2011: Bear in gilded bronze. China. Han era

Exceptional donation from the Society of Friends of the Cernuschi Museum

The Cernuschi Museum presents a very complete panorama of Chinese archeology and art from the Neolithic period to the Song dynasty (960-1279). However, some gaps remain. Thus the museum did not have any spectacular bronze from the Han period (206 BC - 220 AD). On the occasion of the retirement of Gilles Béguin, director of the Cernuschi Museum, the Society of Friends of the Cernuschi Museum made a point of donating an exceptional gilt bronze bear, perhaps a screen stand. The animal has an expressiveness, almost caricatural, which gives it a special presence.

In Chinese, the word "bear", xiong, is, with a change of tone, the namesake of the term "bravery" or "strength". This point, reinforced by the morphology of the animal, meant that at the time of the Han, particular powers were attributed to bears. Chiyou, god of war, has a bear's head. In the imperial parks, from the first emperor (221-210 BC), living bears animated these “supreme forests” (Shanglin), conceived as microcosms. The bear is also associated with immortality. Its sudden appearance in iconography would correspond to the reign of Emperor Wudi (r. 140-87 BC) and could be linked to this sovereign's interest in the quest for immortality. The bear theme is therefore frequently found in iconography at the time of the Han dynasty, even in the productions found in the Lelang commandery, today in North Korea. Bronze supports and weights are in the shape of a bear. The bear participates in the fauna which frolic on the representations of the islands of the immortals (vases of type lei or perfume burner) and on the reliefs of the tombs, for example in the famous necropolis of the Wu family in Shandong.

It is worth mentioning all those who contributed to this purchase. In the first place, the Antoni Laurent Foundation, Close Brothers, Cabinet Derains, Gharavi and Lazareff, Comgest SA, Marceau Finance, Montpensier Finance, Sofinnova Partners and Paul Lippens.
In addition, many members of the association made a point of contributing: Mr. Pierre Jourdan-Barry, Mr. Olivier Gérard, Mr. Robert Lavayssière, Fimex SA, Ms. Régine Brawerman, Ms. Marie-Agnès Dufour, Ms. Brigitte Gagneraud , Mr. Michel Jacob, Ms. Lotus Mahé, Ms. Liliane Legault, Ms. Annick Hamet, Mr. Gilles Béguin, Ms. Jacqueline Berthelot-Blanchet, Ms. Micheline Fried, Ms. Hélène Lassalle, Ms. Isabelle Kahn-Sriber, Mr. Jean-Martin Noailles, Ms. Marie-Noëlle Delorme, Ms. Eliane Lepke, Ms. Sophie Aurand, Ms. Catherine Hollocou, Ms. Christiane Lagumina, Mr. François Maunoury, Mr. Clément Soubrier, Mr. and Ms. Vo Quang Yen, Ms. Chantal Gerez, Ms. Chantal Le Vert, Ms. Jean Pasquet, Miss Christiane Pinatel, Mr. and Mrs. Alain Hetier. May all receive the recognition of Conservation.

0

Enter a text and press Enter to search

2011 : Ours en bronze doré. Chine. Epoque des Han

Don exceptionnel de la Société des Amis du Musée Cernuschi

Le musée Cernuschi présente un panorama très complet de l’archéologie et de l’art chinois du néolithique jusqu’à la dynastie des Song (960-1279). Néanmoins, certaines lacunes demeurent. Ainsi le musée ne possédait aucun bronze spectaculaire de l’époque des Han (206 av. – 220 ap. J.-C.). A l’occasion du prochain départ à la retraite de Gilles Béguin, Conservateur Général, la Société des Amis du Musée Cernuschi a tenu à faire don d’un exceptionnel ours en bronze doré, peut-être un pied d’écran. L’animal possède une expressivité, presque caricaturale qui lui confère une présence particulière.

En chinois, le mot « ours », xiong, est, avec un changement de ton, l’homonyme du terme « bravoure » ou « force ». Ce point, conforté par la morphologie de l’animal, fit qu’à l’époque des Han, on attribuait des pouvoirs particuliers aux ours. Ainsi Chiyou, dieu de la guerre, possède une tête d’ours. Dans les parcs impériaux, dès le premier empereur (221-210 av. J.-C.), des ours vivants animaient ces « forêts suprêmes » (shanglin), conçues comme des microcosmes. L’ours est également associé à l’immortalité. Sa soudaine apparition dans l’iconographie correspondrait au règne de l’empereur Wudi (r. 140-87 av. J.-C.) et pourrait être mis en relation avec l’intérêt de ce souverain pour la quête de l’immortalité. Le thème de l’ours se rencontre donc fréquemment dans l’iconographie à l’époque de la dynastie des Han. Des supports de bronze et des poids sont en forme d’ours. L’ours participe de la faune qui s’ébat sur les représentations des îles des immortels (vases de type lei ou brûle-parfums) et sur les reliefs des tombes, par exemple dans la célèbre nécropole de la famille Wu au Shandong.

Il convient de citer tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet achat. En premier lieu la Fondation Antoni Laurent, Close Brothers, Cabinet Derains, Gharavi et Lazareff, Comgest SA, Marceau Finance, Montpensier Finance, Sofinnova Partners et M. Paul Lippens.
De plus, de nombreux membres de l’association ont tenu à apporter leur contribution : M. Pierre Jourdan-Barry, M. Olivier Gérard, M. Robert Lavayssière, Fimex SA, Mme Régine Brawerman, Mme Marie-Agnès Dufour, Mme Brigitte Gagneraud, M. Michel Jacob, Mme Lotus Mahé, Mme Liliane Legault, Mme Annick Hamet, M. Gilles Béguin, Mme Jacqueline Berthelot-Blanchet, Mme Micheline Fried, Mme Hélène Lassalle, Mme Isabelle Kahn-Sriber, M. Jean-Martin Noailles, Mme Marie-Noëlle Delorme, Mme Eliane Lepke, Mme Sophie Aurand, Mme Catherine Hollocou, Mme Christiane Lagumina, M. François Maunoury, M. Clément Soubrier, M. et Mme Vo Quang Yen, Mme Chantal Gerez, Mme Chantal Le Vert, Mme Jean Pasquet, Mlle Christiane Pinatel, M. et Mme Alain Hetier. Que tous reçoivent la reconnaissance de la Conservation.

0

Saisir un texte et appuyer sur Entrée pour rechercher