2015: Li Bai admiring a waterfall

2015: Li Bai admiring a waterfall. Yokoyama Taikan (1868-1958)

Ink and mineral pigments on silk, to 1902

119 cm x 48 cm (with mounting 215 cm x 64 cm)

15.11.21.Li Bai

Yokoyama Taikan, is the pseudonym of Sakai Hidemaro. He is born in 1868 Mito (Ibaraki Prefecture) and belongs to the generation of painters of modern Japan. Indeed, this date corresponds to the first year of the Meiji era. It marks the modernization of Japan and its entry into the international powers.
Yokoyama Taikan is the eldest son of Sakai Sutehiko, a samurai family of the Mito clan, but he is adopted by his mother's family from whom he receives the name of Yokoyama. In 1878, he followed his family to Tokyo where he became a student of the college Tôkyô Furitsu Daiichi Chûgakko. It was there that he began to take an interest in Western oil painting and the English language. He learned drawing with the painter Watanabe Fumisaburô, but it is with the great painter Kanô Hôgai (1828-1888), last teacher of the Kanô official school that he trains himself in traditional painting. This artist, sponsored by the American Ernest Fenollosa (1853-1908) and helped financially by the rich American William Sturgis Bigelow (1850-1926), then experimented with new pictorial processes (pigments and compositions) that will radically transform the Japanese painting and give it a specific style specific to the modern era.
In 1889, Yokoyama Taikan is part of the first class of artists from the Tôkyô School of Fine Arts (Tôkyô bijutsu gakkô), created in 1887 by the Ministry of Education under the supervision of Okakura Kakuzō ( Okakura Tenshin 1862-1913). In this school, ancestor of the current National University of Fine Arts and Music Tokyo, artists learn how to renew traditional painting by incorporating elements of Western painting. They thus lay the foundations of what will be called the Nihonga (word for word "Japanese painting") as opposed to the term Yôga ("Western painting", especially oil painting), following a terminology invented by E.Fenollosa at a conference he gives in Japan.
At the School of Fine Arts, Yokoyama follows the teachings of Hashimoto Gahô (1835-1908), follower of the Kanô school, as Kanô Hôgai. After graduation, he went to Kyoto to teach for one year at the Kyoto University of Applied Arts and Art (Kyōto Shiritsu Bijutsu Kōgei Gakkō) and began using the pseudonym Taikan. He returned to Tokyo in 1896 to become an assistant professor at the Tôkyô School of Fine Arts, but after a year he gave up his post when Okakura Kakuzô was removed from office for political reasons.
He then participated alongside Okakura in the creation of the Japan Academy of Fine Arts (Nihon bijutsu-in) with his old classmates, Hishida Shunsô (1874-1911) and Shimomura Kanzan (1873-1930 ). This academy is founded in reaction to the official dictates imposed by the Ministry of Culture in its exhibitions (Bunten). When Okakura dies in 1913, the group is dissolved. It is reconstituted a year later in 1914 under the direction of Yokoyama Taikan, who installs it in Yanaka, Tokyo. This institution and the biennials (Inten) that it organizes still work today.
In 1903, he travels to Europe via India and spends the year 1904 in different European countries. Then in 1909, he goes to China. As Serge Elisseeff points out (Contemporary Japanese Painting, Paris, 1923), "his various travels have given him a multitude of elements for his works".
Considered by Serge Elisseeff (1889-1975), a specialist in Japanese art, as one of the "great painters of Tokyo", he is one of the artists selected to exhibit at the important exhibition of contemporary Japanese art that is held at the Grand Palais, Paris, from May to July 1922. Yokoyama exposes Wood in autumn "Where the painter uses colors to give a combination of a stylized green of coniferous trees alternating with the different red colors of the autumn foliage of other trees" (Serge Elisseeff: Contemporary Japanese Painting, Paris, 1923).

Yokoyama has had a long and successful career. He received the medal of the Order of Merit and was promoted to a member of the Academy of Arts of the Imperial House and the Academy of Fine Arts.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

2015 : Li Bai admirant une cascade

2015 : Li Bai admirant une cascade. Yokoyama Taikan (1868-1958)

Encre et pigments minéraux sur soie, vers 1902

119 cm x 48 cm (avec montage 215 cm x 64 cm)

15.11.21.Li Bai

Yokoyama Taikan, est le pseudonyme de Sakai Hidemaro. Il naît en 1868 à Mito (préfecture d’Ibaraki) et appartient à la génération des peintres du Japon moderne. En effet, cette date correspond à la première année de l’ère Meiji. Elle marque la modernisation du Japon et son entrée au sein des puissances internationales.
Yokoyama Taikan est le fils aîné de Sakai Sutehiko, une famille de samurai du clan de Mito, mais il est adopté par la famille de sa mère de laquelle il reçoit le nom de Yokoyama. En 1878, il suit sa famille à Tôkyô où il devient élève du collège Tôkyô Furitsu Daiichi Chûgakko. C’est là qu’il commence à s’intéresser à la peinture occidentale à l’huile et à la langue anglaise. Il apprend le dessin avec le peintre Watanabe Fumisaburô, mais c’est auprès du grand peintre Kanô Hôgai (1828-1888), dernier maître de l’école officielle Kanô qu’il se forme à la peinture traditionnelle. Cet artiste, parrainé par l’Américain Ernest Fenollosa (1853-1908) et aidé financièrement par le riche Américain William Sturgis Bigelow (1850-1926), expérimente alors de nouveaux procédés picturaux (pigments et compositions) qui vont transformer radicalement la peinture japonaise et lui donner un style particulier spécifique de l’époque moderne.
En 1889, Yokoyama Taikan fait partie de la première promotion d’artistes de l’Ecole des beaux-arts de Tôkyô (Tôkyô bijutsu gakkô), créée en 1887 par le ministère de l’Education et placée sous la direction d’Okakura Kakuzō ( Okakura Tenshin 1862-1913). Dans cette école, ancêtre de l’actuelle Université nationale des beaux-arts et de la musique de Tôkyô, les artistes apprennent comment renouveler la peinture traditionnelle en lui intégrant des éléments de la peinture occidentale. Ils posent ainsi les bases de ce qui sera appelé le Nihonga (mot à mot « peinture japonaise ») par opposition au terme Yôga (« peinture occidentale », en particulier la peinture à l’huile), suivant une terminologie inventée par E.Fenollosa à l’occasion d’une conférence qu’il donne au Japon.
A l’Ecole des beaux-arts, Yokoyama suit l’enseignement de Hashimoto Gahô (1835-1908), artiste suiveur de l’école Kanô, comme Kanô Hôgai. Son diplôme une fois obtenu, il part à Kyôto pour enseigner pendant une année à l’université d’art et d’art appliqué municipale de Kyôto (Kyōto Shiritsu Bijutsu Kōgei Gakkō) et commence à utiliser le pseudonyme de Taikan. Il rentre à Tôkyô en 1896 pour devenir assistant professeur à l’Ecole des beaux-arts de Tôkyô, mais au bout d’un an il renonce à son poste lorsque Okakura Kakuzô est démis de ses fonctions pour des raisons politiques.
Il participe alors aux côtés d’Okakura à la création de l’Académie des beaux-arts du Japon (Nihon bijutsu-in) avec ses anciens camarades de l’école, Hishida Shunsô (1874-1911) et Shimomura Kanzan (1873-1930). Cette académie est fondée en réaction aux dictats officiels imposés par le ministère de la culture dans ses expositions (Bunten). À la mort d’Okakura en 1913, le groupe est dissout. Il est reconstitué un an plus tard en 1914 sous la direction de Yokoyama Taikan, qui l’installe à Yanaka, Tokyo. Cette institution et les biennales (Inten) qu’elle organise fonctionne toujours de nos jours.
En 1903, il se rend en Europe en passant par les Indes et passe l’année 1904 dans les différents pays d’Europe. Puis en 1909, il se rend en Chine. Comme le souligne Serge Elisseeff (la Peinture japonaise contemporaine, Paris, 1923), « ses divers voyages lui ont fourni une multitude d’éléments pour ses œuvres » .
Considéré par Serge Elisseeff (1889-1975), spécialiste de l’art japonais, comme l’un « des grands peintres de Tôkyô », il fait partie des artistes sélectionnés pour exposer à l’importante exposition d’art japonais contemporain qui se tient au Grand Palais, à Paris, de mai à juillet 1922. Yokoyama y expose Bois en automne « où le peintre use des couleurs pour donner une combinaison d’un vert stylisé des arbres conifères alternant avec les différentes couleurs rouges du feuillage automnal des autres arbres » (Serge Elisseeff : la Peinture japonaise contemporaine, Paris, 1923).

Yokoyama a connu une longue carrière fructueuse. Il reçoit la médaille de l’ordre du mérite et il est promu membre de l’Académie des Arts de la maison impériale ainsi que de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts.

 

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher