st station), at the foot of Sayo Mountain, five travelers gaze at a huge stone called "the stone that cries at night", referring to a legend that a pregnant woman was murdered there by robbers and her child rescued by Kannon. As an adult, he would have avenged his mother whose specter would have allowed him to find the criminals.
Hiroshige chooses a composition centered for Hamamatsu, winter scene (29st station): at the foot of a cedar tree which crosses the middle part of the work, travelers and peasants try to warm up and dry themselves around a wood fire, while smoking their pipes. Beyond, the slightly snowy landscape is crossed by pines sometimes called "roaring pines" because of the plaintive noise produced by the wind in their foliage, while in the distance appears the small silhouette of the castle of Hamamatsu that Tokugawa Ieyasu had built in the plain.
Yoshida, the bridge over the Toyo River (34st station) offers a bird's eye view of the Toyokawa Bridge that reaches Yoshida Station, the largest of Tokaido's size. Hiroshige is on the same level as the workers who, in the foreground, are working on the restoration of Yoshida Castle, largely destroyed by a 1873 fire.

Nissaka (25th station).

Hamamatsu, winter scene (29th station).

Each print of this series of Hōeidō, mentions the calligraphy name of the series " Fifty-three relays of Tôkaidô Then the title of the work, while the subtitle appears in a often rectangular cartouche. On the other side of the work is Hiroshige's calligraphy signature followed by the stamp of the publisher. In the margins of some prints, we can see one or more cachets of censorship, very present in publishing circles, prohibiting certain subjects, limiting the colors or involved in the very composition of the works.
Goyu, women berthing travelers (35st station) is the only print of this series where Hiroshige mentions on the banners, in the upper right corner, the names of the engraver, the printer and the publisher, next to that of the painter, usually unique signatory with the publisher. In this work, in which courtesans fired vehemently from potential customers to their respective homes, Hiroshige uses a single-point Western perspective that allows for the digging of space or "popping up" of images to the viewer, hence the name '' Flowing images '' sometimes used in the Japanese archipelago to express this phenomenon.
In Fujikawa, scene in the suburbs (37st station), the owners of a hostel bow at the arrival of a procession of daimyo to accommodate the lord supposed to stop in their establishment. At the front of the procession, the horses are adorned with strips of paper (gohei) often used in Shinto rituals and have the power to protect from all dangers.

Hamamatsu, winter scene (34th station).

Goyu, women berthing travelers (35th station).

Miya (41st station) illustrates a festival which took place at the sanctuary of Atsuta-jingū, one of the most sacred in Japan. We see two teams pulling attached ropes to which tanks are probably attached, invisible in the print. It is, in reality, a real horse race the result of which augured good or bad harvests. The almost caricatured postures of the characters are reminiscent of certain characters from Hokusai's Manga.
The print titled Yokkaichi (43st station) is traversed by a violent squall: the movement of the trees, the curved silhouettes of the characters - one of which runs after his hat and the other fights against the wind - all combine to translate the violence of the elements. The composition has no real center which reinforces the impression of chaos deliberately expressed by Hiroshige.

Miya (41th station).

Yokkaichi (43rd station).

For Shōno, rain storm (45st view), the artist, also known as the "Master of the rain", used all his talent to restore the intensity of the rain: the fine oblique stripes suggest the rain and on the bottom of curved bamboos under the effect of the wind stand out in the foreground, travelers struggling against the natural elements: one holds an umbrella, another protects himself from a straw coat while one covered Kago held by porters. Hiroshige manages to make the scene moving by the inclination of the rain, the posture of the characters and the multiple diagonals that cross its composition. The subtle gradients without outline reflect the density of this humid climate.
After the rain, the snow invades Kameyama (46st station). The landscape buried under a thick mantle leads the eye diagonally towards the castle in the upper right corner. It seems obvious that Hiroshige could not see all the relays in the different seasons during his supposed journey of 1832. He has probably made short trips to Tokaido but he also seems to have found inspiration in literature and travel guides, and is imaginative in "dressing" his landscapes according to the season.

Shono, rain storm (XNUMxth view).

Kameyama (46th station).

Minakuchi (50st station) was famous for its craftsmanship of hats, tobacco jokes or small boxes, all made from dried and braided pumpkin filaments. The artist puts here, as in prints of the series, the specialty of the place.
Fifty-fifth closes the series with the SanjoŌhashi or 'big bridge of the 3st avenue "which marks the point of arrival at Kyoto from the Tokaido road.
It should be noted that the Tōkaidō route, along 480 km, required about two weeks of walking.
The series Fifty-three stations of Tōkaidō-Hodogaya, also on display, is a work done "with two brushes", produced by Hiroshige with the artist Utagawa Kunisada Toyokuni III (1786-1865). If the views on the upper half of these vertical prints are due to Hiroshige, the characters in the foreground are from the hand of this artist, famous for his portraits of actors or kabuki scenes.

Hodogaya. 53 Tōkaidō stations. Utagawa Hiroshiga and Utagawa Kunisada Toyokuni III.

Famous views of Tōkaidō. Binding album concertina in its case. © MNAAG.

Famous views of Tōkaidō (detail).

The tradition of "travel guides" or "visits to famous sites" was alive in Japan since 17st s. These books gather texts, recommendations, maps and images to better inform the traveler. As to Famous views of Tōkaidō, probably commissioned by the last shogun Iemochi in 1863, this is an important album of Tōkaidō prints that brings together 166 prints made by 15 different artists who are among the most famous of their time, such as Utagawa Kunisada (1786 -1865), Utagawa Hiroshige II (1829-1869) or Kanawabe Kyōsai (1831-1889). The freshness of the colors and the quality of the print make this work which belongs to the collections of the Guimet museum, and presented for the first time to the public, an exceptional work.
This album belonged to Victor Segalen (1878-1909), Navy doctor, writer, sinologist and archaeologist. Posted in China from 1909 to 1914, he has conducted two major archaeological expeditions in which the museum retains many photographic evidence.
A small exhibition, presented in the margins of «On the road to TōkaidōAnd on the occasion of the centenary of the death of Victor Segalen, pays tribute to this illustrious man, passionate and fascinated by Chinese civilization. China is a major source of inspiration for his literary and poetic work. Also, during his two archaeological expeditions undertaken in China in 1909 and 1913, he made important discoveries such as the statuary ensemble of the tomb of Huo Qubing (117 BC) depicting a horse slaying a barbarian or the Qin Shihuangdi Tumulus (209 BC).

Tumulus and statuary group of the Huo Qubing burial. (117 BC) Mission Victor Segalen. 1914.

Funeral Alley of Xiao Xiu (died in 518). Excursion of Victor Segalen. 1917.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Sur la route du Tōkaidō

Visite-conférence par Sylvie Ahmadian, conférencière au musée national des arts asiatiques – Guimet.

Sylvie Ahmadian rappelle l’histoire de cette route fameuse, le Tōkaidō (route de la mer de l’Est) la plus célèbre route du Gokaidō (Cinq Routes) qui reliait Edo (Tōkyō) à Kyotō. Commencé par le shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu en 1601, ce réseau était destiné à renforcer le contrôle du pays. Si le tracé initial du Tōkaidō remonte au 9ème s. il prend toute son importance sous le shogunat des Tokugawa qui avaient, par ailleurs, institué le système de résidence alternée (sankin-kōtai) obligeant les daimyō à résider à Edo un an sur deux, où ils devaient laisser leur famille en otage. Ce système permettait de mieux les contrôler et aussi de les affaiblir financièrement afin qu’ils ne se rebellent pas contre le pouvoir en place, l’entretien de deux résidences et les déplacements étant fort coûteux. Mais la route était aussi fréquentée par des marchands, des pèlerins, des Japonais épris de voyages qui allaient à pied, en palanquin ou à cheval au gré de leur bourse.
Ce trajet d’environ 480 km était ponctué de cinquante-trois stations équipées d’auberges et de restaurants, et qui étaient souvent situées près de sites pittoresques ou de temples bouddhiques et sanctuaires shinto. Il est à noter que ces relais ont souvent été le ferment d’un développement urbain important.
Le Tōkaidō a, non seulement, fait l’objet de descriptions littéraires, de guides de voyage mais il a aussi été une source d’inspiration majeure pour de multiples artistes qui, tels Hokusai et Hiroshige ont réalisé de nombreuses séries d’estampes consacrées aux différents relais de cette route mythique du Japon d’Edo.
Le thème des cinquante-trois relais du Tōkaidō a inspiré à Utagawa Hiroshige (1797-1858) tout au long de sa vie: une trentaine de séries d’estampes, très différentes les unes des autres par leurs dimensions, leur traitement ou leur nombre. C’est cependant la première édition de 1833-1834, dite de Hōeidō, (du nom de l’éditeur), et présentée dans l’exposition, qui a connu la plus grande notoriété. Cette série comporte en réalité 55 estampes, car aux 53 stations du Tōkaidō se sont ajoutées, en 1835, deux autres estampes illustrant le point de départ, le pont Nihonbashi à Edo et le point d’arrivée, le pont de Sanjo à Kyotō.

Vue du pont Nihonbashi au petit matin (1ère vue).

Totsuka, détour par Motomachi (5ème station).

Les œuvres exposées proviennent de la remarquable collection privée de M. Jerzy Leskowicz qui a confié au musée Guimet de nombreux premiers tirages de cette illustre série d’estampes de Hiroshige.
Il n’est pas certain que Hiroshige ait accompli le parcours d’Edo à Kyotō au cours de l’été 1832, accompagnant le cortège officiel qui allait présenter à l’empereur les chevaux offerts par le shogun, mais il en connaissait manifestement certains relais comme en témoigne le carnet de croquis préparatoires à la quatrième série, conservé au MNAA-Guimet. Même s’il puisait aussi son inspiration dans les guides de voyage et les romans tels que «A pied sur le Tōkaidō» (1802-1814) de Jippensha Ikku, l’œuvre de ce paysagiste par excellence n’en demeure pas moins remarquable. Cependant, si Hiroshige a su exalter le paysage avec lyrisme, certaines estampes mettent l’accent sur les activités humaines et leur lot de situations pittoresques ou dérisoires. Ainsi, dans la première estampe, vue du pont de Nihonbashi au petit matin, à Edo, le dérisoire de la vue offerte au premier plan sur les pêcheurs transportant leurs paniers de poissons et l’arrière-train de chiens dévorant des restes, contraste avec l’événement majeur, relégué au second plan de l’estampe: l’arrivée d’un cortège accompagnant un daimyō, conduit par des porteurs, des porte-étendards et des samouraï à pied qui surgissent du pont incurvé.
Dans Kawazaki, le bac à Rokugō (3ème station), un groupe de personnes traverse le fleuve Tanagawa à bord d’une barge car la route du Tokaido, considérée comme stratégique par le shogunat, comportait peu de ponts afin de mieux contrôler les passages, comme elle était soumise à des restrictions et des interdictions. Les voyageurs étaient donc contraints d’utiliser des bacs ou des porteurs pour traverser les cours d’eau. La scène se passe tôt le matin alors que se dessine au loin, et pour la première fois sur le Tokaido, la silhouette du mont Fuji.
Hiroshige fait un usage assez abondant du bleu de Prusse (bero-ai – indigo de Berlin) qui, introduit en 1820 au Japon en provenance de Hollande, a provoqué une véritable «révolution» dans le monde de l’Ukiyo-e et plus particulièrement dans le domaine du paysage. Il est surtout réservé à la description du ciel et des espaces d’eau, il  permet de subtils dégradés et contribue à suggérer une atmosphère crépusculaire comme dans l’estampe intitulée Totsuka, détour par Motomachi ((5ème station) : l’abondante utilisation de bleus et de gris situe la scène au crépuscule. Une servante accueille un cavalier dont la descente de cheval s’avère burlesque. Après avoir quitté Edo le matin tôt, les voyageurs passaient leur première nuit dans cette auberge. Une borne indique le chemin de Kamakura dont le célèbre sanctuaire n’est situé qu’à 8 km de ce relais.

Hiratsuka (7ème station).

Odawara (9ème station).

Hiratsuka (7ème station) ne représente pas la station elle-même mais un coursier du service postal courant sur une route sinueuse au milieu de marais. Il ne fallait que 2 ou 3 jours seulement pour acheminer le courrier entre Edo et Kyôto. La stature imposante du mont Korai contraste avec la frêle silhouette du mont Fuji revêtu de neige.
Odawara (9ème station) illustre la traversée du fleuve Sakawa tandis qu’au loin, on aperçoit les tours du château d’Odawara. En l’absence de pont, on devait franchir le fleuve à gué sur un palanquin (kago) ou sur une simple plate-forme de bambou ou encore sur les épaules de vigoureux porteurs. Hiroshige porte une attention particulière aux montagnes d’Hakone dont les multiples facettes colorées lui ont été inspirées par le travail de marqueterie qui faisait alors la réputation des artisans d’Hakone.

Mishima, brume matinale (11ème station).

Hara (13ème station).

Du point de vue technique, une estampe résulte de la collaboration de quatre personnes : l’artiste qui crée le dessin, le graveur qui réalise les différents bois correspondant aux différentes couleurs (la première planche étant celle des contours), l’imprimeur qui applique les couleurs successives et l’éditeur qui coordonne le travail et diffuse l’œuvre. Mishima, la brume matinale (11ème station) est un exemple de la maîtrise technique des artisans capables de restituer la présence du brouillard à l’aide de gris estompés qui s’opposent à la finesse des bois de traits du premier plan. Ainsi, les éléments du paysage apparaissent tels des ombres chinoises enveloppées de brumes matinales.
Pour la première fois, le mont Fuji apparaît comme l’élément principal du paysage dans l’estampe intitulée Hara (13ème station), d’où l’on peut avoir l’une des plus belles vues sur la montagne sacrée dont la monumentalité est renforcée par son sommet qui transperce l’œuvre et sort volontairement du cadre de l’estampe. Au premier plan, deux voyageuses sont accompagnées d’un porteur dont la veste courte offre un motif qui constitue le caractère hiro et qu’Hiroshige emploie pour assurer, de manière subtile, sa propre publicité.
Yoshiwara, le mont Fuji vu de gauche (14ème station) est le seul endroit de la route du Tokaido où le mont Fuji apparait à gauche. Cette anomalie est mise en évidence par le titre de l’œuvre et par l’orientation de la tête du cavalier figuré au centre de la composition et qui conduit le regard du spectateur dans la partie gauche de l’œuvre où se dessine le discret contour du mont Fuji.
Yui, le col de Satta  (16ème station) offre un paysage majestueux sur la baie de Suruga où la montagne, abrupte, semble se déverser. Depuis le col de Satta, un chemin escarpé surplombe la baie, permettant aux voyageurs de petite taille, qui apparaissent dans la partie supérieure gauche de l’estampe, de contempler l’un des plus beaux panoramas du Tokaido. Toute la composition d’Hiroshige est entièrement dévolue au paysage qui inclut, une fois encore, le majestueux mont Fuji.

Yoshiwara, le mont Fuji vu de gauche (14ème station).

Yui, le col de Satta (16ème station).

Les cadrages sont souvent insolites et même si l’artiste connaissait la perspective occidentale, il a aussi souvent fait appel à la traditionnelle vue d’oiseau ainsi qu’à la représentation plane de la peinture japonaise.
Dans Fuchū (19ème station), l’artiste privilégie la traversée du fleuve Abbe sur les rives duquel se trouvait le château de Tokugawa Ieyasu. La traversée s’effectue grâce aux porteurs spécialisés appelés kumosuke qui transportaient les voyageurs dans leur palanquin, sur une plateforme ou à califourchon sur leurs épaules. Une fois arrivé au milieu de la rivière, il arrivait qu’un porteur peu scrupuleux réclame un supplément.
Mariko, célèbre maison de thé (20ème station), était un le relais réputé pour ses spécialités culinaires locales comme la soupe à l’igname râpé et le poisson au saké, vantés par les panneaux accrochés à l’avant de la maison.
L’originalité de la mise en page de Okabe (21ème station) réside le cadrage resserré sur le chemin qui longe un torrent entre les deux versants verts de la montagne. Ceux-ci forment un obstacle à la vue et définissent l’inclinaison du sentier sur lequel des voyageurs et des paysans cheminent péniblement.
Le changement de chevaux et de porteurs à Fujieda (22ème station) constitue le thème central de cette estampe dans laquelle un samouraï mécontent et sans doute impatient, vêtu de noir et coiffé d’un chapeau, observe l’agitation des porteurs et la scène désorganisée qui se déploie sous ses yeux. Dans une mise en page en diagonale, parcourue de détails pittoresques et avec une pointe d’humour, Hiroshige parvient à restituer l’ambiance et l’humeur de ses personnages.
Tout au long de la série, l’artiste alterne les points de vue, privilégiant la «vue d’oiseau» pour la traversée du fleuve Oi pour les estampes Shimada et Kanaya (23ème et 24ème stations) dans lesquelles le paysage semble vu du ciel et les personnages sont réduits à de minuscules silhouettes. Pour franchir le fleuve Oi, le cours d’eau le plus large du Tokaido, il fallait parfois attendre la décrue pendant plusieurs jours, voire plusieurs semaines. Cette mésaventure est arrivée au célèbre poète Bashô qui en a fait un poème.

Mariko, célèbre maison de thé (20ème station).

Fujieda (22ème station).

Dans Nissaka (25ème station),  au pied de la montagne Sayo, cinq voyageurs contemplent une énorme pierre appelée «la pierre qui pleure la nuit», faisant référence à une légende selon laquelle une femme enceinte aurait été assassinée à cet endroit par des brigands et son enfant secouru par Kannon. Devenu adulte, il aurait vengé sa mère dont le spectre lui aurait permis de retrouver les criminels.
Hiroshige choisit une composition centrée pour Hamamatsu, scène hivernale (29ème station) : autour d’un cèdre qui traverse la partie médiane de l’œuvre, des voyageurs et des paysans tentent de se réchauffer et de se sécher autour d’un feu de bois, tout en fumant leur pipe. Au-delà, le paysage légèrement enneigé est parcouru de pins parfois appelés «pins mugissants» en raison du bruit plaintif que produit le vent dans leur feuillage, tandis qu’au loin apparaît la petite silhouette du château de Hamamatsu que Tokugawa Ieyasu avait fait construire dans la plaine.
Yoshida, le pont sur la rivière Toyo (34ème station) offre une vue d’oiseau sur le pont Toyokawa qui permet d’atteindre la station de Yoshida, la plus importante du Tokaido par sa taille. Hiroshige se place au même niveau que les ouvriers qui, au premier plan, travaillent à la restauration du château de Yoshida, en grande partie détruit par un incendie en 1873.

Nissaka (25ème station).

Hamamatsu, scène hivernale (29ème station).

Chaque estampe de cette série de Hōeidō, mentionne le nom calligraphié de la série des « Cinquante-trois relais du Tôkaidô » puis le titre de l’œuvre, tandis que le sous-titre apparait dans un cartouche souvent rectangulaire. De l’autre côté de l’œuvre, figurent la signature calligraphiée d’Hiroshige suivie du cachet de l’éditeur. Dans les marges de certaines estampes, on peut apercevoir un ou plusieurs cachets de la censure, très présente dans les milieux de l’édition, interdisant certains sujets, limitant les couleurs ou intervenant dans la composition même des œuvres.
Goyu, femmes accostant les voyageurs (35ème station) est la seule estampe de cette série où Hiroshige mentionne sur des bannières, dans l’angle supérieur droit, les noms du graveur, de l’imprimeur et de l’éditeur, à côté de celui du peintre, habituellement unique signataire avec l’éditeur. Dans cette œuvre, où des courtisanes tirent violemment de potentiels clients vers leurs maisons respectives, Hiroshige emploie la perspective occidentale à point unique qui permet de creuser l’espace ou de faire «surgir» les images vers le spectateur, d’où le nom d’«images coulantes» parfois employé dans l’archipel nippon pour exprimer ce phénomène.
Dans Fujikawa, scène dans les faubourgs (37ème station), les propriétaires d’une auberge s’inclinent à l’arrivée d’une procession de daimyo afin d’accueillir le seigneur censé s’arrêter dans leur établissement. A l’avant du cortège, les chevaux sont ornés de bandes de papier (gohei) souvent utilisées lors des rituels shinto et qui ont le pouvoir de protéger de tous les dangers.

Hamamatsu, scène hivernale (29ème station).

Goyu, femmes accostant les voyageurs (35ème station).

Miya (41ème station) illustre un festival qui avait lieu au sanctuaire d’Atsuta-jingū, l’un des plus sacré du Japon. On y voit deux équipes tirant des cordes attachées auxquelles sont probablement attachées des chars, invisibles dans l’estampe. Il s’agit, en réalité, d’une véritable course de chevaux dont le résultat permettait d’augurer de bonnes ou de mauvaises récoltes. Les postures quasi caricaturales des personnages ne sont pas sans rappeler certains personnages de la Manga d’Hokusai.
L’estampe intitulée Yokkaichi (43ème station) est parcourue d’une violente bourrasque : le mouvement des arbres, les silhouettes courbées des personnages – dont l’un court après son chapeau et l’autre lutte contre le vent – tout concourt à traduire la violence des éléments. La composition n’a pas de véritable centre ce qui renforce l’impression de chaos volontairement exprimée par Hiroshige.

Miya (41ème station).

Shono, pluie d’orage (46ème vue).

Pour Shōno, pluie d’orage (46ème vue), l’artiste, connu aussi sous le nom de «Maître de la pluie», a usé de tout son talent pour restituer l’intensité de l’ondée : les fines rayures obliques suggèrent la pluie et sur le fond de bambous courbés sous l’effet du vent se détachent au premier plan, des voyageurs luttant face aux éléments naturels : l’un tient un parapluie, un autre se protège d’un manteau de paille tandis que l’on a couvert un kago tenu par des porteurs. Hiroshige parvient à rendre la scène mouvante par l’inclinaison de la pluie, la posture des personnages et les multiples diagonales qui traversent sa composition. Les subtils dégradés sans contour rendent compte de la densité de ce climat humide.
Après la pluie, la neige envahit Kameyama (46ème station). Le paysage enfouit sous un épais manteau conduit l’œil en diagonale vers le château dans l’angle supérieur droit. Il paraît évident qu’Hiroshige n’a pu voir tous les relais aux différentes saisons lors de son supposé voyage de 1832. Il a probablement effectué de courts voyages sur le Tokaido mais il semble aussi avoir puisé son inspiration dans la littérature comme dans les guides de voyage, et fait preuve d’imagination en «habillant» ses paysages selon la saison évoquée.

Shono, pluie d’orage (46ème vue).

Kameyama (46ème station).

Minakuchi (50ème station) était réputé pour son artisanat de chapeaux, de blagues à tabac ou de petites boîtes, tous  confectionnés à partir de filaments de courges séchées puis tressées. L’artiste met donc ici en exergue, comme dans estampes de la série, la spécialité du lieu.
La cinquante-cinquième clôt la série avec le Sanjo-Ōhashi ou «grand pont de la 3ème avenue» qui marque le point d’arrivée à Kyoto de la route du Tokaido.
Il est à noter que le parcours du Tōkaidō, long de 480 km, exigeait environ deux semaines de voyage à pied.
La série Cinquante-trois stations du Tōkaidō-Hodogaya, aussi exposée, est une œuvre réalisée «à deux pinceaux», produite par Hiroshige avec l’artiste Utagawa Kunisada Toyokuni III (1786-1865). Si les vues qui se trouvent sur la moitié supérieure de ces estampes verticales sont dues à Hiroshige, les personnages, au premier plan, sont de la main de cet artiste, célèbre pour ses portraits d’acteurs ou ses scènes de théâtre kabuki.

Hodogaya. 53 stations du Tōkaidō. Utagawa Hiroshiga et Utagawa Kunisada Toyokuni III.

Vues célèbres du Tōkaidō. Album à reliure concertina dans son étui. ©MNAAG.

Vues célèbres du Tōkaidō.(détail).

La tradition des «guides de voyage» ou «visites aux sites célèbres» était vivace au Japon depuis le 17ème s. Ces ouvrages rassemblent textes, recommandations, cartes et images afin d’informer au mieux le voyageur. Quant aux Vues célèbres du Tōkaidō, probablement commissionné par le dernier shogun Iemochi en 1863, il s’agit d’un important album d’estampes du Tōkaidō qui réunit 166 estampes réalisées par 15 artistes différents qui figurent parmi les plus célèbres de leur temps, tels que Utagawa Kunisada (1786-1865), Utagawa Hiroshige II (1829-1869) ou Kanawabe Kyōsai (1831-1889). La fraîcheur des couleurs et la qualité d’impression font de cet ouvrage qui appartient aux collections du musée Guimet, et présenté pour la première fois au public, une œuvre exceptionnelle.
Cet album a appartenu à Victor Segalen (1878-1909), médecin de la Marine, écrivain, sinologue et archéologue. Posté en Chine de 1909 à 1914, il y a mené deux importantes expéditions archéologiques dont le musée conserve de nombreux témoignages photographiques.
Une petite exposition, présentée en marge de «Sur le route du Tōkaidō» et à l’occasion du centenaire de la disparition de Victor Segalen, rend hommage à cet homme illustre passionné et fasciné par la civilisation chinoise. La Chine constitue une source d’inspiration majeure de son œuvre littéraire et poétique. Aussi, lors de ses deux expéditions archéologiques entreprises en Chine en 1909 et en 1913, il a fait d’importantes découvertes telles que l’ensemble statuaire  de la tombe de Huo Qubing (117 av. J.C.) figurant un cheval terrassant un barbare ou le tumulus Qin Shihuangdi (209 av. J.C.).

Tumulus et groupe statuaire de la sépulture de Huo Qubing. (117 av. J.C.). Mission Victor Segalen. 1914.

Allée funéraire de Xiao Xiu (mort en 518). Excursion de Victor Segalen. 1917.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher