Fish-shaped jug

0€ de 858€ collected

Vietnam?
Stoneware with cream and deep blue glaze
Gift of Mrs. Langweil 26/12/1927

This fish-shaped vase is terracotta covered with two different glazes, one ivory and the other deep blue. The high relief surface decoration of the ivory scales contrasts with the smooth appearance of the collar. The blue enamel enhances the structural parts allowing the animal to be recognized: the head, the tail, the fins, all decorated with molded elements or applied to the slip, before being reworked by incisions. The eyes of the fish are only detectable if we look at the object from the side: then, scrolls emerge two large eyes reminiscent of a dragon.

The body of the fish follows a marked curve, which brings to mind the classic iconography of the carp turning into a dragon, a traditional image associated with the wishes of success addressed to a student preparing for the mandarin competitions. The carp, going up the river, is exhausted in the fight against the current, which symbolizes the difficulty of the study and the roughness of the competition, but at the end of the effort, the carp will transform into a dragon and will rise in the air, like the winner promoted to a prestigious civil servant position.

Our fish-shaped vase, if it still raises many questions, remains nevertheless an exceptional piece by the delicacy of its decoration and by the audacity of its shape. Forgotten during the XXth century, it slowly became dirty: a gray dust covers the heart of the scales and the meanders in relief. The blue enamel flakes off in places. A restoration would allow, after a thorough cleaning, to reattach the fragile areas and to fill the few fragments of the dorsal fin and the mouth.

Enter an amount greater than or equal to or € 100

personal informations

Billing Information

Total donation: 100,00€

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

Verseuse en forme de poisson

0€ de 858€ collectés

Vietnam ?
Grès à couverte crème et bleu profond
Don de Mme Langweil  26/12/1927

Ce vase en forme de poisson est une terre cuite recouverte de deux glaçures différentes, l’une ivoire et l’autre d’un bleu profond. Le décor de surface en fort relief des écailles ivoire contraste avec l’aspect lisse du col. L’émail bleu rehausse les parties structurelles permettant de reconnaître l’animal : la tête, la queue, les nageoires, toutes ornées d’éléments moulés ou appliqués à la barbotine, avant d’être retravaillés par incisions. Les yeux du poisson ne sont décelables que si l’on regarde l’objet de côté : alors, des volutes émergent deux gros yeux qui rappellent un dragon.

Le corps du poisson décrit une courbe marquée, qui fait penser à l’iconographie classique de la carpe se transformant en dragon, une image traditionnelle associée aux vœux de succès adressés à un étudiant préparant les concours mandarinaux. La carpe, remontant la rivière, s’épuise dans la lutte contre le courant, qui symbolise la difficulté de l’étude et la rudesse de la compétition, mais au bout de l’effort, la carpe se transformera en dragon et s’élèvera dans les airs, comme le lauréat promu à un prestigieux poste de fonctionnaire.

Notre vase en forme de poisson, s’il soulève encore de nombreuses questions, reste néanmoins une pièce exceptionnelle par la finesse de son décor et par l’audace de sa forme. Oublié au cours du XXe siècle, il s’est lentement encrassé : une poussière grise recouvre le cœur des écailles et les méandres en relief. L’émail bleu s’écaille par endroits. Une restauration permettrait, après un minutieux nettoyage, de refixer les zones fragiles et de combler les quelques éclats de la nageoire dorsale et de l’embouchure.

Saisir un montant supérieur ou égal ou à 100€

Informations personnelles

Total du don : 100,00€

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher