Champa: the other kingdom of Vietnam

12 February 2014: " Champa: the other kingdom of Vietnam By Anne Fort, Curator of Vietnam, Luristan and Steppes at the Cernuschi Museum.

The Champa was a confederation of Hindu states of culture, of Austronesian language close to Malay, located along the coast of the central zone of modern Vietnam between the IIe and XVIIe centuries. Today reduced, the cham population is mainly found in Vietnam in the province of An Giang. One part is Muslim while the other has retained its Hindu roots
In the first millennium BCE, these people from Borneo settled in the deltas of the great rivers and the coastal plains of Vietnam where they coexisted with the Khmer-speaking people in the south and the vile in the north. Excellent navigators, the Cham traded with all the kingdoms of South East Asia and South China, by sea and river navigation, but also used land routes.
The name "Champa" was perhaps taken in reference to the city of Bengal bearing the same name and from which many sailors who came to trade on the coasts of Vietnam were from. The Cham could have used this term close to the way they originally called themselves.
The study of cham monuments dates back to the end of the 19th centurye with the works of Etienne Aymonier, Étienne-Edmond Lunet de Lajonquière and especially, from 1900, with those of Henri Parmentier and Jean-Yves Claeys. We also owe to Henri Parmentier the foundation of the Cham Museum of Da Nang.
The inscriptions constitute the principal historical sources sometimes supplemented by the Chinese chronicles and the Vietnamese annals. These inscriptions are engraved on sandstone stelae but also in brick or on metal objects. Although not fully deciphered, the inscriptions, sometimes bilingual (Sanskrit and Cham), provide dates referring to the Saka era (Indian era beginning in AD 78). In general, they refer to the foundation of Shaivite or Buddhist monuments or to donations made to these temples.
The five main regions of Champa are from north to south: Indrapura (site of Dông Duong), Amaravati with its capital Tra Kiêu, formerly Simhapura and the religious center of My Son, Vijaya (current province of Binh Dinh), Kauthara (current provinces of Khanh Hoa and Phu Yên) and Panduranga (current provinces of Binh Thuân and Ninh Thuân). Champa has often been in conflict with its Khmer neighbors to the west or Vietnamese to the north, the latter continually extending their territory south until the complete annexation of Champa in 1822.
The prosperity of Champa was partly due to the fact that the Cham knew very early on how to cultivate a variety of rice resistant to the drought and the Chinese annals mention the fact that they made at least two crops of rice per year. On the other hand, the organization into a confederation of city-states, each of which draws its wealth from agriculture, fishing and forest resources, is based on a solid network of river, sea and land communications.

 

 

Champa Map

Stela inscribed in Sanskrit. Sandstone.
Sanctuary Tower B 6. My Son.
Dated 687. Cham Museum. Da Nang. © Thierry Ollivier

Linga and tank. Sandstone. 8th-10th century My Son

According to the times, certain city-states, with a surplus trade balance, could start a policy of domination over their neighbors and create a brilliant cultural pole that resulted in the building of temples and monasteries and the maintenance of a brilliant court. The most powerful city then imposed its style on the buildings and sculptures of the time and it is astonishing to note that despite a relative autonomy of these different cities, a religious ferment reinforced by a solid commercial network also made them interdependent and united in one consciousness national. Thus, on the artistic level, a certain geographical coherence is necessary in Champa, the variations of style obeying more to a chronological succession than to a phenomenon of regional schools which would remain to be demonstrated.
Hinduism imposed itself peacefully and, like Buddhism, it was transmitted from India by the Brahmans or monks who followed the merchants settling along the coast.
The cult of linga (a trained male member of the god Siva) has enjoyed a great favor at Champa and the main statue of the Shaivite temples is almost always a linga . This sculpture is presented with a square base (Brahma), a hexagonal or octagonal body (Visnu) and the upper part representing the male represents Siva. This cult was particularly well received by the Cham who already celebrated fertility and worshiped standing stones. The linga is always associated with a ablution tank (yoni) which features a stylized female gender. The officiant poured on the linga substances pleasant to the god (milk, yoghurt, honey, scented water, etc.) and these products flowing through the furrow practiced on the yoni watered the earth, which could only please a farming people.

Linga 2. Sandstone. Tenth century My Son

Kosa. Silver and gold.
8th century Guimet Museum

My Son. 1 group. © J. Berthelot Blanchet

A cham specificity is to offer the linga a precious case, kosato cover and protect it. These kosa are generally composed of a sheet of metal (gold or silver) and are adorned with a riveted Shiva head. After the erection of a linga in a temple, the gift of a kosa was considered the most precious offering.
The first buildings appear to be cobble-bed brick platforms with a thatched roof or tiles, supported by wooden columns as can still be seen in Bali.
The Cham mainly used brick for their constructions and only used sandstone for stelae and votive images or even for decorative architectural elements. The brick beds are laid without mortar but "glued" by a vegetable resin. The exterior decorations were carved directly into the brick walls, then covered with a protective coating and finally painted.

 

Po Klaung Garai. Late thirteenth century © Andre Lettau

Thap Cham Poshanu. Temple. 15th century Mui Ne

The large Buddhist complex of Dông Duong which was built by Indravarman II in his capital of Indrapura for Laksmindra Lokesvara does not present any major differences with the Shaivite temples: the main sanctuary, open to the east, is surrounded by a wall of square plan pierced by a majestic entrance (gopura). The square shrine-tower, preceded by a vestibule and a porch, rests on a high terrace. The false floors of the sanctuary tower are adorned with small miniature towers that have the same decor as the main building. This profile says in sikhara was developed in India to evoke Mount Meru, residence of the gods. In the enclosure are other buildings which housed the consort of the god and other related deities. A particularity of the Cham complexes is the South building, inside the enclosure, composed of two square rooms in a row, which may have served as a library or to prepare offerings. Recognizable by its ornamental second floor whose curved profile evokes taut ridge roofs covered with palm leaves or thatch, this South building is a transposition in masonry of the traditional wooden architecture of the Malayo-Polynesian world.
At the front of gopura there is a long rectangular assembly hall (mandapa). This room usually has walls pierced with windows.
The My Son complex originally had more than seventy monuments that unfortunately suffered a lot from the wars. This set, originally dedicated to the VIe century to the tutelary god of the Cham, Bhadresvara, was embellished by the various kings until IXe century, then, after a parenthesis due to the introduction of Mahayana Buddhism, the activity resumed at the beginning of the Xe until XIIe.
The oldest exhumed sculpture is a female divinity in sandstone of the Ve century. The pedestal of My Son E1 VIIe s. presents a style still very Indian as well by its decoration as by the sculptures, like the tympanum of My Son E1 appearing Visnu on the snake Ananta whose softened style does not present yet the facies cham.

     

Female divinity. Sandstone. Ve s. An My.
Cham Museum. Da Nang. © Thierry Ollivier

Male divinity. Sandstone.
Late 9th-10th century
Cham Museum. Da nang.
© Thierry Ollivier

Avalokitesvara. Bronze. 8th-9th century
Guimet Museum.
© Thierry Ollivier

From the IXe century, the faces present the Cham characteristics: eyebrows joining together to form a brace, flat nose and very full lips topped by a thick mustache as on the male deity of Dông Duong or the heads of Siva adorning the kosa. These elements make it possible to define Dông Duong's style.
The Avalokitesvara head of the Guimet Museum, in bronze, has the same characteristics as those of Siva. A makara (sandstone snake) from the Guimet Museum, a beneficial mythical animal associated with water, was to adorn the throne of the Buddha of Dong Duong Monastery. From his mouth comes a little deva (divinity) whose face and wealth of adornment are representative of the style. A big dvarapala (gate keeper) in sandstone from the Da Nang museum represented in a very dynamic attitude, also coming from Dông Duong is characteristic of the style. Its particularity is that it rides a buffalo which seems to spit out a small demon protecting itself with a shield (syncretism with the representation of Durga?).
The sculpture of the bust of the goddess Devi (recognizable by the crescent moon in her bun) sandstone, Huong Quê and dating from the Xe century, announces the style of Tra Kiêu, classical period of sculpture cham.
The style of Tra Kiêu is characterized by a vigorous treatment but simplified forms and a general softening with faces with less marked features than in the style of Dông Duong. The Atlantean sandstone lion of the Da Nang Museum shows a stylization of the mane typical of this style. The tympanum decorated with Visnu on the Ananta snake from Tra Kiêu has softened features and a more sober treatment of the ornament that contrasts with the threatening mouths of the Naga. The Nandin bull (Shiva mount) sandstone, from Tra Kiêu, has the same softness and simplicity of forms and decor.

     

Vishnu enthroned on the Ananta snake.
Tenth century Tra Kieu.
© Cham Museum. Da Nang

Shiva. Sandstone. 11th century
Thap Banh It.
Guimet Museum.
© Thierry Ollivier

Shiva dancing. Ear-drum. Sandstone.
Twelfth-thirteenth century. Thap Mam.
© Cham Da Nang Museum

Shiva. Sandstone. 14th-15th century.
Yang Mum.
Cham Museum. Da Nang.
© Thierry Ollivier

The style of Chanh Lô in XIe century, is particularly well illustrated by the sandstone Siva of Thap Banh It: a very great softness, the simplification of the adornment, the stylized treatment of the locks of the bun are combined with faded cham lines.
The style of Thap Mâm, XIethirteenthe centuries, is more decorative: the volumes are simplified but the very careful ornamentation testifies to the virtuosity of the sculptors. The Atlantean Garuda in sandstone from the Da nang museum is a good example, as is the gajasimha (elephant-lion). Thap Mâm's dancing sandstone Siva shows the evolution of its representation: simplified volumes treated in bas-relief, soft modeling and sobriety of the ornaments.
The style of Yang Mum, XIVefifteenthe centuries, is illustrated by a siva sitting in sandstone. The treatment is extremely decorative with a strong stylization.
From the XVIe century, the Cham will no longer produce sculpture in the round or bas-relief and decorate their stelae of stylized motifs almost abstract.

   

Lion trained atlante. Sandstone. Tenth century Tra Kieu.
Cham Museum. Da Nang

Garuda Atlante. Sandstone. XII-XIII century
Thap Mâm. Cham Museum. Da Nang

Gajasimha. Sandstone. Thap Mâm. Twelfth-thirteenth century.
Cham Museum. Da Nang

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Le Champa : l’autre royaume du Vietnam

12 février 2014 : « Le Champa : l’autre royaume du Vietnam » par Anne Fort, Conservateur chargé du Vietnam, du Luristan et des Steppes au Musée Cernuschi.

Le Champa était une confédération d’états de culture hindouiste, de langue austronésienne proche du malais, situé le long de la côte de la zone centrale du Vietnam moderne entre les IIe et XVIIe siècles. Aujourd’hui réduite, la population cham se rencontre principalement au Vietnam dans la province d’An Giang. Une partie est musulmane tandis que l’autre a conservé ses racines hindoues
Au cours du premier millénaire avant notre ère, ces peuples venus de Bornéo s’installèrent dans les deltas des grands fleuves et sur les plaines côtières du Vietnam où ils cohabitèrent avec les peuples de langue môn-khmer au sud et viétique au nord. Excellents navigateurs, les Cham ont commercé avec tous les royaumes d’Asie du Sud-Est et le sud de la Chine, par navigation maritime et fluviale, mais ont aussi utilisé les voies terrestres.
Le nom « Champa » fut peut-être repris en référence à la ville du Bengale portant le même nom et dont de nombreux marins venus commercer sur les côtes du Vietnam étaient originaires.  Les Cham auraient pu reprendre ce terme proche de la manière dont ils se désignaient eux-mêmes à l’origine.
L’étude des monuments cham remonte à la fin du XIXe avec les travaux d’Etienne Aymonier, d‘Étienne-Edmond Lunet de Lajonquière et surtout, à partir de 1900, avec ceux d’Henri Parmentier et de Jean-Yves Claeys. On doit aussi à Henri Parmentier la fondation du Musée Cham de Da Nang.
Les inscriptions constituent les principales sources historiques parfois complétées par les chroniques chinoises et les annales vietnamiennes. Ces inscriptions sont gravées sur des stèles de grès mais aussi dans la brique ou sur des objets métalliques. Bien qu’incomplètement déchiffrées, les inscriptions, parfois bilingues (sanskrit et cham), fournissent  des datations se référant à l’ère Saka (ère indienne débutant en 78 après J.-C.). En général elles font référence à la fondation de monuments shivaïtes ou bouddhiques ou à des donations faites à ces temples.
Les cinq principales régions du Champa sont du nord au sud : Indrapura (site de Dông Duong), Amaravati avec sa capitale Tra Kiêu, anciennement Simhapura et le centre religieux de My Son, Vijaya (actuelle province de Binh Dinh), Kauthara (actuelles provinces de Khanh Hoa et Phu Yên) et Panduranga (actuelles provinces de Binh Thuân et Ninh Thuân). Le Champa a souvent été en conflit avec ses voisins khmers à l’ouest ou vietnamiens au nord, ces derniers étendant sans cesse leur territoire vers le sud jusqu’à l’annexion totale du Champa en 1822.
La prospérité du Champa était en partie due au fait que  les Cham ont su très tôt cultiver une variété de riz résistante à la sécheresse et les annales chinoises mentionnent le fait qu’ils faisaient au minimum deux récoltes de riz par an. D’autre part, l’organisation en confédération de cités-états dont chacune tire ses richesses de l’agriculture, de la pêche et des ressources forestières s’appuie sur un solide réseau de communications fluviales, maritimes et terrestres.

 

 

Carte du Champa

Stèle inscrite en sanskrit. Grès.
Tour sanctuaire B 6. My Son.
Datée 687. Musée Cham. Da Nang. ©Thierry Ollivier

Linga et cuve. Grès. VIIIe-Xe s. My Son

Selon les époques, certaines cités-états, connaissant une balance commerciale excédentaire, pouvaient entamer une politique de domination sur leurs voisins et créer un pôle culturel brillant qui se traduisait par l’édification de temples et de monastères et par l’entretien d’une cour brillante. La cité la plus puissante imposait alors son style aux édifices et aux sculptures du temps et il est étonnant de constater que malgré une relative autonomie de ces différentes cités, un ferment religieux renforcé par un solide réseau commercial les rendait également interdépendantes et unies dans une conscience nationale. Ainsi, sur le plan artistique, une certaine cohérence géographique s’impose au Champa, les variations de style obéissant d’avantage à une succession chronologique qu’à un phénomène d’écoles régionales qui resterait à démontrer.
L’hindouisme s’est imposé de façon pacifique et, de même que le bouddhisme, il fut transmis depuis l’Inde par les brahmanes ou les moines qui suivaient les marchands s’installant le long des côtes.
Le culte du linga (membre viril dressé du dieu Siva) a connu une grande faveur au Champa et la statue principale des temples shivaïtes est presque toujours un linga . Cette sculpture se présente avec une base carrée (Brahma), un corps hexagonal ou octogonal (Visnu) et la partie supérieure figurant le sexe masculin représente Siva. Ce culte a été particulièrement bien accueilli par les Cham qui célébraient déjà la fertilité et vouaient un culte à des pierres dressées. Le linga est toujours associé à une cuve à ablutions (yoni) qui figure un sexe féminin stylisé. L’officiant versait sur le linga des substances agréables au dieu (lait, yaourt, miel, eau parfumée, etc.) et ces produits s’écoulant par le sillon pratiqué sur la yoni arrosaient la terre, ce qui ne pouvait que plaire à un peuple d’agriculteurs.

Linga 2. Grès. Xe s. My Son

Kosa. Argent et or.
VIIIe s. Musée Guimet

My Son. Groupe 1. © J. Berthelot Blanchet

Une spécificité cham est d’offrir au linga un étui précieux, kosa, pour le recouvrir et le protéger. Ces kosa sont généralement composés d’une feuille de métal (or ou argent) et sont ornés d’une tête de Shiva rivetée. Après l’érection d’un linga dans un temple, le don d’un kosa était considéré comme l’offrande la plus précieuse.
Les premières constructions semblent être des plates-formes en brique sur lit de galets avec un toit couvert de chaume ou de tuiles, supporté par des colonnes en bois comme on peut encore en voir à Bali.
Les Cham ont essentiellement utilisé la brique pour leurs constructions et n’utilisaient le grès que pour les stèles et les images votives ou bien encore pour les éléments architecturaux décoratifs. Les lits de briques sont posés sans mortier mais « collés » par une résine végétale. Les décors extérieurs étaient sculptés directement dans les murs de briques, puis recouverts d’un enduit protecteur et enfin peints.

 

Po Klaung Garai. Fin XIIIe s. ©Andre Lettau

Thap Cham Poshanu. Temple. XVe s. Mui Ne

Le grand complexe bouddhique de Dông Duong qui fut édifié par Indravarman II dans sa capitale d’Indrapura pour Laksmindra Lokesvara ne présente pas de grandes différences avec les temples shivaïtes : le sanctuaire principal, ouvert à l’est, est entouré d’une muraille de plan carré percée d’une entrée majestueuse (gopura). La tour-sanctuaire carrée, précédée d’un vestibule et d’un porche, repose sur une haute terrasse. Les faux-étages de la tour-sanctuaire sont ornés de petites tours en miniatures qui reprennent le même décor que l’édifice principal. Ce profil dit en sikhara fut élaboré en Inde afin d’évoquer le mont Meru, résidence des dieux. Dans l’enceinte se trouvent d’autres édifices qui abritaient la parèdre du dieu et d’autres divinités annexes. Une particularité des complexes cham est le bâtiment Sud, à l’intérieur de l’enceinte, composé de deux pièces carrées en enfilade, qui servait peut-être de bibliothèque ou à préparer les offrandes. Reconnaissable à son deuxième étage ornementatif  dont le profil incurvé évoque les toits à faîtière tendue couverts de feuilles de palme ou de chaume, ce bâtiment Sud est une transposition en maçonnerie de l’architecture en bois traditionnelle du monde malayo-polynésien.
A l’avant du gopura on trouve une longue salle d’assemblée rectangulaire (mandapa). Cette salle a généralement des murs percés de fenêtres.
Le complexe de My Son comportait à l’origine plus de soixante-dix monuments qui ont malheureusement beaucoup souffert des guerres. Cet ensemble, originalement dédié au VIe siècle au dieu tutélaire des Cham, Bhadresvara, fût embelli par les différents rois jusqu’au IXe siècle, puis, après une parenthèse due à l’introduction du bouddhisme mahayana, l’activité reprit au début du Xe jusqu’au XIIe.
La plus ancienne sculpture exhumée est une divinité féminine en grès du Ve siècle. Le piédestal de My Son E1 du VIIe s. présente un style encore très indien tant par son décor que par les sculptures, comme le tympan de My Son E1 figurant Visnu sur le serpent Ananta dont le style adouci ne présente pas encore le faciès cham.

   

Divinité́ féminine. Grès. Ve s. An My.
Musée Cham. Da Nang. ©Thierry Ollivier

Divinité́ masculine. Grès.
Fin IXe-Xe s.
Musée Cham. Da nang.
©Thierry Ollivier

Avalokitésvara. Bronze. VIIIe-IXe s.
Musée Guimet.
© Thierry Ollivier

A partir du IXe siècle les visages présentent les caractéristiques cham : sourcils se rejoignant pour former une accolade, nez épaté et lèvres très charnues surmontées d’une épaisse moustache comme sur la divinité masculine de Dông Duong ou les têtes de Siva ornant les kosa. Ces éléments permettent de définir le style de Dông Duong.
La tête d’Avalokitesvara du musée Guimet, en bronze, présente les mêmes caractéristiques que celles de Siva. Un makara (serpent-éléphant) en grès du musée Guimet, animal mythique bienfaisant associé à l’eau, devait orner le trône du bouddha du monastère de Dông Duong. De sa gueule sort un petit deva (divinité) dont le visage et la richesse de la parure sont représentatifs du style. Un grand dvarapala (gardien de porte) en grès du musée de Da Nang représenté dans une attitude très dynamique provenant lui aussi de Dông Duong est caractéristique du style. Sa particularité est qu’il chevauche un buffle qui semble cracher un petit démon se protégeant d’un bouclier (syncrétisme avec la représentation de Durga ?).
La sculpture du buste de la déesse Devi (reconnaissable au croissant de lune dans son chignon) en grès, de Huong Quê et datant du Xe siècle, annonce le style de Tra Kiêu, période classique de la sculpture cham.
Le style de Tra Kiêu se caractérise par un traitement vigoureux mais des formes simplifiées et un adoucissement général avec des visages aux traits moins marqués que dans le style de Dông Duong. Le lion atlante en grès du musée de Da Nang montre une stylisation de la crinière typique de ce style. Le tympan orné de Visnu sur le serpent Ananta provenant de Tra Kiêu présente des traits adoucis et un traitement plus sobre de la parure qui contraste avec les gueules menaçantes du Naga. Le taureau Nandin (monture de Shiva) en grès, provenant de Tra Kiêu, possède cette même douceur et simplicité des formes et du décor.

   

Vishnou trônant sur le serpent Ananta.
Xe s. Tra Kieu.
©Musée Cham. Da Nang

Shiva. Grès. XIe s.
Thap Banh It.
Musée Guimet.
©Thierry Ollivier

Shiva dansant. Tympan. Grès.
XIIe-XIIIe s. Thap Mam.
©Musée Cham Da Nang

Shiva. Grès. XIVe-XVe s.
Yang Mum.
Musée Cham. Da Nang.
©Thierry Ollivier

Le style de Chanh Lô au XIe siècle, est particulièrement bien illustré par le Siva en grès de Thap Banh It : une très grande douceur,  la simplification de la parure, le traitement stylisé des mèches du chignon se conjuguent à des traits cham estompés.
Le style de Thap Mâm, XIe-XIIIe siècles, est plus décoratif : les volumes sont simplifiés mais l’ornementation très soignée témoigne de la virtuosité des sculpteurs. Le Garuda atlante en grès du musée de Da nang en est un bel exemple, de même que le gajasimha (éléphant-lion). Le Siva dansant en grès de Thap Mâm montre l’évolution de sa représentation : volumes simplifiés traités en bas-relief, modelé doux et sobriété des parures.
Le style de Yang Mum, XIVe-XVe siècles, est illustré par un Siva assis en grès. Le traitement en est extrêmement décoratif avec une stylisation poussée.
A partir du XVIe siècle, les Cham ne produiront plus de sculpture en ronde-bosse ou en bas-relief et décoreront leurs stèles de motifs stylisés presqu’abstraits.

  

Lion dressé atlante. Grès. Xe s. Tra Kieu.
Musée Cham. Da Nang

Garuda Atlante. Grès. XII-XIIIe s.
Thap Mâm. Musée Cham. Da Nang

Gajasimha. Grès. Thap Mâm. XIIe-XIIIe s.
Musée Cham. Da Nang

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher