The Bronze Drums of Southeast Asia

Lecture by Jacques de Guerny, economist, associate professor at HEC and member of the Asian Society, Institut de France.

The Bronze Age spawned revolutionary innovations. Among them, the bronze drums, more solid and more sonorous than their predecessors in wood and skin, ensuring their owners a prestige even in their graves, even beyond for believers.

On their sound stage or on their cylindrical base, these drums were engraved with decorations subject to interpretation but always admirable, for example those of totemic frogs to govern the rain. In doing so, men gave the drums new missions: not only to create sounds to attract the attention of the Spirits or to impress the enemy, but also, from the steppes to the tropics, to recall through their sculptures daily life and crucial values.

The Odyssey of the Bronze Drums has lasted XNUMX years to the present day, and their rites have affected immense peoples and territories, from present-day China and Vietnam to the islands of Indonesia, including all of them. 'Indochina. Jacques de Guerny relates them in a passionate way, in clear terms with supporting photos after having visited each country concerned, meeting the practicing populations and the best specialists.

Without a doubt, the bronze drums of Southeast Asia are part of the treasures of humanity, as already attested by the largest museums in the world and the growing number of informed amateurs.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Les Tambours de bronze de l’Asie du Sud-Est

Conférence par Jacques de Guerny, économiste, professeur associé à HEC et membre de la Société Asiatique, Institut de France.

L’âge du bronze engendra des innovations révolutionnaires. Parmi elles, les tambours de bronze, plus solides et plus sonores que leurs prédécesseurs en bois et en peau, assurant à leurs possesseurs un prestige jusque dans leurs tombes, voire au-delà pour les croyants.

Sur leur plateau sonore ou sur leur base cylindrique, ces tambours furent gravés de décorations sujettes à interprétations mais toujours admirables, par exemple celles de grenouilles totémiques pour gouverner la pluie. Ce faisant, les hommes donnèrent aux tambours de nouvelles missions : non seulement créer des sons pour attirer l’attention des Esprits ou impressionner l’ennemi, mais aussi, des steppes aux tropiques, remémorer par leurs sculptures la vie quotidienne et des valeurs cruciales.

L’odyssée des tambours de bronze a duré deux mille cinq cents ans, jusqu’à nos jours, et leurs rites ont affecté des peuples et des territoires immenses, de la Chine et du Vietnam actuels aux îles de l’Indonésie, incluant toute l’Indochine. Jacques de Guerny les relate de manière passionnée, en des termes clairs avec des photos à l’appui après avoir visité chaque pays concerné, rencontrant les populations pratiquantes et les meilleurs spécialistes.

Sans nul doute, les tambours de bronze de l’Asie du sud-est font partie des trésors de l’humanité, comme en attestent déjà les plus grands musées du monde et le nombre croissant d’amateurs avertis.

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher