Mandalay, the swan song of the Burmese kingdom

Wednesday September 27, 2017: Mandalay, the swan song of the Burmese kingdom, lecture by Pierre Baptiste, curator general at the Guimet National Museum of Asian Arts, in charge of the arts of Southeast Asia.

The name of Mandalay, which was the last capital of the Burmese kings, between 1860 and 1885, evokes the poem of R. Kipling but also the conflictual relations between Western and Eastern cultures.

MNAA-Guimet has a small collection of quality old prints that have been restored and will be presented in a photo exhibition on Burma.

This city has a rather loose orthogonal urban layout that connects it to the traditions of other major capitals of mainland Southeast Asia. The royal palace of square plan, divided into blocks, surrounded by ramparts and moat was in the center of the city arranged in square around, at the foot of the hill Mandalay Hill. If, in Mandalay, the wooden architecture has totally disappeared or almost following the many fires, the old images refer to a disposition close to the royal cities of Angkor, Sukhothai, Ayutthaya or Bangkok.
The province of Upper Burma stretches from north to south, along the Irawady and Mandalay is born in 19rd century a bit by force of circumstances: in the 17thrd The Taungu dynasty had to abandon Lower Burma because of the growing presence of the Portuguese who will be replaced, from 18rd by the English who seek to expand their colonies and had already nibbled almost the entire Indian subcontinent.

The last Konbaung dynasty that will reign over Burma for a hundred years has at its head extremely strong men that the current nationalism puts a lot of emphasis. The founder of the dynasty, Alaungpaya, was a very great soldier who, from one province, would conquer the neighboring territories and establish his authority over the whole of Burma. His sons will continue the expansion policy and the second son, Hsinbyushin will sack Ayutthaya and repel Chinese invasion attempts.

DYNASTY KONBAUNG

 

No Title Uppercase letters Kinship Reign Notes
1 Alaungpaya Shwebo Village chief 1752 – 1760 Founder of the dynasty and 3e Burmese Empire; invades Ayutthaya
2 Naungdawgyi Sagaing matching tread 1760 – 1763 Invades Ayutthaya with his father
3

 

Hsinbyushin

Ava (Innwa) Brother 1763 – 1776 Prit and devastated Ayutthaya, invaded Chiang Mai and Laos, invaded Manipur, repelled 4 Chinese invasions (1765-1769)
4 Singu Min Ava (Innwa) matching tread 1776 – 1782 Defeat the Lanna
5 Phaungkaza Maung Maung Ava (Innwa) Cousin (son of Naungdawgyi) 1782 The shortest reign: one week
6 Bodawpaya Amarapura Uncle (son of Alaungpaya) 1782 – 1819 Annexed the Arakan, attacked Ayutthaya
7 Bagyidaw Amarapura then Ava from 1823 Grandson 1819 – 1837 Participated in the 2e Expedition of his grandfather against Ayutthaya, invades Assam and Manipur, was defeated during the First Anglo-Burmese War
8 Tharrawady Min Ava then Amarapura from 1841 Brother 1837 – 1846 Rejected the Treaty of Yandabo
9 Pagan Min Amarapura matching tread 1846 – 1853 Reversed by Mindon after his defeat in the Second Anglo-Burmese War
10 Mindon Min Amarapura then Mandalay from 1860 Step brother 1853 – 1878 Concludes peace with the British, narrowly escaped a palace revolution led by two of his sons (his brother, Prince Ka Naung was killed)
11 Thibaw Min Mandalay Hill, matching tread 1878 – 1885 Last king of Burma, forced into abdication and exile in India after his defeat in the Third Anglo-Burmese War

When taking Ayutthaya, if there was looting, the Burmese also bring back artists who will bring the know-how and Siamese style thus influencing Burmese fashions and tastes.
The penultimate king, Mindon Min, will create a new capital and, despite a small kingdom since the English occupy the south of the country from Rangoon (Yangon), will restore some luster to the dynasty.
During the Konbaung dynasty, the capital changed several times for religious, political or strategic reasons. During these changes, all the palaces were dismantled and transported on elephant backs to the chosen site.

Map of different successive capitals.

Reception of Michael Symes at the royal palace of Amarapura. An account of an embassy to the kingdom of the Governor-General of India in the year 1795. London. 1800.

We get an idea of ​​the royal city of Amarapura thanks to the descriptions and engravings of the English who sent a number of trade embassies. An engraving from 1800 shows the great throne room of Amarapura supported by a forest of columns: the royal throne is at the back and the dignitaries of the court are seated on the ground on either side of the central axis.
Mindon Min will disassemble the Amarapura Palace to transport it to the site of Mandalay, the new capital. The royal city was officially named Yadanabon, Burmese version of his name Pali Ratanapura, meaning "the City of Jewels". Old engravings or photographs show that the city is centered around the royal palace of square plan, surrounded by walls and moats. But if the plan is Hippodamian, the wooden buildings on stilts are built along the streets, in the middle of gardens, thus not giving the impression of a dense city. We can see this today by visiting the royal palace which has been recreated on the old model, although there are less constructions. This reconstruction is perhaps not very archaeologically correct but is justified for the Burmese because Mandalay is the strong symbol of a capital which resisted the British. All the wooden architecture has been reconstructed according to the old models but there remains an old element which was transported to the Shwe-Kyaung monastery by the son and successor of Mindon Min. It is regrettable, however, that all the roofs are made of corrugated iron painted red.

Panoramic view of the royal palace and the city of Mandalay in 1896.

Shwe-Kyaung Monastery.

The corner pavilions of the enclosure, which are sanctuary towers (prasat), have an elevated architecture to evoke Mount Meru, residence of the gods. This system of repeated structures in layers superimposed reduction takes the architecture of all the great sanctuaries of the Indian world and Southeast Asia. In Burma, from the 18rd s., the architects have tended to schematize the forms, giving a certain stiffness to the whole which is however compensated by a multitude of carved ornaments. The doors of the enclosure are white in style, common to many buildings in Southeast Asia, on which is raised a pavilion. There are traces of all this architecture through illuminated manuscripts that the members of the court had done for their own pleasure and whose MNNA-Guimet has copies. We have more or less schematic plans of the royal palace dating from the end of 19rd s. raised by the British.
The palace itself was built on a terrace and each building had a specific function. The easternmost room was the main courtroom, but there were seven more.

 

Portrait of King Mindon Min.

Painting showing the surroundings of the royal palace of Mandalay.

View of the moat of the royal palace of Mandalay.

Like at the Forbidden City or the Royal Palace in Bangkok, there are rooms that hardly ever serve and the main courtroom was only used three times a year. From the illuminated manuscripts, we can see that the approach to the palace was made through several wooden palisades and an enclosure. Depending on their rank, palanquins or mounts were abandoned in these spaces to finish on foot and bow down to the king. The roof of the main audience hall is the highest in the palace but also in the city; it symbolizes the axis of the world, Mount Méru, residence of Indra, kings of the gods. All ancillary buildings were located behind and around them, with circulation under covered galleries. English engravings describing the royal palace of Ava or that of Amarapura clearly show that the same palace has been dismantled and reassembled in the different capitals over the years.
In Burma, the throne is a door that opens onto a stepped pedestal, also evoking Mount Meru, on which the sovereign sits on a mat. Access was via a staircase at the back. The king thus appeared in a very elevated position as in Ayutthaya during the reception by the king of Siam of the French ambassadors who remained very impressed. Of the eight thrones that were in the royal palace in Mandalay, only the lion throne was saved. Taken to Calcutta by the English, it was returned during the independence of India and is located in Yangon. The rich sculpted decoration is very inspired by the Indian vocabulary: devatas, apsaras, lotus flowers, etc.
All court ceremonial is governed by very strict protocol. A notebook in the Victoria and Albert Museum illustrates the costumes and distinctive objects of the Burmese nobility. The dignitaries sit on a pedestal or on a mat, they are entitled to a parasol or not, and in front of them are exposed their attributes: weapon, betel kit, vases, etc., their number being governed by the protocol according to of the row.

Painting showing a royal audience in the throne room of Mye Nan Phyatthat Royal Palace in Mandalay. Saya Chone, painter of the court.

The lion's throne from Mandalay. Golden lacquered wood with inlaid jewels. National Museum Yangon.

Princely character. Notebook presenting the costumes and distinctive objects of the Burmese nobility. Ink and watercolor on paper. 1860. © Victoria & Albert Museum.

The cultural tradition of offering betel is still very strong in Burma and this custom still allows for a certain conviviality. There is a whole set of containers or instruments to hold, cut, grind or grate and mix the betel leaves, the areknut and the slaked lime. These kits, often made of precious metals, are a testament to the owner's status and wealth.
Some court costumes have also been preserved in England, and we see that the clothes are much more covering than those of Siam at the same time, and that the use of silk velvet is combined with silk brocades and embroidery. Some very rich and heavy costumes, embroidered with silver thread and glassware, were worn only once a year during the royal reception. Their form is not without evoking the costumes of devatas and the "flying" should give the impression that the person was flying on clouds.

Betel box. Gold inlaid and set with precious stones. Around 1860. © Victoria & Albert Museum.

Photo of Prince Yawnghwe and his wife. @Dr Susan Conway.

Lady of the court dress, silk velvet, silk and gold brocade, pearl and precious stone embroidery. Around 1860. © Victoria & Albert Museum

Dancer hairstyle. Wood, lacquer, gilded metal, inlays of glass beads. 19th c. © Victoria & Albert Museum.

The regalia included a whole set of objects: thrones, crowns, the largest, richest and most complete betel kit, vases and vessels of various shapes in precious metals inlaid with precious stones, richly decorated weapons . Parasols and screens (fans?) Which are the royal symbols par excellence whose use could date back to ancient times as can be seen on Angkorian reliefs. All this is still relevant at the court of Thailand or that of Kampuchea during coronation ceremonies. A set of objects from the Burmese regalia are still visible in the Yangon museum as well as some furniture.

If the royal palace can be evoked by its reconstruction, the city of today, even if it follows the original plan, resembles all the cities of Asia with a great density of constructions.

 

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Mandalay, le chant du cygne du royaume birman

Mercredi 27 septembre 2017 : Mandalay, le chant du cygne du royaume birman, conférence par Pierre Baptiste, conservateur général au musée national des arts asiatiques-Guimet, en charge des arts de l’Asie du Sud-Est.

Le nom de Mandalay qui fut la dernière capitale des rois birmans, entre 1860 et 1885, évoque le poème de R. Kipling mais aussi les relations conflictuelles entre les cultures occidentales et orientales.

Le MNAA-Guimet possède une petite collection de tirages anciens de qualité qui ont fait l’objet de restauration et qui seront présentés dans une exposition de photographies sur la Birmanie.

Cette ville possède un tracé urbain orthogonal assez lâche qui la relie aux traditions des autres grandes capitales d’Asie du Sud-Est continentale. Le palais royal de plan carré, divisé en blocs, entouré de remparts et de douves était au centre de la ville disposée en carré tout autour, au pied de la colline Mandalay Hill. Si, à Mandalay, l’architecture en bois a totalement disparu ou presque suite aux nombreux incendies, les images anciennes renvoient à une disposition proche des cités royales d’Angkor, de Sukhothai, d’Ayutthaya ou de Bangkok.
La province de Haute-Birmanie s’étire du Nord au Sud, le long de l’Irawady et Mandalay naît au 19ème siècle un peu par la force des choses : au 17ème s., la dynastie Taungû avait dû abandonner la Basse-Birmanie à cause de la présence croissante des Portugais qui seront remplacés, à partir du 18ème s., par les Anglais qui cherchent à étendre leurs colonies et avaient déjà grignoté la presque totalité du sous-continent indien.

La dernière dynastie Konbaung qui va régner sur la Birmanie pendant une centaine d’année a à sa tête des hommes extrêmement forts que le nationalisme actuel met beaucoup en exergue. Le fondateur de la dynastie, Alaungpaya, fut un très grand militaire qui, à partir d’une province, va conquérir les territoires voisins et établir son autorité sur l’ensemble de la Birmanie. Ses fils vont poursuivre la politique d’expansion et le deuxième fils, Hsinbyushin va mettre à sac Ayutthaya et repousser des tentatives d’invasion chinoise.

DYNASTIE KONBAUNG

 

NoTitreCapitalesParentéRègneNotes
1AlaungpayaShweboChef de village1752-1760Fondateur de la dynastie et du 3e Empire Birman ; envahit Ayutthaya
2NaungdawgyiSagaingFils1760-1763Envahit Ayutthaya avec son père
3

 

Hsinbyushin

Ava (Innwa)Frère1763-1776Prit et dévasta Ayutthaya, envahit Chiang Mai et le Laos, envahit Manipur, repoussa 4 invasions chinoises (1765-1769)
4Singu MinAva (Innwa)Fils1776-1782Perdit le Lanna
5Phaungkaza Maung MaungAva (Innwa)Cousin (fils de Naungdawgyi)1782Le règne le plus court : une semaine
6BodawpayaAmarapuraOncle (fils d’Alaungpaya)1782-1819Annexa l’Arakan, attaqua Ayutthaya
7BagyidawAmarapura puis Ava à partir de 1823Petit-fils1819-1837Participa à la 2e expédition de son grand-père contre Ayutthaya, envahit l’Assam et Manipur, fut vaincu lors de la Première guerre anglo-birmane
8Tharrawady MinAva puis Amarapura à partir de 1841Frère1837-1846Rejeta le traité de Yandabo
9Pagan MinAmarapuraFils1846-1853Renversé par Mindon après sa défaite dans la Deuxième guerre anglo-birmane
10Mindon MinAmarapura puis Mandalay à partir de 1860Demi-frère1853-1878Conclut la paix avec les Britanniques, échappa de justesse à une révolution de palais menée par deux de ses fils (son frère, le prince royal Ka Naung fut tué)
11Thibaw MinMandalayFils1878-1885Dernier roi de Birmanie, contraint à l’abdication et à l’exil en Inde après sa défaite lors de la Troisième guerre anglo-birmane

Lors de la prise d’Ayutthaya, s’il y eut pillage, les Birmans ramènent aussi des artistes qui vont apporter le savoir-faire et le style siamois influençant ainsi les modes et le goût birmans.
L’avant-dernier roi, Mindon Min, va créer une nouvelle capitale et, malgré un royaume réduit puisque les Anglais occupent le Sud du pays depuis Rangoon (Yangon), va redonner un certain lustre à la dynastie.
Sous la dynastie Konbaung, la capitale changea plusieurs fois pour des raisons religieuses, politiques ou stratégiques. Au cours de ces changements, l’ensemble des palais était démonté et transporté à dos d’éléphants sur le site choisi.

Carte des différentes capitales successives.

Réception de Michael Symes au palais royal d’Amarapura. An account of an embassy to the kingdom of Ava sent by the Governor-General of India in the year 1795. Londres. 1800.

Nous avons une idée de la ville royale d’Amarapura grâce aux descriptions et gravures des Anglais qui ont envoyé un certain nombre d’ambassades commerciales. Une gravure de 1800 montre la grande salle du trône d’Amarapura supportée par une forêt de colonnes : le trône royal se situe au fond et les dignitaires de la cour sont assis par terre de part et d’autre de l’axe central.
Mindon Min va faire démonter le palais d’Amarapura pour le transporter sur le site de Mandalay, la nouvelle capitale. La ville royale fut officiellement nommée Yadanabon, version birmane de son nom pâli Ratanapura, signifiant « la Cité des joyaux ». Des gravures ou des photographies anciennes montrent que la ville est centrée autour du palais royal de plan carré, entouré de murailles et de douves. Mais si le plan est hippodamien, les bâtiments en bois sur pilotis sont construits le long des rues, au milieu de jardins, ne donnant pas ainsi une impression de ville dense. On peut s’en rendre compte aujourd’hui en visitant le palais royal qui a été recréé sur l’ancien modèle, même s’il y a moins de constructions. Cette reconstitution n’est peut-être pas archéologiquement très juste mais se justifie pour les Birmans car Mandalay est le symbole fort d’une capitale qui a résisté aux Britanniques. Toute l’architecture de bois a été reconstruite d’après les modèles anciens mais il reste un élément ancien qui a été transporté dans le monastère Shwe-Kyaung par le fils et successeur de Mindon Min. On peut cependant regretter que toutes les toitures soient en tôle ondulée peinte en rouge.

Vue panoramique du palais royal et de la ville de Mandalay en 1896.

Monastère Shwe-Kyaung.

Les pavillons d’angle de l’enceinte, qui sont des tours sanctuaires (prasat), ont une architecture surélevée pour évoquer le Mont Méru, résidence des dieux. Ce système de structures répétées en étages superposés en réduction reprend l’architecture de tous les grands sanctuaires du monde indien et du Sud-Est asiatique. En Birmanie, depuis le 18ème s., les architectes ont eu tendance à schématiser les formes, donnant une certaine raideur à l’ensemble qui est cependant compensée par une multitude d’ornements sculptés. Les portes de l’enceinte présentent une modénature blanche, commune à beaucoup de constructions d’Asie du Sud-Est, sur laquelle est élevé un pavillon. On a des traces de toute cette architecture grâce à des manuscrits enluminés que les membres de la cour faisaient faire pour leur propre plaisir et dont le MNNA-Guimet possède des exemplaires. On a des plans plus ou moins schématiques du palais royal datant de la fin du 19ème s. relevés par les Britanniques.
Le palais proprement dit était construit sur une terrasse et chaque bâtiment avait une fonction précise. La salle, la plus à l’Est, était la salle d’audience principale mais il y en avait sept autres.

 

Portrait du roi Mindon Min.

Peinture montrant les abords du palais royal de Mandalay.

Vue des douves du palais royal de Mandalay.

Comme à la Cité interdite ou au palais royal de Bangkok, il y a des salles qui ne servent presque jamais et la salle d’audience principale n’était utilisée que trois fois par an. D’après les manuscrits enluminés, on peut voir que l’approche du palais se faisait en passant plusieurs palissades de bois et une enceinte. Selon son rang, on abandonnait palanquin ou monture dans ces espaces pour terminer à pieds et se prosterner devant le roi. La toiture de la salle d’audience principale est la plus haute du palais mais aussi de la ville ; elle symbolise l’axe du monde, le mont Méru, séjour d’Indra, rois des dieux. Toutes les constructions annexes étaient situées à l’arrière et autour, la circulation se faisant sous des galeries couvertes. Des gravures anglaises décrivant le palais royal d’Ava ou celui d’Amarapura montrent bien que le même palais a été démonté et remonté dans les différentes capitales au cours des ans.
En Birmanie, le trône est une porte qui ouvre sur un piédestal redenté, évoquant lui aussi le mont Meru, sur lequel le souverain s’assoie sur une natte. L’accès se faisait par un escalier à l’arrière. Le roi apparaissait ainsi en position très surélevée comme à Ayutthaya lors de la réception par le roi du Siam des ambassadeurs français qui en sont restés très impressionnés. Des huit trônes qui se trouvaient dans le palais royal de Mandalay, seul, le trône du lion a été sauvé. Emmené à Calcutta par les Anglais, il a été rendu lors de l’indépendance de l’Inde et se trouve à Yangon. Le riche décor sculpté est très inspiré du vocabulaire indien : devatas, apsaras, fleurs de lotus, etc.
Tout le cérémonial de la cour est régi par un protocole très stricte. Un carnet conservé au Victoria and Albert Museum illustre les costumes et les objets distinctifs de la noblesse birmane. Les dignitaires s’assoient sur un piédestal ou sur une natte, ils ont droit à un parasol ou pas, et devant eux sont exposés leurs attributs : arme, nécessaire à bétel, vases, etc., leur nombre étant régi par le protocole en fonction du rang.

Peinture montrant une audience royale dans la salle du trône du palais royal Mye Nan Phyatthat de Mandalay. Saya Chone, peintre de la cour.

Le trône du lion provenant de Mandalay. Bois laqué doré avec incrustations de pierreries. National Museum Yangon.

Personnage princier. Carnet présentant les costumes et objets distinctifs de la noblesse birmane. Encre et aquarelle sur papier. 1860.©Victoria & Albert Museum.

La tradition culturelle d’offrir du bétel est encore très vive en Birmanie et cette coutume permet toujours une certaine convivialité. Il y a tout un ensemble de récipients ou d’instruments pour contenir, couper, broyer ou râper et mélanger les feuilles de bétel, la noix d’arek et la chaux éteinte. Ces nécessaires, souvent en métaux précieux, sont un témoignage du statut et de la richesse du propriétaire.
Quelques costumes de cour ont aussi été conservés en Angleterre et on voit que les vêtements sont beaucoup plus couvrants que ceux du Siam à la même époque et que l’utilisation du velours de soie se combine aux brocards de soie et aux broderies. Certains costumes très riches et très lourds, brodés de fils d’argent et de verroteries, n’étaient portés qu’une fois par an lors de la réception royale. Leur forme n’est pas sans évoquer les costumes des devatas et les «volants» devaient donner l’impression que la personne volait sur des nuages.

Boîte à bétel. Or incrusté et serti de pierres précieuses. Vers 1860. ©Victoria&Albert Museum.

Photo du Prince Yawnghwe et de son épouse. @Dr Susan Conway.

Robe de dame de la cour, velours de soie, brocart de soie et d’or, broderies de perles et de pierres précieuses. Vers 1860. ©Victoria&Albert Museum

Coiffure de danseur. Bois, laque, métal doré, incrustations de verroteries. 19ème s. ©Victoria&Albert Museum.

La régalia comportait tout un ensemble d’objets : les trônes, les couronnes, le nécessaire à bétel le plus grand, le plus riche et le plus complet, des vases et récipients de formes diverses en métaux précieux incrustés de pierreries, des armes richement ornées. Des parasols et des écrans (éventails ?) qui sont les symboles royaux par excellence dont l’usage pourraient remonter aux temps anciens comme on peut le voir sur des reliefs angkoriens. Tout cela est encore d’actualité à la cour de Thaïlande ou celle du Kampuchéa lors des cérémonies de couronnement. Un ensemble d’objets de la régalia birmane sont encore visibles au musée de Yangon ainsi que quelques meubles.

Si le palais royal peut être évoqué par sa reconstruction, la ville d’aujourd’hui, même si elle suit le plan original, ressemble à toutes les villes d’Asie avec une grande densité de constructions.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher