Earth, Fire, Spirit

Wednesday June 1, 2016: Earth, Fire, Spirit at the Grand Palais, visit conference by Sylvie Ahmadian, lecturer, attached to the Cernuschi museum and the Guimet museum.

 

Period of the Three Kingdoms

Chair 57 BC JC - 672
Goguryeo 37 BC JC - 668
Baekje 18 BC JC - 660
Unification period by the Grand Silla 672-935
Balhae / Bohai North 699-926
Goryeo 918-1392
Joseon 1392-1910
Japanese occupation 1910-1945
US military government 1945-1948
Partition of Korea Republic of Korea Since 15.8.1948
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Since 9.9.1948

Ceramics is a major and emblematic field of Korean civilization, even if it has long been unknown in the West, because the country has closed from the 16st century until 1880. Charles Varat made a diplomatic mission in 1888 in Korea, of which he brought back an important set of ceramics. Then Victor Collin de Plancy, First Consul of France in Korea, at the end of 19st century, reported 260 ceramic pieces that were divided between the collections of the museum of Sevres and Guimet museum. Subsequently, thanks to the world exhibitions, including that of 1900 which Korea participated for the first time, Korean ceramics will be collected by Asian art lovers.
The exhibition has the merit of traversing the entire history of ceramics from the time of the Three Kingdoms to contemporary ceramics in a chronological way. Some pieces have been loaned by the National Museum of Korea including some national treasures.
The ceramics of Goguryeo have reached us in small numbers and they are often sandstone devoid of decoration or decorated with embossed decoration.

8

Funeral urns with embossed decoration. Sandstone. H. 39,6cm and 24,8 cm. Silla unified. End of the 7th century. National Museum of Korea.

7

Funeral urn with embossed decoration. Sandstone. H. 39cm. Silla unified. National Museum of Korea.

10-1

Jug in the shape of a horse with his rider. Sandstone. H. 26,8cm. Silla. 5eme-6th s. National Treasure No. 91. National Museum of Korea.

In the kingdom of Baekje, the sandstones are light in color, without decoration and their standardized shapes suggest that they were mass produced. Some spherical bowls have the particularity of having lids that adapt perfectly to the body (the dough is mounted to form a sphere which is then cut horizontally with a wire or with a knife; in order to ensure a fit Precisely, the bowl was, before cutting, marked with a still visible vertical line.Some stoneware has been polished to give them a glossy black appearance imitating lacquer, a luxury product often imported from China.
The sandstone of the Silla Kingdom often has an animal decoration, dragons, turtles, starfish, crayfish (the latter had to be associated with the shamanism very present in Korea because they have the possibility of regenerating an amputated part which, in the eyes of the Koreans , symbolized the rebirth in the Hereafter). The deceased were accompanied by funeral furniture which included for the richest graves large rounded jars that were placed on cylindrical pedestals, perforated with triangular or rectangular openings and decorated with streaks or wavy lines. The arrival of Buddhism in the peninsula during the 6st century introduced the cremation that was to prevail in the kingdom of Silla. The ashes of the deceased were placed in urns which were then buried. While some commonly used vessels were used, more elaborate parts were specifically made for this purpose. These funeral urns in sandstone had a stamped decoration and small handles allowed to seal the lid with the help of cords or metallic threads. Sometimes a small urn was placed inside a larger one, also sealed. The Kingdom of Silla has produced ceramics of human or animal form often affixed to other pieces. The animal repertoire is very diversified and if the forms are simple, the most characteristic features are accurately reproduced. These animals carry longevity vows (turtles), fertility (rabbits, fish) or happy rebirth in the Pure Land (ducks). A horse-shaped jug and its rider (national treasure) is remarkable for the details of the Lord's costume and for all the harnessing elements that correspond to actual pieces found in tombs.
The era of the unified Silla sees the appearance of glazed stoneware urns with a very refined decoration strongly influenced by Tang ceramics.

13

Kundika bottle decorated with peonies and chrysanthemums. Celadon with inlaid decoration. H. 34cm. Goryeo. 12eme-13th s. National Museum of Korea.

12

Ewer shaped bamboo and its basin. Celadon. H. 21,6cm. Goryeo. 12th s. National Museum of Korea.

15

In the form of a Taoist immortal jug. Celadon. H. 28cm. Goryeo. 12th s. National Treasure No. 167. National Museum of Korea.

17

Maebyeong vase decorated with bamboos and cranes. Celadon with inlaid decoration. H. 33cm. Goryeo. 12eme-13th s. National Museum of Korea.

The Goryeo dynasty is known worldwide for the beauty of its celadons whose technique, developed in China, takes off from the 10st century in the Korean peninsula. Cooking (1250 °) in reduction of these sandstones allows that the glaze based on ferric oxides gives this characteristic color ranging from blue-green to green depending on the hazards of the cooking and the characteristics of the oven. Whether in China or Korea, potters have always sought to replicate the color and texture of jade. Some parts have a fine network of cracking caused by cooling, cracks that were also very popular in China.
The first Korean celadons are very similar to those of the Song Dynasty. Korean potters, however, draw their inspiration from the animal world (ducks, fish) and vegetable (bamboos, gourds, melons, lotus) to shape bowls, buckets, jugs, perfume burners, etc. The techniques for decoration are very varied (incision, modeling, openwork, painted motifs under cover, decor engobe) but the inlay remains the most widespread method and has been brought to a degree of perfection by Korean artisans. First drawn in the dough, then hollowed out, the pattern is then filled with an ocher or white clay. The cooking of these celadons with inlaid decoration requires a perfect knowledge of the properties of the clay used and the control of the cooking process. Some jugs are real sculptures affecting the shape of fantastic animals and even a Taoist immortal. Some vases maebyeong have a very free decor that comes under painting or calligraphy. One bottle, in particular, has the particularity of having an underglazed iron-brown willow decoration and this one, of celadon color (reductive cooking) at the base, changes to light brown (oxidation cooking) on ​​the upper body. Celadons were particularly reserved for the courtyard, the temples, the monasteries (hence the presence of the forms of kundika Buddhist and burn-perfume) and the literati. Only at the end of the dynasty did the use of celadon spread to the upper classes of society.

18

Bottle with willow decoration with brown iron under cover. Celadon. H. 31,4cm. Goryeo. 13th s. National Treasure No. 113. National Museum of Korea.

24

Bottle with wave pattern and fish encrusted. Buncheong. H. 29,2cm. Joseon. 15th s. National Museum of Korea.

26

Bottle-shaped flask with incised fish pattern. Buncheong. H. 20,3cm. Joseon. 15th s. National Museum of Korea.

27

Bottle with floral scroll motif in brown iron under cover. Buncheong. H. 29,8cm. Joseon. 16th s. National Museum of Korea.

Ceramic type buncheong (Powdered celadon) which is also typically Korean and appears under the Joseon Dynasty will only be in vogue for two centuries. It is coal gray sandstone covered with a thick white slip. The decoration could be incised, encrusted or traced under cover of brown iron. In the first period when the buncheong Inlaid or embossed decoration was part of the royal service, the style was directly inspired by the shapes and decorations of celadon. In the case of buncheong a late one that was no longer reserved for the court, the forms are more rudimentary, the decor is more original and expressive, often full of humor and sometimes abstract.
If the soft white porcelain appears already under the Goryeo dynasty and the beginning of the Joseon dynasty, it will be replaced from the 16st century by hard porcelain, baked at high temperature (1300 ° C or higher). These soft porcelains often have a decoration inlaid with clay and their color is off-white.

32

Jar. White porcelain. H. 25cm. Joseon. 15eme -16th s. National Museum of Korea.

34

Vase with pattern of magpie, tiger and pines. Porcelain "blue and white". H. 42cm. Joseon. 18eme-19th s. Gyeonju National Museum.

33

Vase with pattern of grapes and monkey. Porcelain decorated in cobalt blue and under-covered iron brown. H. 32,4 cm. Joseon. 18th s. National Museum of Korea.

23

Bottle with orchid pattern. Porcelain "blue and white". H. 41,1cm. Joseon. 18th s. National Museum of Korea.

At the start of the Joseon Dynasty, Confucianism became the state religion and Buddhism was outlawed. The white porcelain, without decoration, suited perfectly to the rigor which was required at court and, for the literati, it embodied the spirit and the soul of neo-Confucianism. Over time, patterns appeared, painted in cobalt blue, iron brown or copper red under glaze. If the first “blue and white” porcelains were reserved for the royal court due to the exorbitant price of cobalt blue, over time, scholars and then wealthy members of society had access to them.
One of the most common motifs in the “blue and white” tradition was that of the “Four Noble Plants”: plum blossoms, chrysanthemums, orchids and bamboo. Following the symbols dear to the literati, we saw the appearance of other motifs such as popular images or the ten symbols of longevity. After the Japanese invasions (1592-1598) and the second Manchu invasion (1636-1637), new forms in white porcelain were created such as the moon jar, a large spherical jar, without decoration and rarely perfect in shape. These jars were reserved for the royal court.

40

Vase with cloud pattern and dragon. Porcelain "blue and white". H. 59,3cm. Joseon. 18th s. National Museum of Korea.

41

Bowl with lid with subok motif. Porcelain "blue and white". H. 16,5cm. Joseon. V. 1840. National Museum of Korea.

42

Bottle with fish and duck motif. "Blue and white" porcelain. H. 23,4cm. Joseon. 19th c. National Museum of Korea.

In 18st century, the culture of Joseon was particularly impregnated by the taste for beauty of the literati and we see the appearance of landscapes, characters, animals as well as poems, often interpreted in a very free style, close to painting. The "blue and white" of the 19st century are characterized by a very bright cover, a more popular decor and a choice of more free and original compositions. The democratization of porcelain, due to the importation of a blue pigment made in Beijing, allows the creation of real services with the same decor. A particularly appreciated motif was the subok, a sinogram combining longevity and prosperity in the sigillary style.

Today, still, the art of ceramics is still very much alive in Korea and the forms, the classical styles are constantly revisited and reinterpreted by the artists.

44

Peach-shaped water jug ​​enhanced with cobalt blue and copper red. White porcelain. H. 12,4cm. Joseon. 19th s. National Museum of Korea.

49

Moon jar. White porcelain. H. 41cm. Joseon 18th s. National Museum of Korea.

51

Park Youngsook. Moon jar. White clay and color. 2010. H. 52cm. Private collection.

 

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

La Terre, le Feu, l’Esprit

Mercredi 1er juin 2016 : La Terre, le Feu, l’Esprit au Grand Palais, visite conférence par Sylvie Ahmadian, conférencière, attachée au musée Cernuschi et au musée Guimet.

 

Période des Trois royaumes

Silla57 av. J.C. – 672
Goguryeo37 av. J.C. – 668
Baekje18 av. J.C. – 660
Période d’unification par le Grand Silla672 – 935
Balhae/Bohai au Nord699 – 926
Goryeo918 – 1392
Joseon1392 – 1910
Occupation japonaise1910 -1945
Gouvernement militaire américain1945-1948
Partition de la CoréeRépublique de CoréeDepuis 15.8.1948
République Populaire Démocratique de CoréeDepuis 9.9.1948

La céramique est un domaine majeur et emblématique de la civilisation coréenne, même si elle a été longtemps méconnue en Occident, ceci, parce que le pays s’est fermé à partir du 16ème siècle jusqu’en 1880. Charles Varat a fait une mission diplomatique en 1888 en Corée dont il a rapporté un ensemble important de céramiques. Puis Victor Collin de Plancy, premier consul de France en Corée, à la fin du 19ème siècle, a rapporté 260 pièces de céramique qui ont été divisées entre les collections du musée de Sèvres et du musée Guimet. Par la suite, grâce aux expositions universelles, notamment celle de 1900 à laquelle la Corée a participé pour la première fois, la céramique coréenne va être collectionnée par les amateurs d’art asiatique.
L’exposition a le mérite de parcourir toute l’histoire de la céramique depuis l’époque des Trois Royaumes jusqu’à la céramique contemporaine d’une façon chronologique. Quelques pièces ont été prêtées par le musée national de Corée dont certains trésors nationaux.
Les céramiques de Goguryeo nous sont parvenues en petit nombre et ce sont souvent des grès dépourvus de décor ou ornés d’un décor estampé.

8

Urnes funéraires à décor estampé. Grès. H. 39,6cm et 24,8 cm. Silla unifié. Fin du 7ème s. National Museum of Korea.

7

Urne funéraire à décor estampé. Grès. H. 39cm. Silla unifié. National Museum of Korea.

10-1

Verseuse en forme de cheval avec son cavalier. Grès. H. 26,8cm. Silla. 5ème-6ème s. Trésor national n° 91. National Museum of Korea.

Au royaume de Baekje, les grès sont de couleur claire, sans décor et leurs formes standardisées font penser qu’ils étaient produits en série. Certains bols sphériques ont la particularité d’avoir des couvercles qui s’adaptent parfaitement au corps (la pâte est montée pour former une sphère qui est ensuite coupée horizontalement au fil ou à l’aide d’un couteau ; afin d’assurer un ajustement précis, le bol était, avant la coupe, marqué d’une ligne verticale encore visible. Quelques grès ont été polis pour leur donner une apparence d’un noir lustré imitant la laque, produit de grand luxe, souvent importé de Chine.
Les grès du royaume de Silla présentent souvent un décor animalier, dragons, tortues, étoiles de mer, écrevisses (ces dernières devaient être associées au chamanisme très présent en Corée car elles ont la possibilité de régénérer une partie amputée ce qui, aux yeux des Coréens, symbolisaient la renaissance dans l’Au-delà). Les défunts étaient accompagnés d’un mobilier funéraire qui comprenaient pour les tombes les plus riches de grandes jarres à fond arrondi qui étaient posées sur des piédestaux de forme cylindrique, perforés d’ouvertures triangulaires ou rectangulaires et ornés de stries ou de lignes ondulées. L’arrivée du bouddhisme dans la péninsule au cours du 6ème siècle y introduit la crémation qui devait prédominer dans le royaume de Silla. Les cendres du défunt étaient placées dans des urnes qui étaient ensuite enterrées. Si certains vases d’usage courant étaient utilisés, des pièces plus élaborées étaient spécifiquement fabriquées pour cet usage. Ces urnes funéraires en grès avaient un décor estampé et des petites anses permettaient de sceller le couvercle à l’aide de cordelettes ou de fils métalliques. Parfois une petite urne était placée à l’intérieur d’une plus grande, elle aussi scellée. Le royaume de Silla a produit des céramiques de forme humaine ou animale souvent apposées sur d’autre pièces. Le répertoire animalier est très diversifié et si les formes sont simples, les traits les plus caractéristiques sont reproduits avec exactitude. Ces animaux sont porteurs de vœux de longévité (tortues), de fertilité (lapins, poissons) ou d’heureuse renaissance en Terre Pure (canards). Une verseuse en forme de cheval et de son cavalier (trésor national) est remarquable par les détails du costume du seigneur et par tous les éléments de harnachement qui correspondent à des pièces réelles trouvées dans des tombes.
L’époque du Silla unifié voit l’apparition d’urnes en grès vernissé au décor très raffiné fortement influencé par la céramique Tang.

13

Bouteille kundika à décor de pivoines et chrysanthèmes. Céladon à décor incrusté. H. 34cm. Goryeo. 12ème-13ème s. National Museum of Korea.

12

Aiguière en forme de bambou et son bassin. Céladon. H. 21,6cm. Goryeo. 12ème s. National Museum of Korea.

15

Verseuse en forme d’immortel taoïste. Céladon. H. 28cm. Goryeo. 12ème s. Trésor national n°167. National Museum of Korea.

17

Vase maebyeong à décor de bambous et grues. Céladon à décor incrusté. H. 33cm. Goryeo. 12ème-13ème s. National Museum of Korea.

La dynastie Goryeo est connue dans le monde entier pour la beauté de ses céladons dont la technique, mise au point en Chine, prend son essor dès le 10ème siècle dans la péninsule coréenne. La cuisson (1250°) en réduction de ces grès permet que la couverte à base d’oxydes ferriques donne cette couleur caractéristique allant du bleu-vert au vert selon les aléas de la cuisson et les caractéristiques du four. Que ce soit en Chine ou en Corée, les potiers ont toujours recherché à reproduire la couleur et la texture du jade. Certaines pièces présentent un fin réseau de craquelures provoquées au refroidissement, craquelures qui étaient aussi très appréciées en Chine.
Les premiers céladons coréens sont très apparentés à ceux de la dynastie des Song. Les potiers coréens vont cependant puiser leur inspiration dans le monde animal (canards, poissons) et végétal (bambous, gourdes, melons, lotus) pour façonner bols, godets, verseuses, brûle-parfums, etc. Les techniques pour le décor sont très variées (incision, modelage, ajourage, motifs peints sous couverte, décor à l’engobe) mais l’incrustation reste la méthode la plus répandue et a été portée à un degré de perfection par les artisans coréens. D’abord dessiné dans la pâte, puis évidé, le motif est ensuite comblé à l’aide d‘une argile ocre ou blanche. La cuisson de ces céladons à décor incrusté nécessite une parfaite connaissance des propriétés de l’argile utilisée et la maîtrise du processus de cuisson. Certaines verseuses sont de véritables sculptures affectant la forme d’animaux fantastiques et même d’un immortel taoïste. Quelques vases maebyeong présentent un décor très libre qui relève de la peinture ou de la calligraphie. Une bouteille, en particulier, a la particularité d’avoir un décor de saules peint au brun de fer sous couverte et celle-ci, de couleur céladon (cuisson réductrice) à la base, passe au brun léger (cuisson en oxydation) sur le haut du corps. Les céladons ont été particulièrement réservés pour la cour, les temples, les monastères (d’où la présence des formes de kundika bouddhique et de brûle-parfum) et les lettrés. Seulement à la fin de la dynastie, l’usage de céladons s’est répandu dans les classes aisées de la société.

18

Bouteille à décor de saule au brun de fer sous couverte. Céladon. H. 31,4cm. Goryeo. 13ème s. Trésor national n°113. National Museum of Korea.

24

Bouteille avec motif de vagues et de poissons incrusté. Buncheong. H. 29,2cm. Joseon. 15ème s. National Museum of Korea.

26

Bouteille en forme de flasque avec motif de poissons incisé. Buncheong. H. 20,3cm. Joseon. 15ème s. National Museum of Korea.

27

Bouteille avec motif de volutes florales en brun de fer sous couverte. Buncheong. H. 29,8cm. Joseon. 16ème s. National Museum of Korea.

La céramique de type buncheong (céladon poudré) qui est aussi typiquement coréenne et apparaît sous la dynastie Joseon ne sera en vogue que pendant deux siècles. Il s’agit de grès de couleur gris charbon recouvert d’un engobe blanc épais. Le décor pouvait être incisé, incrusté ou tracé au brun de fer sous couverte. Lors de la première période où le buncheong au décor incrusté ou estampé faisait partie du service royal, le style était directement inspiré des formes et décors des céladons. Dans le cas du buncheong tardif qui n’était plus réservé à la cour, les formes sont plus rudimentaires, le décor en est plus original et expressif, souvent plein d’humour et même parfois abstrait.
Si la porcelaine blanche tendre apparaît déjà sous la dynastie Goryeo et le début de la dynastie Joseon, elle sera remplacée à partir du 16ème siècle par la porcelaine dure, cuite à haute température (1300° C ou plus). Ces porcelaines tendres présentent souvent un décor incrusté d’argile et leur couleur est blanc cassé.

32

Jarre. Porcelaine blanche. H. 25cm. Joseon. 15ème -16ème s. National Museum of Korea.

34

Vase avec motif de pie, de tigre et de pins. Porcelaine « bleu et blanc ». H. 42cm. Joseon. 18ème-19ème s. Gyeonju National Museum.

33

Vase avec motif de raisins et de singe. Porcelaine à décor en bleu de cobalt et en brun de fer sous couverte. H. 32,4 cm. Joseon. 18ème s. National Museum of Korea.

23

Bouteille avec motif d’orchidée. Porcelaine « bleu et blanc ». H. 41,1cm. Joseon. 18ème s. National Museum of Korea.

Au début de la dynastie Joseon, le confucianisme devint la religion d’Etat et le bouddhisme fut proscrit. La porcelaine blanche, sans décor convint parfaitement à la rigueur qui était de mise à la cour et, pour les lettrés, elle incarnait l’esprit et l’âme du néoconfucianisme. Au fil du temps, des motifs apparurent, peints au bleu de cobalt, brun de fer ou rouge de cuivre sous couverte. Si les premières porcelaines « bleu et blanc » ont été réservées à la cour royale du fait du prix exorbitant du bleu de cobalt, au fil du temps, les lettrés puis les membres fortunés de la société y eurent accès.
Un des motifs les plus répandus de la tradition « bleu et blanc » était celui des « Quatre nobles plantes » : fleurs de prunier, chrysanthèmes, orchidées et bambou. A la suite des symboles chers aux lettrés, on vit apparaître d’autres motifs comme des images populaires ou les dix symboles de longévité. Après les invasions japonaises (1592-1598) et la deuxième invasion mandchoue (1636-1637), de nouvelles formes en porcelaine blanche ont été créées comme la jarre de lune, grande jarre sphérique, sans décor et de forme rarement parfaite. Ces jarres étaient réservées à la cour royale.

40

Vase avec motif de nuages et dragon. Porcelaine « bleu et blanc ». H. 59,3cm. Joseon. 18ème s. National Museum of Korea.

41

Bol à couvercle avec motif subok. Porcelaine « bleu et blanc ». H. 16,5cm. Joseon. V. 1840. National Museum of Korea.

42

Bouteille avec motif de poissons et de canards. Porcelaine « bleu et blanc ». H. 23,4cm. Joseon. 19ème s. National Museum of Korea.

Au 18ème siècle, la culture de Joseon fut particulièrement imprégnée par le goût du beau des lettrés et on voit apparaître des décors de paysages, de personnages, d’animaux ainsi que des poèmes, souvent interprétés dans un style très libre, proche de la peinture. Les « bleu et blanc » du 19ème siècle se caractérisent par une couverte très brillante, un décor plus populaire et un choix de compositions plus libres et originales. La démocratisation de la porcelaine, due à l’importation d’un pigment bleu fabriqué à Beijing, permet la création de véritables services ayant un même décor. Un motif particulièrement apprécié était le subok, un sinogramme combinant longévité et prospérité dans le style sigillaire.

Aujourd’hui, encore, l’art de la céramique est encore très vivant en Corée et les formes, les styles classiques sont sans cesse revisités et réinterprétés par les artistes.

44

Verseuse à eau en forme de pêche rehaussée de bleu de cobalt et de rouge de cuivre. Porcelaine blanche. H. 12,4cm. Joseon. 19ème s. National Museum of Korea.

49

Jarre de lune. Porcelaine blanche. H. 41cm. Joseon 18ème s. National Museum of Korea.

51

Park Youngsook. Jarre de lune. Argile blanche et couleur. 2010. H. 52cm. Collection privée.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher