Reopening of the museum

Visiting the Cernuschi Museum after 9 months of work on the redevelopment of its interior is to undertake a journey through time and the arts of Asia.

China is still in the spotlight there, but also Japan as desired by Henri Cernuschi, its founder, to whom the museum pays homage by exhibiting pieces that were part of its daily environment. At the top of the stairs, the visitor is greeted by a majestic lion in gilded lacquered wood that Henri Cernuschi bought from Sarah Bernhardt at a time when the actress was in financial trouble.

Showcase illustrating the collection of Japanese art brought back by H. Cernuschi.

Tiger says "tora". Lacquered and gilded wood, inlaid eyes. Edo period. 18th c.

Vase you says "the Tigress". Bronze. 11th c. av. JC

The new route, arranged chronologically in continuity from the Neolithic to the XNUMXst century, makes room for the cultural and artistic evolution of the Middle Empire, establishing a link between the world of the past and the contemporary world.

It has also been enriched with "wide angle" displays, devoted to the cultural areas of East Asia, highlighting the exchanges between China, Vietnam, Korea and Japan with 430 works exhibited, selected from the reserves. of the museum, from these three countries.

Another novelty: the creation of a graphic arts room, which will present in rotation because of their fragility, the paintings on paper, on silk, the fans or the screens which are one of the great treasures of the museum. A touch table located nearby will allow you to discover all the works. Thematically classified, they are shown in their entirety and in detail with a developed cartel.

Showcase dedicated to Vietnamese bronzes from the Dông Són culture. Second half of the 1st millennium BC. JC

Amida Buddha. Bronze. Edo period. 18th c.

Jug. Porcelain with polychrome enamel decoration on cover, enhanced with gilding. Jajing era (1522-1567). Ming.

Objects shine thanks to new lighting. The great Buddha, stripped of its black backsplash, can now be seen from all sides. It is highlighted in the red box that now dresses the walls, a synthesis of the Asian color and that of nineteenth century museums.

A perfect success achieved with respect for the past and an openness to the world observed in the walls of the museum since its inception, which betrays neither the universalist spirit of Henri Cernuschi nor the modernization of the museum carried out in 2005.

Showcase dedicated to "blues and whites", an international vocabulary. 15th century - 17th century.

Blue reflection. Nam Kwan (1911-1990). Oil on canvas.

Youth. Ru Xiaofang. White porcelain. 2012.

Discover the new windows

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Réouverture du musée

Visiter le musée Cernuschi après 9 mois de travaux portant sur le réaménagement de son intérieur, c’est entreprendre un voyage dans le temps et les arts de l’Asie.

La Chine y est toujours à l’honneur mais aussi le Japon comme le souhaitait Henri Cernuschi, son fondateur, auquel le musée rend hommage en exposant des pièces qui faisaient partie de son environnement quotidien. En haut de l’escalier, le visiteur est accueilli par un  majestueux lion en bois laqué doré qu’Henri Cernuschi acheta à Sarah Bernhardt à un moment où l’actrice connaissait des problèmes financiers.

Vitrine illustrant la collection d’art japonais rapportée par H. Cernuschi.

Tigre dit «tora». Bois laqué et doré, yeux incrustés. Époque Edo. 18ème s.

Vase you dit «la Tigresse». Bronze. 11ème s. av. J.C.

Le nouveau parcours, agencé de façon chronologique dans la continuité depuis le néolithique jusqu’au XXIème siècle, fait une place à l’évolution culturelle et artistique de l’empire du Milieu, établissant un lien entre monde du passé et monde contemporain.

Il s’est également enrichi de vitrines «grand angle», consacrées aux aires culturelles de l’Asie Orientale, mettant en exergue les échanges intervenus entre la Chine, le Vietnam, la Corée et le Japon avec  430 œuvres exposées,  sélectionnées dans les réserves du musée , en provenance de ces trois pays.

Autre nouveauté : la création d’une salle d’arts graphiques  , qui présentera  par roulement en raison de leur fragilité, les peintures sur papier, sur soie, les  éventails ou les  paravents qui sont une des grandes richesses du musée. Une table tactile située à proximité permettra de découvrir l’ensemble des œuvres. Classées thématiquement, elles sont montrées dans leur intégralité et en détail avec un cartel développé.

Vitrine consacrée aux bronzes vietnamiens de la culture de Dông Són. Seconde moitié du 1er millénaire av. J.C.

Bouddha Amida. Bronze. Époque Edo. 18ème s.

Verseuse. Porcelaine à décor d‘émaux polychromes sur couverte, rehaussé de dorure. Ère Jajing (1522-1567). Ming.

Les objets resplendissent grâce à un nouvel éclairage. Le grand Bouddha débarrassé de son dosseret noir, peut désormais être contemplé sous toutes ses faces. Il est  mis en valeur dans l’écrin de couleur rouge qui habille désormais les murs, synthèse de la couleur asiatique et de celle des musées du XIXe siècle

Une parfaite réussite accomplie dans le respect du passé et d’une ouverture sur le monde observé dans les murs du musée depuis son origine, qui ne  trahit ni  l’esprit universaliste d’Henri Cernuschi ni la modernisation du musée réalisée en 2005.

Vitrine consacrée aux «bleus et blancs», un vocabulaire international. 15ème s – 17ème s.

 Reflet bleu. Nam Kwan (1911-1990). Huile sur toile.

Jeunesse. Ru Xiaofang. Porcelaine blanche. 2012.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher